Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Income Replacement Benefit

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) summary

Government Institution

Veteran Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

Mary Nicholson
Director, Re-establishment, Financial Well-being and Business Intelligence Directorate

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Crystal Garret-Baird
Director, Privacy and Information Management

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

Income Replacement Benefit

Description of Program or Activity

The program provides economic support to eligible Canadian Armed Forces Veterans, members’ or Veterans’ surviving spouse/common-law partner, or orphans for the economic impact that a career ending and/or service-related injury or death can have on a Veteran’s ability to earn income, advance in a career or save for retirement. Support is provided to Veterans who have health problems, resulting from service that are causing a barrier to re-establishment and who are participating in the Rehabilitation Program; and those who were eligible for the program, but are unable to participate due to a diminished earnings capacity; Compensation is provided in the form of monthly income support payments. A lump sum benefit may be paid to the surviving spouse/common-law partner or orphans for non-service related death before the Veteran’s age of 65, if the Veteran was entitled to the Income Replacement Benefit at the time of his/her death. This lump sum payment equates to 24 times the amount of the Income Replacement Benefit amount that the Veteran would have been entitled to, for the month in which s/he died, before offsets.

Description of the class of record and the Personal Information Bank

Classes of Records (CORs) and Personal Information Banks (PIBs) can be reviewed at VAC's Information about Programs and Information Holdings.

Financial Benefits – Class of Record

Income Replacement Benefit – Personal Information Bank

Legal Authority for Program or Activity

Personal information is collected pursuant to Part 2, sections 18-26 and section 78.1 of the Veterans Well-being Act (VWA) [formerly known as the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act (CFMVRCA)], as well as the associated Regulations. Sections 80 and 81 of the VWA provides information sharing authority upon which government institutions and agencies can rely. Social Insurance Numbers are collected pursuant to Section 82 of the VWA.

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the PIA for the new or modified program. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

  1. Type of Program or Activity
    • Administration of Programs / Activity and Services

      Level of risk to privacy – 2

  2. Type of Personal Information Involved and Context
    • Social Insurance Number, medical, financial or other sensitive personal information and/or the context surrounding the personal information is sensitive. Personal information of minors or incompetent individuals or involving a representative acting on behalf of the individual.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  3. Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement
    • Within the institution (amongst one or more programs within the same institution)
    • With other federal institutions

      Level of risk to privacy – 1 and 2

  4. Duration of the Program or Activity
    • Long-term program.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  5. Program Population
    • The program affects certain individuals for external administrative purposes.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  6. Technology & Privacy
    1. Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

      Risk to privacy - No

    2. Does the new or modified program or activity require any modifications to IT legacy systems and / or services?

      Risk to privacy - Yes

    3. Enhanced identification methods - This includes biometric technology (i.e. facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc.) as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, “smart cards” (i.e. identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

      Risk to privacy – No

    4. Use of Surveillance - This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance / interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance etc.

      Risk to privacy – No

    5. Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques - For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institution are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

      Risk to privacy – Yes

  7. Personal Information Transmission
    • The personal information is used in a system that has connections to at least one other system.
    • The personal information is transferred to a portable device or is printed.
    • The personal information is transmitted using wireless technologies.

      Level of risk to privacy – 2, 3, 4

  8. Risk Impact to the Institution
    • Managerial harm
    • Organizational harm
    • Financial harm
    • Reputational harm, embarrassment, loss of credibility.

      Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2, 3 and 4

  9. Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee
    • Inconvenience
    • Reputational harm, embarrassment
    • Financial harm

      Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2 and 3

Date modified:

Prestation de remplacement du revenu

Sommaire de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP)

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC)

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’EFVP

Mary Nicholson
Directrice, Direction de la réadaptation, du bien-être financier et des renseignements opérationnels

Chef de l’institution fédérale ou délégué pour l’article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Crystal Garret-Baird
Directrice, Protection des renseignements personnels et gestion de l’information

Nom du programme ou de l’activité de l’institution fédérale

Prestation de remplacement du revenu

Description du programme ou de l’activité

Le programme apporte un soutien économique aux vétérans admissibles des Forces armées canadiennes, aux conjoints ou conjoints de fait survivants et aux orphelins pour contrer les répercussions économiques d’une fin de carrière, ou d’une blessure ou d’un décès lié au service sur la capacité d’un vétéran à gagner un revenu, à progresser dans sa carrière ou à épargner pour sa retraite. Un soutien est offert aux vétérans qui participent au programme de réadaptation et qui ont des problèmes de santé due au service qui posent un obstacle au rétablissement; ceux qui sont admissibles au programme, mais qui ne peuvent pas y participer en raison d’une diminution de la capacité de gain peuvent recevoir une indemnisation sous forme de prestations mensuelles de soutien du revenu. Un montant forfaitaire peut être versé aux conjoints ou conjoints de fait survivants ou aux orphelins pour le décès non lié au service du vétéran avant ses 65 ans si ce dernier avait droit à la prestation de remplacement du revenu au moment de son décès. Ce montant équivaut à 24 fois le montant de la prestation de remplacement du revenu que le vétéran aurait eu droit, pendant le mois de son décès, avant les déductions.

