Cannabis for Medical Purposes

The health and well-being of Veterans are top priorities for the Government of Canada. This is why Veterans Affairs Canada developed a cannabis for medical purposes reimbursement policy, taking into account input that the Department received from Veterans, their advocates, stakeholders, medical experts, as well as existing research on using cannabis for medical purposes.

What's on this page

  1. Overview
  2. Timeline
  3. Statistics
  4. Additional Information

Overview

Announced on November 22, 2016, Veterans Affairs Canada's reimbursement policy for cannabis for medical purposes established a maximum three gram per day limit.

In response to feedback from Veterans and an internal review conducted earlier in 2016, the Department now also reimburses Veterans for up to three grams per day of dried cannabis, or its equivalent in fresh marijuana or cannabis oil.

Consistent with how the Department administers its other health care benefits, VAC established a fixed rate of up to $8.50 per gram, whether taken in dried marijuana, or its equivalent in fresh marijuana or cannabis oil. The fixed rate ensures that what Veterans are charged, and the Department reimburses, is a fair market value price.

The decision to reimburse up to three grams per day was based on information from consultations and research. The Department brought together a panel of Canadian medical experts who recommended a cautious approach to the use of cannabis for medical purposes, with most indicating one to two grams per day as a reasonable amount for the vast majority of cases. VAC also reviewed current scientific evidence and consulted with Veterans, stakeholders and licensed producers. This decision is also consistent with Health Canada, which indicates that the average Canadian is authorized 2.7 grams per day.

Expanding the products for reimbursement gives Veterans more options and aligns with Health Canada's 2014 regulations Marihuana for Medical Purposes Regulations (MMPRs), which removed limitations related to the authorization for specific conditions and the requirement for authorization by a specialist, amongst other changes; however, still required a medical authorization. With the advent of these new regulations Veterans Affairs Canada subsequently experienced a significant increase in cannabis for medical purposes reimbursements.

Currently, cannabis is authorized for a variety of medical conditions, however scientific evidence substantiating the efficacy and safety of cannabis is lacking.

Cannabis for medical purposes is an evolving area of treatment. The Department will continue to review and analyze information to ensure decisions are based on the best available evidence, and will adjust the policy, as needed, to ensure the well-being of our Veterans and their families.

On October 17, Veterans Affairs Canada released a revised Reimbursement Policy for Cannabis for Medical Purposes to account for the new Cannabis Act and Cannabis Regulations. Veterans will experience no change in the current reimbursement process for cannabis for medical purposes. In Budget 2018, the Government announced an investment of $10 million over five years for the Mental Health Commission of Canada to help assess the impact of cannabis use on the mental health of Canadians, and a further $10 million over five years to the Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction to support research on cannabis use in Canada. These initiatives will help inform future policy development.

Timeline

2007
Veterans Affairs Canada made the decision to reimburse one Veteran for cannabis for medical purposes on compassionate grounds. Since that time, Veterans Affairs Canada has been reimbursing the cost of cannabis for medical purposes for Veterans in increasing numbers and at an increased cost.
2008-2014
The Department provided reimbursement for the cost of cannabis for medical purposes to Veterans based on Section 4 of the Veterans Health Care Regulations and in accordance with Health Canada's Marihuana Medical Access Regulations. The Marihuana Medical Access Regulations provided limited access to marijuana for a number of conditions and circumstances as defined by Health Canada when authorized by a specialist only.
April 2014
Health Canada introduced the Marihuana for Medical Purposes Regulations, which removed limitations related to the authorization for specific conditions and the requirement for authorization by a specialist, among other changes; however, still required a medical authorization. With the advent of these new regulations Veterans Affairs Canada subsequently experienced a significant increase in cannabis for medical purposes reimbursements.
August 2016
Health Canada's Access to Cannabis for Medical Purposes Regulations were introduced, which set out provisions for individuals to produce a limited amount of cannabis for their own medical purposes, or to designate someone to produce it for them.
October 2018
The new Cannabis Act and Cannabis Regulations come into effect, providing legal access to cannabis for Canadians. The Act and Regulations will also control and regulate the production, distribution and sale of cannabis.

For additional information, please see Frequently Asked Questions

Statistics

Please note that data is current as of March 31, 2019 and will be updated quarterly.

