Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Share this article on:

Talk about a 180.

Bill Uruski went from being an RCMP officer stationed in a busy Windsor, Ontario detachment to settling on a noisy gobble of a turkey farm in his home province of Manitoba.

Uruski’s career in the RCMP began in April 1962 when he left for training at the Depot Division in Regina, Saskatchewan. After nine months of rigorous training, the RCMP flew him to Windsor. And after just six weeks of uniformed general duties, he began working in plain clothes investigations.

He and another senior member, one of his mentors, worked on catching smugglers bringing cheap American goods across the border from Detroit, Michigan and not declaring them with Canadian customs. They also caught drug and car smugglers.

The transition to turkey farming, in 1967, was prompted by his mother and father in law’s offer for Uruski and his wife Elaine to become partners in their turkey farm near Arborg, 120 kilmetres north of Winnipeg.

After just three years of service, Uruski had been interviewed to become part of the RCMP’s Security and Intelligence Service. He says he knew that meant a transfer before he reached his fifth year of service. He was not keen on the prospect of perhaps moving to Toronto or Ottawa, especially since their daughter, Teresa was a busy toddler.

It was then that Bill and Elaine decided to take her parents up on their offer.

“Having decided to come back to the farm and become a turkey farmer meant that we would have to move our own belongings so we bought a corn truck from a farmer near Leamington, packed up whatever would fit in the truck and moved back to Manitoba,” he said.
“It was a big transition and quite a change. The camaraderie and contact with my co-workers, I did miss.”

“I felt a little lonely, but the farm kept us busy as we were also building a new home. Before I knew it, a year had gone by and the transition was complete.”

Life became even more busy with the arrival of two more children, a son, Barclay in 1968 and a second daughter, Angela, in 1972.

Uruski also pivoted again ,this time he ran for public office. He was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba in 1969 and served as an MLA until 1990. During that time, he was a New Democratic cabinet minister for many portfolios including Auto Insurance, Municipal Affairs and Agriculture in the governments under Edward Schreyer and Howard Pawley.

“I would be in the legislature all week then home on the weekends cleaning turkey nests or helping with whatever needed to be done,” he said with a laugh.

“The kids were a great help around the farm. We were taking turns picking turkey eggs for the hatchery six times each day. Elaine would pack up the kids and their toys and bring them the quarter mile up the road to the barn. No daycare on the farm then.”
Soon their farm grew to produce 25,000 turkeys a year.

After his retirement from public life, Uruski served as a director and chair of the Manitoba Turkey Producers as well as a director with Turkey Farmers of Canada. In 2003, he represented the Poultry Welfare Coalition in a presentation to the Senate of Canada.

Now on the farm they are busy all year. Birds are raised to not only meet the market needs at Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter but also further processed and fresh cut year round.

Sadly, last February, Uruski’s 400-foot turkey barn burnt to the ground when an electric “brooder” (a heated space to keep the young turkeys warm, dry and contained) short-circuited.

As they work to rebuild their farm, other producers have stepped forward to raise their quota of birds.

“We will be ready for full production this summer. By the end of July we will put some little birds in the new barn,” Uruski said optimistically.

He says policing and farming are similar in that you have to go with the flow as things change.

“What I learned is that in looking after your farm and flock, situations arise that set you back – weather, markets, losses of birds – but you persevere and don’t quit when you encounter a setback,” he said.

“As in investigations, you encounter misleading or missing information but you double down and keep digging to get at the facts. (It’s about) staying focused, being determined in dealing with changing situations.”

So this year, as you tuck into your Christmas dinner, you can thank a turkey farmer like Const. (Ret’d) Bill Uruski.

Are you looking for information about transition from service and thinking of a new career?

VAC can help.

Date published: 2023-12-21


Articles for Veterans and families

Remembrance within reach: five war memorials to visit in Canada

Remembrance within reach: five war memorials to visit in Canada

Over the years, many communities across Canada have built their own memorials to honour and remember the service and sacrifice of Canadians at war.

Preserving Canadian military gravesites

Preserving Canadian military gravesites

A retired Technician with the Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Corps in the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF), Nick Hébert now works with Commemoration Division’s Cemetery Maintenance team at Veterans Affairs Canada.

Finding Grace

Finding Grace

Private Ret’d Grace Shears says she pulled herself out of addiction, abuse, and homelessness after she left the military. Thirty years later she is working hard to help many Veterans and first responders do the same.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Partager cet article sur:

C’est ce qu’on pourrait qualifier de changement de carrière surprenant.

Bill Uruski est passé d’agent de la GRC travaillant dans un quartier très occupé de Windsor, en Ontario, à éleveur de dindes dans sa province natale du Manitoba.

La carrière de Bill Uruski au sein de la GRC a commencé en avril 1962 lorsqu’il est parti suivre une formation à la Division Dépôt à Regina, en Saskatchewan. Après neuf mois de formation rigoureuse, la GRC l’a envoyé à Windsor. Et après seulement six semaines de service général en uniforme, il a commencé à travailler à des enquêtes en vêtements civils.

Lui et un autre agent plus expérimenté, l’un de ses mentors, travaillaient à attraper les contrebandiers faisant passer des marchandises américaines bon marché de l’autre côté de la frontière depuis Détroit, au Michigan, sans les déclarer aux douanes canadiennes. Ils arrêtaient également des trafiquants de drogue et de voitures.

