Lesson Plan: I Remember the Italian Campaign

Aim

To increase youth awareness of Canadian efforts in the Italian Campaign during the Second World War.

Objectives

Youth will:

  • develop a basic understanding of the Canadian efforts in the Italian Campaign; and
  • develop an awareness of the importance of remembering the sacrifices and achievements of those who served in the Italian Campaign.

Target Audience

This activity is suitable for ages 8 to 11.

Sequence of Events and Anticipated Time Frame [35 minutes]

(This activity can be modified to fit available time.)

  • Introductory Discussion [10 minutes]
  • Reading Activity [10 minutes]
  • Word Search Activity [15 minutes]
  • Possible Extension Activity [variable]

Materials

Introductory Discussion [10 minutes]

Brainstorm with the children on what they know about wars. Do they know of any times when our country has had to fight in a conflict? More than one million Canadians served in uniform during the Second World War—that is more than the population of some provinces. Ask if any of them are aware of how Canada helped win the war. Have they ever heard of the Italian Campaign in a book, movie or from others talking about it? You may wish to record their responses.

Show where Italy is on a map and how far away it is from home. Explain how wars are hard and very dangerous for those who serve in them. Canadian casualties in the Italian Campaign totalled more than 26,000, nearly 6,000 of which were fatal. Before beginning this activity, you may wish to read the Canada Remembers the Italian Campaign historical sheet to familiarize yourself with Canada’s efforts there.

Reading Activity [10 minutes]

Distribute to your students the “Dear Mom” letter. This letter tells the story of a Canadian soldier named George and his experiences of his involvement in the Second World War, and in particular his involvement in the Italian Campaign.

George is a fictional character, however, his character is based on the experiences and stories told by actual Canadian Veteran's.

By reading George's letter, young readers can "live" through the horrible conditions that George experienced, and understand some of the feelings that Canadian soldiers may have experienced during the war. The readers will learn, as did George, that there is nothing glorious or wonderful about real war.

Following the reading discuss the letter with your students. How would they feel themselves if they were at war?

Word Search Activity [15 minutes]

Distribute the word search activity sheet and have children find many of the words from the “Dear Mom” letter relating to Canada’s efforts in the Italian Campaign.

You may wish to use the word search answer sheet.

Possible Extension Activity [variable]

Inviting a Veteran to be a guest speaker would be an exceptional opportunity to learn first-hand what it was like to serve in the cause of peace and freedom. For more information visit the Memory Project Speakers Bureau website.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Plan de leçon : Je me souviens de la campagne d’Italie

But

Sensibiliser davantage les jeunes aux efforts du Canada lors de la campagne d’Italie pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Objectifs

Grâce à cette activité, les jeunes :

  • auront une idée générale des efforts du Canada lors de la campagne d’Italie;
  • se sensibiliseront à l’importance de se souvenir des sacrifices et des réalisations de ceux qui ont servi lors de la campagne d’Italie.

Public cible

Cette activité s’adresse aux enfants de 8 à 11 ans.

Séquence et durée prévue de l’activité [35 minutes]

(L’activité peut être modifiée en fonction du temps disponible.)

  • Discussion préparatoire [10 minutes]
  • Activité de lecture [10 minutes]
  • Recherche des mots cachés [15 minutes]
  • Activité complémentaire possible [variable]

Matériel

Discussion préparatoire [10 minutes]

Demandez aux enfants ce qu’ils connaissent au sujet des guerres. Sont-ils au courant des fois où notre pays a dû participer à un conflit? Plus d’un million de Canadiens ont porté l’uniforme pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale – c’est plus que la population de certaines provinces. Demandez aux enfants s’ils savent comment le Canada a aidé à gagner la guerre. Ont-ils déjà entendu parler de la campagne d’Italie, par exemple dans un livre, dans un film ou en écoutant d’autres personnes en parler? Vous pourriez consigner leurs réponses.

Montrez-leur sur une carte où se trouve l’Italie et à quel point c’est loin de chez nous. Expliquez-leur comment les guerres sont pénibles et très dangereuses pour les personnes qui y servent. Les pertes canadiennes au cours de la campagne italienne se chiffrent à plus de 26 000, dont plus de 6 000 morts. Avant de commencer cette activité, vous pourriez lire le feuillet historique, Le Canada se souvient – La campagne d’Italie, pour vous familiariser avec les efforts du Canada lors de cette campagne.

Activité de lecture [10 minutes]

Distribuez aux élèves la lettre « Chère Maman ». Dans cette lettre, un soldat canadien nommé Georges relate ses expériences relativement à sa participation dans la Seconde Guerre mondiale et, plus précisément, dans la campagne d’Italie.

Georges est un personnage fictif qui a été créé à partir d’expériences et de récits relatés par des vétérans canadiens.

À travers la lettre de Georges, les jeunes lecteurs peuvent découvrir les terribles conditions dans lesquelles Georges a vécu et ainsi mieux comprendre les sentiments que peuvent avoir ressentis les soldats canadiens pendant la guerre. Les jeunes apprendront, comme l’a fait Georges, que la vraie guerre n’a rien de glorieux ni de merveilleux.

Après la lecture, discutez de la lettre avec les élèves. Demandez-leur comment ils se sentiraient s’ils devaient eux-mêmes aller à la guerre.

Recherche des mots cachés [15 minutes]

Distribuez la grille de mots cachés (PDF) et demandez aux enfants de trouver les mots en caractère gras de la lettre « Chère Maman » liés aux efforts du Canada lors de la campagne d’Italie.

Au besoin, référez-vous à la feuille de réponses (PDF) de la grille de mots cachés.

Activité complémentaire possible [variable]

Inviter comme conférencier un vétéran serait une occasion exceptionnelle d’apprendre de quelqu’un qui a vécu ce que c’était de défendre la cause de la paix et de la liberté. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site Web du Bureau des orateurs du Projet Mémoire.

Date de modification :