CMP Expenditures, Clients and Grams Reimbursed Footnote 1, Footnote 2, Footnote 3
Fiscal Year Clients Reimbursed Amount Grams Reimbursed
2011-2012 37 $103,424 16,852
2012-2013 68 $284,632 53,741
2013-2014 112 $408,809 77,012
2014-2015 628 $5,160,747 494,927
2015-2016 1,762 $20,538,153 1,745,644
2016-2017 4,474 $63,703,151 5,726,179
2017-2018 7,298 $50,967,423 6,068,671
2018-2019 10,466 $74,816,978 8,883,191
CMP Expenditures Broken Down by Province Footnote 1, Footnote 2, Footnote 4
ProvinceFootnote 3 FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18 FY 2018-19
AB $184,681 $466,191 $2,467,271 $3,332,784 $5,304,450
BC $417,865 $1,313,841 $3,568,322 $3,308,396 $4,441,305
MB $184,730 $341,241 $1,655,835 $1,846,935 $2,804,234
NB $2,229,291 $7,929,211 $16,003,325 $9,587,290 $13,898,618
NL $251,529 $943,100 $3,934,480 $2,741,542 $4,070,133
NS $858,085 $3,945,862 $10,050,454 $8,302,046 $12,954,832
NT $0 $2,469 $12,930 $18,678 $11,173
NU $0 $0 $0 $0 $3,060
ON $778,487 $4,540,398 $20,893,990 $16,876,187 $23,669,084
PE $24,936 $141,470 $706,217 $777,424 $1,343,472
QC $147,605 $669,556 $3,842,614 $3,694,656 $5,503,055
SK $83,539 $244,290 $535,263 $458,025 $782,284
XXFootnote 5 $0 $0 $18,952 $10,965 $15,428
YT $0 $525 $12,990 $12,495 $0
UnknownFootnote 6 $0 $0 $510 $0 $15,851
Total $5,160,747 $20,538,153 $63,703,151 $50,967,423 $74,816,978
CMP Recipients Broken Down by Province Footnote 1, Footnote 2, Footnote 4
ProvinceFootnote 3 FY 2014-15 FY 2015-16 FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18 FY 2018-19
AB 35 77 327 710 1,093
BC 50 143 321 531 770
MB 9 31 133 217 305
NB 210 393 794 1,100 1,489
NL 28 89 208 314 441
NS 103 354 759 1,295 1,939
NT 0 1 2 4 5
NU 0 0 0 0 1
ON 163 609 1,587 2,520 3,565
PE 3 13 61 127 171
QC 18 64 291 523 747
SK 14 26 60 89 129
XXFootnote 5 0 0 1 3 0
YT 0 1 1 2 2
UnknownFootnote 6 0 0 1 0 4
Total 628 1,762 4,474 7,298 10,466

Additional Information

Frequently Asked Questions

Information for Health Professionals

Policy

Review

Veterans Affairs Canada Statistics – Facts and Figures

Health Canada – Cannabis in Canada

Date modified:

Cannabis à des fins médicales

La santé et le bien être des vétérans sont de grandes priorités pour le gouvernement du Canada. C'est pourquoi Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) a établi une politique de remboursement pour le cannabis à des fins médicales, qui tient compte, d'une part, des observations que le Ministère a reçues des vétérans, de leurs porte-paroles, des intervenants et des spécialistes médicaux et, d'autre part, de la recherche sur l'usage du cannabis à des fins médicales.

Contenu de la page :

  1. Aperçu
  2. Chronologie
  3. Statistiques
  4. Renseignements supplémentaires

Aperçu

Annoncée le 22 novembre 2016, la politique d'Anciens Combattants Canada sur le remboursement du cannabis à des fins médicales a fixé la limite maximale à trois grammes de cannabis par jour.

En réponse aux commentaires des vétérans et des suites de l'examen interne réalisé plus tôt en 2016, le Ministère rembourse dorénavant aux vétérans trois grammes de marihuana séchée par jour, ou son équivalent en huile de cannabis ou en marihuana fraîche.