La transition vers l’élevage de dindes, en 1967, découle d’une offre des parents de son épouse Elaine, qui leur ont proposé de s’associer à eux dans leur élevage de dindes près d’Arborg, à 120 kilomètres au nord de Winnipeg.

Après seulement trois ans de service, Bill Uruski avait passé une entrevue pour faire partie du Service de sécurité et de renseignement de la GRC. Il dit qu’il savait que cela l’obligerait à déménager avant d’atteindre sa cinquième année de service. Il n’était pas enthousiaste à l’idée de déménager à Toronto ou à Ottawa, d’autant plus que leur fille, Teresa, était une petite fille très occupée.

C’est alors que Bill et Elaine ont décidé d’accepter l’offre de ses parents.

« Ayant décidé de revenir à la ferme et de devenir éleveurs de dindes, nous devions déménager nos affaires, nous avons donc acheté un camion de maïs à un agriculteur près de Leamington, emballé tout ce qui pouvait tenir dans le camion et sommes retournés au Manitoba », dit-il.

« Ce fut une grande transition et tout un changement. La camaraderie et le contact avec mes collègues m’ont manqué. »

« Je me sentais un peu seul, mais la ferme nous occupait, et en plus nous construisions une nouvelle maison. Avant que je m’en rende compte, une année s’était écoulée et la transition était terminée. »

La vie est devenue encore plus occupée avec l’arrivée de deux autres enfants, un fils appelé Barclay, en 1968 et une deuxième fille, Angela, en 1972.

Mais Bill Uruski n’en était pas à son dernier changement de carrière. Cette fois, il s’est porté candidat à une charge publique. Il a été élu à l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba en 1969 et a été député jusqu’en 1990. Pendant cette période, il a été ministre néo-démocrate pour de nombreux portefeuilles, notamment celui de l’assurance automobile, des affaires municipales et de l’agriculture, dans les gouvernements dirigés par Edward Schreyer et Howard Pawley.

« Je passais la semaine à l’Assemblée législative, puis je retournais à la maison le week-end pour nettoyer les nids de dindes ou aider avec tout ce qui devait être fait », dit-il en riant.

« Les enfants ont été d’une grande aide à la ferme. Nous ramassions à tour de rôle des œufs de dinde pour le couvoir six fois par jour. Elaine préparait les enfants et leurs jouets et les emmenait sur la route menant à la grange. Il n’y avait pas de garderie à la ferme. »

Rapidement, leur ferme a pris de l’expansion jusqu’à produire 25 000 dindes par an.

Après sa retraite de la vie publique, Bill Uruski a été directeur et président des Producteurs de dinde du Manitoba ainsi que directeur des Éleveurs de dinde du Canada. En 2003, il a représenté la Poultry Welfare Coalition lors d’une présentation au Sénat du Canada.

De nos jours, à la ferme, le travail se fait à l’année longue. Les dindes sont élevées non seulement pour répondre aux besoins du marché à l’Action de Grâces, Noël et Pâques, mais également pour être transformées et consommées toute l’année.

Malheureusement, en février dernier, leur étable à dindes de 400 pieds a entièrement brûlé lorsqu’une « couveuse » électrique (un espace chauffé pour garder les jeunes dindes au chaud, au sec et confinées) a subi un court-circuit.

Alors qu’ils travaillent à reconstruire leur ferme, d’autres producteurs se sont mobilisés pour augmenter leur quota d’oiseaux.

« Nous serons prêts pour une production complète cet été. D’ici la fin juillet, nous installerons de jeunes oiseaux dans la nouvelle grange », affirme Bill Uruski avec optimisme.

Il dit que le maintien de l’ordre et la production agricole sont similaires dans le sens où il faut suivre le courant à mesure que les choses changent.

« Ce que j’ai appris, c’est qu’en prenant soin de votre ferme et de votre troupeau, des situations surviennent inévitablement qui vous font reculer – les conditions météorologiques, les marchés, la perte d’oiseaux – mais vous persévérez et n’abandonnez pas lorsque vous rencontrez un revers », dit-il.

« C’est pareil dans les enquêtes, parfois il y a des informations trompeuses ou manquantes, mais vous redoublez d’efforts et continuez à creuser pour obtenir les faits. (Il s’agit de) rester concentré, déterminé à faire face à des situations changeantes. »

Ainsi, cette année, en savourant votre dîner de Noël, ayez une pensée pour les éleveurs de dindes comme le gendarme (à la retraite) Bill Uruski.

Êtes-vous à la recherche d’informations sur la transition après le service et envisagez-vous une nouvelle carrière?

ACC peut vous aider.

Date de publication : 2021-02-01


Articles pour les vétérans et leur famille

Bombardier (à la retraite) Adam Jones

Bombardier (à la retraite) Adam Jones

« Mon service est le résultat de mon héritage familial, qui remonte à 1777. J'étais très motivé à servir mon pays ».

« It’s Not ’Cuz of Me »

« It’s Not ’Cuz of Me »

Livre pour aider à faire comprendre l’ESPT aux enfants

Nettoyer les tombes des vétérans sans endommager la pierre

Nettoyer les tombes des vétérans sans endommager la pierre

En tant qu’expert en maçonnerie et en restauration, Lee Labas, de Labas Construction, a eu la tâche de nettoyer, à Edmonton, les pierres tombales de 4 000 soldats tombés au combat et vétérans canadiens. Le travail délicat consistait à enlever des décennies d’algues et de mousses qui poussaient sur les surfaces de granit.

Date de modification :