Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Share this article on:

Marie France is a Canadian professional photographer specializing in portraits and documentary photography. Before becoming a photographer, Marie France was fascinated by the human being’s capacity to cope with adversity and rebuild their life. That is what prompted her to undertake this documentary project honouring injured Veterans—Veterans: Life After the Forces.

Funded in part by Veterans Affairs Canada’s Commemorative Partnership Program, the Veterans: Life After Forces exhibit features a series of intimate portraits of Canadian Veterans who were injured while serving and their transition to civilian life. The images bear witness to their scars—visible and invisible—and reveal the bravery and sacrifice they have shown. The exhibit was open to the public from 11‑24 November 2019, at Galerie La Loge, in Saint‑Jean‑sur‑Richelieu, Quebec. As part of the project, Galerie La Loge also hosted a private commemorative ceremony for Veterans and their families on 11 November 2019, and a public ceremony on 16 November 2019.

A source of continued inspiration

The idea for this project came to Marie France in the spring of 2017. She had been working on a variety of exploratory projects centred on survival that included a portrait series of Canadian Veterans at Ste. Anne’s Hospital. She was deeply moved by their stories, but she was especially struck by the fact that— regardless of age, rank, mission or unique character of their stories—they shared similar injuries and experiences. Their transition to civilian life seemed to be an unfulfilled quest for a new identity.

These initial encounters at Ste. Anne’s Hospital are what gave rise to the idea of a project about Veterans transitioning to civilian life which centred on the themes of identity, injury and rebuilding. “By targeting younger people, I wanted to show the face of the new generation of Veterans. I also wanted to highlight the fact that the deepest wounds are often the least visible.”

Veterans: Life After the Forces Exhibit

Transitioning to civilian life

Every year, more than 1,500 members are medically-released from the Canadian Armed Forces. The transition to civilian life can be particularly challenging, especially for members dealing with physical or mental health injuries and illnesses. It is L’Ecuyer’s hope that “the project can build bridges between the military world and the civilian world through an intimate look into the inspiring journeys of individuals for whom each day has become a struggle, but one that they lead with dignity and resilience down the long road to recovery.”

Honouring Canada’s Veterans

Veterans Affairs Canada is committed to honouring those who served Canada during times of war, military conflict and peace, and to keeping the memory of their achievements and sacrifices alive for all Canadians. Funding is available to organizations that undertake commemorative initiatives through the Commemorative Partnership Program.

Date published: 2020-01-13


Articles for Veterans and families

Preserving Canadian military gravesites

Preserving Canadian military gravesites

A retired Technician with the Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Corps in the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF), Nick Hébert now works with Commemoration Division’s Cemetery Maintenance team at Veterans Affairs Canada.

Andrei Roberge: Transition tips from a Veteran who did it twice

Andrei Roberge: Transition tips from a Veteran who did it twice

Having done it twice, Andrei Roberge knows the difference between a good transition to life after service and one that’s…not so good. He has a few tips to offer any CAF member who is looking at transition soon.

Get the most out of your transition interview

Get the most out of your transition interview

Leaving military service can be a big change. As a Veteran getting ready to transition, you may face difficult questions about your post-service life, including “Where will I find work?,” “Do I qualify for benefits and services?,” and “What community supports are available to me?”

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Partager cet article sur:

Bien avant de devenir photographe, l’artiste était fascinée par la capacité de l’être humain à faire face à l’adversité, puis à se reconstruire. C’est d’ailleurs ce qui l’a motivée à entreprendre son projet documentaire qui rend hommage aux vétérans blessés, l’exposition Vétérans : La vie après les Forces.

Financée en partie grâce au Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration d’Anciens Combattants Canada, l’exposition présentait une série de portraits intimistes de vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes blessés en service et leur transition vers la vie civile. Les images témoignent de leurs cicatrices – visibles et invisibles – et révèlent la bravoure et les sacrifices consentis. L’exposition était ouverte au grand public du 11 au 24 novembre 2019, à la Galerie La Loge, à Saint‑Jean‑sur‑Richelieu, au Québec. Dans le cadre du projet, la Galerie La Loge était également le lieu d’une cérémonie commémorative privée pour les vétérans et leur famille, le 11 novembre 2019 ainsi que d’une cérémonie ouverte au grand public, le 16 novembre 2019.

Une source d’inspiration continue

L’idée de réaliser ce projet lui est venue au printemps 2017, alors qu’elle travaillait à différents projets exploratoires sur le thème de la survivance, dont une série de portraits de vétérans canadiens à l’Hôpital Sainte‑Anne. Elle a été profondément touchée par le récit de leur vie, mais surtout, elle a été frappée de constater que peu importe leur âge, leur grade, leurs missions, et le caractère unique de leur histoire, ils partageaient une réalité et une blessure communes. Leur transition vers la vie civile semblait être une quête inachevée vers une nouvelle identité.

C’est donc à travers ces premières rencontres qu’est née l’idée de réaliser un projet documentaire portant sur la transition vers la vie civile des vétérans, autour des thèmes de l’identité, de la blessure et de la reconstruction. « En ciblant des participants plus jeunes, je voulais montrer les visages de la nouvelle génération des vétérans. Je souhaitais également mettre en lumière le fait que les plus grandes blessures sont souvent les moins visibles. »

Exposition Vétérans : La vie après les Forces

La transition vers la vie civile

Chaque année, plus de 1 500 militaires sont libérés des Forces armées canadiennes. La transition vers la vie civile peut s’avérer particulièrement ardue, notamment pour les militaires qui doivent composer avec des problèmes de santé physique ou mentale. Marie‑France L’Écuyer souhaite « que ce projet puisse jeter des ponts entre le monde militaire et le monde civil, tout en proposant un regard intime sur le parcours inspirant d’individus pour qui chaque jour est désormais un combat mené avec dignité et résilience, sur le long chemin de la reconstruction. »

Hommage aux vétérans du Canada

Anciens Combattants Canada s’est engagé à rendre hommage aux personnes qui ont servi le Canada en temps de guerre, de conflit militaire et de paix, et à graver dans la mémoire de tous les Canadiens le souvenir de leurs réalisations et de leurs sacrifices. Un financement est mis à la disposition d’organisations qui entreprennent des initiatives commémoratives dans le cadre du Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration.

Date de publication : 2020-01-13


Articles pour les vétérans et leur famille

Des cartes-tapis géantes recréent la Première Guerre mondiale dans la salle de classe

Des cartes-tapis géantes recréent la Première Guerre mondiale dans la salle de classe

Grâce à l’appui du Programme de partenariat pour la commémoration d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), une société de production d’Ottawa s’est associée à la Société géographique royale du Canada (SGRC) pour distribuer des cartes tapis géantes de la Première Guerre mondiale comme outil éducatif qui fait le lien avec les expériences des soldats canadiens.

Profils de femmes vétérans : caporal (à la retraite) Alexandra Shaw

Profils de femmes vétérans : caporal (à la retraite) Alexandra Shaw

Le caporal (à la retraite) Alexandra Shaw est vraiment heureuse de son travail actuel. Elle est conseillère en politiques à Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), à Charlottetown, à l’Île du Prince Édouard. Mais ce n’est certainement pas ce à quoi elle s’attendait il y a 10 ans.

Todd Ross : Réussir malgré le harcèlement

Todd Ross : Réussir malgré le harcèlement

Expulsé de la Marine royale canadienne lors de la purge LGBT, Todd Ross a mis à profit ses talents considérables pour bâtir une impressionnante carrière au sein de la fonction publique et a contribué à diriger les efforts visant à obtenir des mesures de redressement du gouvernement fédéral.

Date de modification :