De plus, conformément à la façon dont le Ministère administre ses autres avantages médicaux, ACC a établi un taux fixe pouvant aller jusqu'à 8,50 dollars par gramme, qu'il s'agisse de marihuana séchée ou l'équivalent en marihuana fraîche ou en huile de cannabis. Le taux fixe permet de s'assurer que les coûts facturés aux vétérans et les remboursements du Ministère concordent avec la juste valeur marchande.

La décision de rembourser jusqu'à trois grammes par jour repose sur l'information issue de consultations et de recherches. Le Ministère a mis sur pied un groupe de spécialistes médicaux canadiens, qui ont recommandé une démarche très prudente quant à l'usage du cannabis à des fins médicales, la plupart indiquant que de un à deux grammes par jour constituaient une quantité raisonnable dans la grande majorité des cas. ACC a aussi examiné les données scientifiques actuelles et consulté les vétérans, les intervenants et les producteurs autorisés. La décision cadre également avec l'information diffusée par Santé Canada, selon laquelle le Canadien moyen aurait droit à 2,7 grammes par jour.

L'augmentation du nombre de produits admissibles au remboursement procure davantage d'options pour les vétérans et concorde avec le Règlement sur la marihuana à des fins médicales (RMFM), adopté par Santé Canada en 2014, qui a aboli les limites relatives à l'autorisation pour des affections particulières et la nécessité d'obtenir l'autorisation d'un spécialiste, tout en maintenant l'exigence d'une autorisation médicale. À la suite de l'adoption du nouveau règlement, ACC a connu une augmentation importante des remboursements du cannabis à des fins médicales.

À l'heure actuelle, le cannabis est autorisé pour diverses affections médicales, mais aucune donnée scientifique ne vient corroborer son efficacité et son innocuité.

Le cannabis à des fins médicales constitue un domaine de traitement en évolution. Le Ministère continuera d'étudier et d'analyser l'information diffusée afin que ses décisions soient fondées sur les meilleures données scientifiques accessibles, et il adaptera la politique, au besoin, pour veiller au bien-être de nos vétérans et de leur famille

Le 17 octobre, Anciens Combattants Canada a diffusé une politique révisée de remboursement pour le cannabis à des fins médicales qui tient compte de la nouvelle Loi sur le cannabis et le Règlement sur le cannabis. Les vétérans ne verront aucun changement dans le processus de réclamation des remboursements pour le cannabis à des fins médicales. Dans le budget de 2018, le gouvernement a annoncé un investissement de 10 millions de dollars sur cinq ans versé à la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada afin de l'aider à évaluer l'effet de la consommation de cannabis sur la santé mentale des Canadiens, et 10 autres millions sur cinq ans versés au Centre canadien sur les dépendances et l'usage de substances afin de soutenir la recherche sur la consommation de cannabis au Canada. Ces initiatives contribueront à orienter les futures politiques.

Chronologie

2007
Anciens Combattants Canada a décidé de rembourser le cannabis à des fins médicales à un vétéran pour des raisons d'ordre humanitaire. Depuis, ACC rembourse le coût du cannabis à des fins médicales à de plus en plus de vétérans, ce qui entraîne des coûts accrus.
De 2008 à 2014
Le Ministère a assuré le remboursement du coût du cannabis à des fins médicales aux vétérans en vertu de l'article 4 du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants (RSSAC) et conformément au Règlement sur l'accès à la marihuana à des fins médicales (RAMFM) de Santé Canada. Le RAMFM accordait un accès limité à la marihuana pour un certain nombre d'affections et de circonstances définies par Santé Canada et uniquement sur autorisation d'un spécialiste.
Avril 2014
Santé Canada a adopté le Règlement sur la marihuana à des fins médicales (RMFM), qui a aboli les limites relatives à l'autorisation pour des affections particulières et la nécessité d'obtenir l'autorisation d'un spécialiste, tout en maintenant l'exigence d'une autorisation médicale. À la suite de l'adoption du nouveau règlement, ACC a connu une augmentation importante des remboursements du cannabis à des fins médicales.
Août 2016
Loi sur le cannabis et le Règlement sur le cannabis entrent en vigueur et confèrent à la population canadienne un accès légal au cannabis. La Loi et le Règlement contrôleront et réglementeront la production, la distribution et la vente du cannabis.
The new Cannabis Act and Cannabis Regulations come into effect, providing legal access to cannabis for Canadians. The Act and Regulations will also control and regulate the production, distribution and sale of cannabis.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, consulter la foire aux questions.

