Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Share this article on:

Jo Anne Truskoski and her husband Michael are no strangers to the challenges a military family can face. Michael is a 35-year Veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces. He released for medical reasons in 2012 and suffers from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and several other health challenges.

Connecting with the Veteran Family Program

While life after service hasn’t always been easy, since 2018, Jo Anne and Michael have received support through the Veteran Family Program, the local Military Family Resource Centre, and particularly, Louise – their Veteran Family Program Coordinator.

According to Jo Anne, “Our experience with the program has been nothing but positive. Louise is our Guardian Angel. She is an unbelievable listener, she knows exactly where to go to find the resource you need, she’s professional but still manages to make you feel like family. Throughout COVID, Louise has continued to check in to make sure we’re doing ok.”

Getting the support they need

Thanks to the Veteran Family Program and Louise’s support, Jo Anne and Michael participated in a Mental Health First Aid course as well as the COPE program, designed to help couples overcome the effects of PTSD.

Participating in that Mental Health First Aid course and the COPE program changed so much for us. We worked on the impact PTSD had on ourselves and our relationship, and we came through the other side of the program stronger.

For those who may be on the fence about contacting the Veteran Family Program, Jo Anne has the following advice: “Stop thinking about it and DO IT… you will be glad you did!”

If you’re considering the Veteran Family Program, click here for more information.


Articles for Veterans and families

Cleaning Veterans’ graves without damaging the stone

Cleaning Veterans’ graves without damaging the stone

As a masonry and restoration expert, Lee Labas of Labas Construction had the task of cleaning the headstones of 4,000 fallen Canadian soldiers and Veterans in Edmonton. The delicate job involved removing decades of algae and moss from the granite surfaces.

Love We Share Foundation – Preserving memories through music

Love We Share Foundation – Preserving memories through music

June 2020 marked the 70th anniversary of the beginning of the Korean War. In the lead up to this special anniversary, the Love We Share Foundation had plans to commemorate across Canada through music with support from the Commemorative Partnership Program.

Researchers study mental health effects of pandemic on Veterans and their spouses

Researchers study mental health effects of pandemic on Veterans and their spouses

Early reports signal support for telehealth services now and after the pandemic.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Nous sommes plus forts grâce au Programme pour les familles des vétérans

Le Programme pour les familles des vétérans a mis Jo Anne et Michael Truskoski en lien avec un réseau de soutien, alors qu’ils tentaient de relever les défis de la vie après le service.

Partager cet article sur:
Jo Anne Truskoski et son mari Michael

Jo Anne Truskoski et son mari Michael ne sont pas étrangers aux défis que la famille d’un militaire peut rencontrer. Michael est un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes ayant servi pendant 35 ans. Il a été libéré pour raisons médicales en 2012 et souffre d’un état de stress post traumatique (ESPT) et de plusieurs autres problèmes de santé.

Faire appel au Programme pour les familles des vétérans

Même si la vie après le service n’a pas toujours été facile, depuis 2018, Jo Anne et Michael reçoivent du soutien par l’entremise du Programme pour les familles des vétérans, du Centre de ressources pour les familles des militaires de leur localité et, en particulier, de Louise – leur coordonnatrice du Programme pour les familles des vétérans.

Selon Jo Anne : « Notre expérience dans le cadre du programme s’est révélée très positive. Louise est notre ange gardien. Elle fait preuve d’une écoute attentive, elle sait exactement où trouver la ressource nécessaire, elle est professionnelle mais réussit à vous faire sentir comme un proche. Pendant la COVID, Louise a continué à vérifier si nous allions bien. »

Obtenir le soutien dont ils ont besoin

Grâce au Programme pour les familles des vétérans et au soutien de Louise, Jo Anne et Michael ont suivi un cours de premiers soins en santé mentale ainsi que le programme COPE, conçu pour aider les couples à surmonter les effets de l’ESPT.

« La participation à ce cours de premiers soins en santé mentale et au programme COPE a changé beaucoup de choses pour nous. Nous avons travaillé sur l’impact que l’ESPT avait sur nous et notre relation, et nous en sommes ressortis plus forts. »

Pour ceux qui hésitent peut-être à communiquer avec le Programme pour les familles des vétérans, Jo Anne a le conseil suivant : « Arrêtez d’y penser et FAITES-LE... vous serez heureux de l’avoir fait! »

Si vous envisagez le Programme pour les familles des vétérans, cliquez ici pour obtenir d’autres renseignements.

Date de modification :