Description des catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels

Les catégories de documents et les fichiers de renseignements personnels peuvent être examinés à la page Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements d’ACC.

Avantages financiers – catégorie de documents

Prestation de remplacement du revenu – fichier de renseignements personnels

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité

Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis en vertu des articles 18 à 26 et 78.1 de la partie 2 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans (LBV) [anciennement la Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes (LMRIMVFC)] et son règlement connexe. Les articles 80 et 81 de la LBV donnent le droit d’accéder aux renseignements personnels détenus par une institution ou un organisme du gouvernement. Les numéros d’assurance sociale sont recueillis en vertu de l’article 82 de la LBV.

Détermination et catégorisation des facteurs de risque

La section qui suit porte sur les risques soulevés par l’EFVP relativement à un nouveau programme ou à un programme modifié. Une échelle de risques est incluse. L’échelle de risques consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants : le nombre 1 correspond au plus bas niveau de risques possible pour ce facteur, tandis que le nombre 4 correspond au plus haut niveau de risques possible pour ce facteur. Veuillez consulter l’annexe C de la Directive sur l’EFVP du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor pour en savoir davantage sur l’échelle de risques.

  1. Type de programme ou d’activité
    • Administration des programmes, des activités et des services

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2

  2. Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte
    • Numéro d’assurance sociale, renseignements médicaux ou financiers ou autres renseignements personnels délicats ou éléments contextuels de nature délicate entourant les renseignements personnels. Renseignements personnels sur des mineurs ou des personnes inaptes ou encore concernant une personne ayant qualité pour agir au nom de l’intéressé.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  3. Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l’activité
    • Au sein de l’institution (parmi un ou plusieurs programmes de la même institution)
    • Avec d’autres institutions fédérales

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1 et 2

  4. Durée du programme ou de l’activité
    • Programme à long terme

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  5. Population visée par le programme
    • Le programme touche certains individus à des fins administratives externes.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  6. Technologie et vie privée
    1. L’activité ou le programme, nouveau ou modifié, comprend-il la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d’application, dont un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe), dont l’objectif est de créer, de recueillir ou de traiter des renseignements personnels dans le but de faciliter l’exécution du programme ou de l’activité?

      Risque pour la vie privée – non

    2. L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) exige-t-il une modification de systèmes ou services existants de TI?

      Risque pour la vie privée – oui

    3. Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique (comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, la lecture ou le balayage de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, la signature ou empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence [IRF], etc.) ainsi que la technologie des laissez-passer facilités (Easy pass), les nouvelles cartes d’identité comportant des bandes magnétiques, comme les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. des cartes d’identité sur lesquelles est gravée soit une antenne soit une plage de contact connectée à un microprocesseur et une puce mémoire ou uniquement à une puce mémoire avec matrice logique non programmable).

      Risque pour la vie privée – non

    4. Recours à la surveillance – Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance telles que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissances, l’IRF, la surveillance/interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

      Risque pour la vie privée – non

    5. Recours à des techniques d’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, de comparaison des renseignements personnels et de découverte de connaissances – Aux fins de la Directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent relever les activités qui comportent l’utilisation de la technologie automatisée afin d’analyser, créer, comparer, recueillir, identifier ou extraire des éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités pourraient comprendre la mise en concordance des renseignements personnels, le couplage des dossiers, l’exploration des renseignements personnels, la comparaison des renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances, le filtrage ou l’analyse des données. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage machine pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

      Risque pour la vie privée – oui

  7. Transmission des renseignements personnels
    • Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés dans un système qui est connecté à au moins un autre système.
    • Les renseignements personnels sont transférés à un appareil portable ou sont imprimés.
    • Les renseignements personnels sont transmis à l’aide de technologies sans fil.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2, 3 et 4

  8. Incidence des risques pour l’institution
    • Répercussions négatives au niveau de la direction/gestion,
    • préjudice financier,
    • tort à la réputation,
    • embarras,
    • préjudice financier.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2, 3 et 4

  9. Incidence des risques pour l’individu ou l’employé
    • Inconvénient,
    • tort à la réputation,
    • embarras,
    • préjudice financier.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2 et 3

Date de modification :