Statistiques

Il est à noter que les données sont à jour au 31 mars 2019 et qu'elles seront actualisées chaque trimestre.

Cannabis à des fins médicales : dépenses, clients et nombre de grammes remboursés Footnote 1, Footnote 2, Footnote 3
Année financière Clients Montant remboursé Nombre de grammes remboursés
2011-2012 37 103 424 $ 16 852
2012-2013 68 284 632 $ 53 741
2013-2014 112 408 809 $ 77 012
2014-2015 628 5 160 747 $7 494 927
2015-2016 1 762 20 538 153 $ 1 745 644
2016-2017 4 474 63 703 151 $ 5 726 179
2017-2018 7 298 50 967 423 $ 6 068 671
2018-2019 10 466 74 816 978 $ 8 883 191
Cannabis à des fins médicales : dépenses ventilées par province Footnote 1, Footnote 2, Footnote 4
ProvinceFootnote 3 AF 2014-15 AF 2015-16 AF 2016-17 AF 2017-18 AF 2018-19
Alberta 184 681 $ 466 191 $ 2 467 271 $ 3 332 784 $ 5 304 450 $
Colombie-Britannique 417 865 $ 1 313 841 $ 3 568 322 $ 3 308 396 $ 4 441 305 $
Manitoba 184 730 $ 341 241 $ 1 655 835 $ 1 846 935 $ 2 804 234 $
Nouveau-Brunswick 2 229 291 $ 7 929 211 $ 16 003 325 $ 9 587 290 $ 13 898 618 $
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 251 529 $ 943 100 $ 3 934 480 $ 2 741 542 $ 4 070 133 $
Nouvelle-Écosse 858 085 $ 3 945 862 $ 10 050 454 $ 8 302 046 $ 12 954 832 $
Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest 0 $ 2 469 $ 12 930 $ 18 678 $ 11 173 $
Nunavut 0 $ 0 $ 0 $ 0 $ 3 060 $
Ontario 778 487 $ 4 540 398 $ 20 893 990 $ 16 876 187 $ 23 669 084 $
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 24 936 $ 141 470 $ 706 217 $ 777 424 $ 1 343 472 $
Québec 147 605 $ 669 556 $ 3 842 614 $ 3 694 656 $ 5 503 055 $
Saskatchewan 83 539 $ 244 290 $ 535 263 $ 458 025 $ 782 284 $
XXFootnote 5 0 $ 0 $ 18 952 $ 10 965 $ 15 428 $
Yukon 0 $ 525 $ 12 990 $ 12 495 $ 0 $
IndéterminéFootnote 6 0 $ 0 $ 510 $ 0 $ 15 851 $
Total 5 160 747 $ 20 538 153 $ 63 703 151 $ 50 967 423 $ 74 816 978 $
Cannabis à des fins médicales : bénéficiaires répartis par province Footnote 1, Footnote 2, Footnote 4
ProvinceFootnote 3 AF 2014-15 AF 2015-16 AF 2016-17 AF 2017-18 AF 2018-19
Alberta 35 77 327 710 1 093
Colombie-Britannique 50 143 321 531 770
Manitoba 9 31 133 217 305
Nouveau-Brunswick 210 393 794 1 100 1 489
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 28 89 208 314 441
Nouvelle-Écosse 103 354 759 1 295 1 939
Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest 0 1 2 4 5
Nunavut 0 0 0 0 1
Ontario 163 609 1 587 2 520 3 565
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 3 13 61 127 171
Québec 18 64 291 523 747
Saskatchewan 14 26 60 89 129
XXFootnote 5 0 0 1 3 0
Yukon 0 1 1 2 2
IndéterminéFootnote 6 0 0 1 0 4
Total 628 1 762 4 474 7 298 10 466

Renseignements supplémentaires

Foire aux questions

Renseignements destinés aux professionnels de la santé

Politique

Examen

Statistiques d'Anciens Combattants Canada – Faits et chiffres

Santé Canada – Le cannabis au Canada

Date de modification :