The 75th anniversary of the Liberation of the Netherlands and V-E Day

Important Notice:

The well-being of Veterans and staff is of utmost importance. In line with advice about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) from various health and safety authorities, the Government of Canada will not be sending a delegation overseas and will not be hosting commemorative ceremonies in the Netherlands as planned. When the situation with COVID-19 is resolved and the associated risks are greatly diminished, Veterans Affairs Canada will work with partners in the Netherlands and in Canada to organize commemorative activities, including a delegation with Second World War Veterans to the Netherlands.

Learn more about Canada’s involvement in the Liberation of the Netherlands during the Second World War and our plans to commemorate this military milestone.

History

Beginning in the fall of 1944 through the spring of 1945, close to 175,000 Canadians took part in the campaign to liberate the Netherlands. More than 7,600 made the ultimate sacrifice.

Learn more about Canada’s involvement in the Liberation of the Netherlands.


Media information

Interview requests

Media members interested in speaking with a Veteran from the Liberation of the Netherlands or the Victory in Europe should contact Media Relations.

Related

Faces of Freedom - Explore the stories of Canadians who have served, and those inspired to remember them.


Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. What has the Government of Canada planned to mark the 75th anniversary of the Liberation of the Netherlands?

A1. A Government of Canada delegation was scheduled to travel overseas to participate in ceremonies commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Liberation of the Netherlands from 1-10 May 2020.

In line with advice about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) from various health and safety authorities, the Government of Canada has decided to postpone this trip and the commemorative ceremonies which were planned around it for the time being as these events would have resulted in the gathering of large groups. When the situation with COVID-19 is resolved and the associated risks are greatly diminished, Veterans Affairs Canada will work with partners in the Netherlands and in Canada to organize commemorative activities, including a delegation with Second World War Veterans to the Netherlands.

Q2. How can I commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Liberation of the Netherlands and the end of the Second World War in Europe?

A2. There are various ways you can show that #CanadaRemembers the Liberation of the Netherlands, the Victory in Europe and all of Canada’s efforts during the Second World War. We continue to recognize the courage and sacrifices of our Veterans and this milestone by telling their stories through our Faces of Freedom. We encourage you to explore those stories.

Heroes Remember interviews are also available on our website. These online resources share the stories of various Veterans, including some who participated in the Liberation of the Netherlands. There are also a number of educational resources available on our webpage, and a list of ways for people to actively remember those who served.

Act as an ambassador of remembrance by sharing your thoughts, photos and memories through social media with the hashtag #Netherlands75. Please continue to share the powerful message that #CanadaRemembers during this commemorative period.


Official Commemorative Poster

On 5 March 2020, we unveiled the official poster commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Liberation of the Netherlands and V-E Day.

This special commemorative poster features Sergeant (Retd) Norman Kirby, a Veteran of the North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment. He and his platoon helped liberate many towns in the Netherlands in the closing weeks of the fighting in Northwest Europe before V-E Day was declared on 8 May 1945. In the background of the poster is an historical photo showing happy citizens of the Dutch town of Zwolle welcoming Canadian soldiers after being freed in April 1945.

Official Commemorative Poster

Date modified:

Le 75e anniversaire de la libération des Pays-Bas et du jour de la Victoire en Europe

Remarque Importante :

Le bien-être des vétérans et membres du personnel est de la plus haute importance. À la lumière des conseils reçus de diverses autorités responsables en matière de santé et de sécurité au sujet du nouveau coronavirus (COVID-19), le gouvernement du Canada n’enverra pas de délégation à l’étranger et ne planifiera pas de cérémonies commémoratives aux Pays-Bas comme prévu. Lorsque la situation entourant la COVID 19 sera réglée et que les risques associés seront considérablement réduits, Anciens Combattants Canada travaillera de concert avec ses partenaires aux Pays-Bas et au Canada afin d’organiser des activités commémoratives, y compris une délégation comprenant des vétérans de la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui se rendrait aux Pays-Bas.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la participation du Canada à la libération des Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et sur nos plans pour commémorer ce jalon militaire.

Histoire

De l’automne 1944 au printemps 1945, près de 175 000 Canadiens ont pris part à la campagne de libération des Pays-Bas. Plus de 7 600 d’entre eux y ont sacrifié leur vie.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la participation du Canada à la libération des Pays-Bas.


Information pour les médias

Demandes d’entrevue

Les représentants des médias qui souhaitent parler à un vétéran qui a participé à la libération des Pays-Bas ou de la victoire en Europe doivent communiquer avec les Relations avec les médias.

Connexe

Visages de la liberté - Explorez les récits de Canadiens qui ont servi leur pays et de ceux inspirés par leur souvenir.


Foire aux questions

Q1. Qu’a prévu le gouvernement du Canada pour souligner le 75e anniversaire de la libération des Pays-Bas?

R1. Une délégation du gouvernement du Canada devait se rendre outre-mer afin de prendre part à des cérémonies pour souligner le 75e anniversaire de la libération des Pays Bas du 1er au 10 mai 2020.

À la lumière des conseils reçus de diverses autorités responsables en matière de santé et de sécurité au sujet du nouveau coronavirus (COVID-19), le gouvernement du Canada n’enverra pas de délégation à l’étranger et ne planifiera pas de cérémonies commémoratives aux Pays-Bas comme prévu. Lorsque la situation entourant la COVID 19 sera réglée et que les risques associés seront considérablement réduits, Anciens Combattants Canada travaillera de concert avec ses partenaires aux Pays-Bas et au Canada afin d’organiser des activités commémoratives, y compris une délégation comprenant des vétérans de la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui se rendrait aux Pays-Bas.

Q2. Comment puis je souligner le 75e anniversaire de la libération des Pays-Bas et de la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Europe?

R2. Il existe divers moyens pour vous de montrer que #LeCanadasesouvient de la libération des Pays‑Bas, de la victoire en Europe et de tous les efforts du Canada au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Nous continuons de saluer le courage et les sacrifices de nos vétérans et cet important jalon de l’histoire militaire en racontant leurs histoires dans le cadre de nos Visages de la liberté. Nous vous encourageons à découvrir ces histoires.

Les entrevues des héros se racontent sont également disponibles sur notre site Web. Ces ressources en ligne racontent les histoires de nombreux vétérans, y compris certains qui ont participé à la libération des Pays‑Bas. Nous offrons également plusieurs ressources didactiques, ainsi qu’une liste de moyens de se souvenir de ceux qui ont servi notre pays.

Soyez un ambassadeur du souvenir en partageant vos idées, vos photos et vos souvenirs sur les médias sociaux avec le mot‑clic #PaysBas75. Continuez à partager le message #LeCanadasesouvient au cours de cette période commémorative.


Affiche commémorative officielle

Le 5 mars 2020, nous avons dévoilé l’affiche commémorative officielle du 75e anniversaire de la libération des Pays-Bas et du jour de la Victoire en Europe.

Cette affiche commémorative spéciale met en vedette le sergent (à la retraite) Norman Kirby, vétéran du North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment. Lui et son peloton ont aidé à libérer de nombreuses villes des Pays-Bas au cours des dernières semaines de combat de l’Europe du Nord-Ouest avant que la Victoire en Europe ne soit déclarée le 8 mai 1945. En arrière-plan de l’affiche se trouve une photo historique montrant des citoyens heureux de la ville néerlandaise de Zwolle, accueillant les soldats canadiens après la libération de leur pays en avril 1945.

L’affiche commémorative officielle

Date de modification :