Introduction

Two young beneficiaries of Canadian service and sacrifice overseas contemplate the names of those who fell.

Generations of Canadians have served our country and the world during times of war, military conflict and peace. Through their courage and sacrifice, these men and women have helped to ensure that we live in freedom and peace, while also fostering freedom and peace around the world.

Canada’s involvement in the First and Second World Wars, the Korean War, and Canada’s efforts during military operations and peace efforts has always been fuelled by a commitment to protect the rights of others and to foster peace and freedom. Many Canadians have died for these beliefs, and many others have dedicated their lives to these pursuits. This willingness to stand up to protect human rights, freedom and justice remains one of Canada’s defining characteristics in the eyes of the world.

Veterans Affairs Canada encourages all Canadians to learn more about the sacrifices and achievements made by those who served our country, and to help preserve their legacy by passing the torch of Remembrance to future generations of Canadians.

...To you from failing hands we throw The torch, be yours to hold it high. If ye break faith with us who die We shall not sleep, though poppies grow In Flanders fields.

From "In Flanders Fields" by John McCrae

Every year on November 11, Canadians pause in a silent moment of remembrance for the men and women who have served, and continue to serve our country during times of war, conflict and peace.

We honour those who fought for Canada in the First World War (1914-1918), the Second World War (1939-1945), and the Korean War (1950-1953), as well as those who have served since then. More than 2.3 million Canadians have served our country in this way, and more than 118,000 have died. They gave their lives and their futures so that we may live in peace.

Date modified:

Introduction

Deux jeunes bénéficiaires du service et du sacrifice canadiens outre-mer contemplent les noms de ceux qui sont tombés au combat.

Des générations de Canadiens ont défendu l’honneur de leur pays et du reste du monde en temps de guerre, en temps de paix, et lors de conflits militaires. Grâce au courage et aux sacrifices de ces hommes et de ces femmes, nous pouvons vivre dans la liberté et la paix tout en se portant à la défense de ces valeurs dans le monde.

La participation du Canada à la Première et la Seconde Guerres mondiales, et à la guerre de Corée, ainsi que sa contribution lors d’opérations militaires et d’opérations de maintien de la paix ont toujours été nourries par son engagement de protéger les droits des autres et de promouvoir la paix et la liberté. De nombreux Canadiens ont donné leur vie pour ces croyances, et bien d’autres ont consacré leur vie à la poursuite de ces objectifs. Notre empressement à vouloir protéger les droits de la personne, la liberté et la justice nous caractérise aux yeux des autres pays du monde.

Anciens Combattants Canada invite les Canadiens à en apprendre davantage sur les réalisations et les sacrifices consentis par ceux qui ont servi notre pays et à aider à préserver leur héritage en transmettant le flambeau du souvenir aux futures générations de Canadiens.

... Vous jeunes désabusés, à vous de porter l’oriflamme et de garder au fond de l’âme le goût de vivre en liberté. Acceptez le défi, sinon les coquelicots se faneront au champ d’honneur.

Extrait du poème « Au Champ d’honneur » de John McCrae

Le 11 novembre de chaque année, les Canadiens de partout au pays se recueillent en silence pendant quelques instants pour se souvenir des hommes et des femmes qui ont servi, et qui continuent de servir notre pays en temps de guerre, de conflit et de paix.

Nous rendons hommage à ceux et celles qui ont combattu au nom du Canada - pendant la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918), la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) la guerre de Corée (1950-1953) ainsi qu'à tous ceux et celles qui ont servi depuis. Plus de 1 500 000 Canadiens ont ainsi servi le pays et plus de 100 000 d'entre eux sont morts. Ils ont donné leur vie et sacrifié leur avenir pour que nous puissions vivre en paix.

Date de modification :