Bandoola and Elephant Bill

Elephant during the First World War.
(Photo: Illustrated War News, February 9, 1916)

Elephants have helped armies since ancient times because of their great size, strength and intelligence. During the Second World War, an elephant named Bandoola helped Lieutenant-Colonel Jim Williams in the jungles of Burma. Elephant Bill, as he was nicknamed, oversaw a British Army elephant company, which had up to 700 of these brave beasts.

They pulled up trees that were sent to England where wood was needed; moved heavy logs to build bridges; helped launch ships; and carried people and supplies across rivers, mountains and rough roads. They also tugged heavy army trucks out of deep mud during the rainy season.

In 1944, Williams heard that the enemy was coming to take his last 47 elephants and they had to escape quickly. Bandoola courageously led the other elephants along dangerous paths through the mountains. The journey was long and hard, but together they reached safety.

Ellie the elephant

Did You Know? Tunneler’s Friends

During the First World War, some soldiers spent a lot of time digging tunnels under the front lines for protection from the enemy and to use in attacks. Fresh air was hard to get underground and dangerous gases often built up that could be deadly. The tunnelers sometimes took doves and rats with them—if the animals couldn’t breathe, the men knew they had better get out quickly!

Mighty Warrior and Galloper Jack
Date modified:

Bandoola et Bill aux éléphants

Un éléphant pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.
(Photo : Illustrated War News. 9 février 1916.)

Les éléphants, grâce à leur grande taille, à leur force et à leur intelligence, aident les armées depuis des siècles. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, un éléphant nommé Bandoola est venu en aide au lieutenant-colonel Jim Williams, dans la jungle de Birmanie. Le lieutenant-colonel Williams, surnommé Bill aux éléphants, supervisait une compagnie d’éléphants de l’Armée britannique, composée de près de 700 de ces braves bêtes.

Les éléphants arrachaient des arbres qui étaient envoyés en Angleterre, où l’on avait besoin de bois, ils déplaçaient de lourds billots pour construire des ponts, ils aidaient à mettre des navires à l’eau et ils transportaient des gens et du matériel pour traverser les rivières, les montagnes et les chemins difficiles. Ils remorquaient aussi les camions militaires lourds qui s’enlisaient dans la boue profonde pendant la saison des pluies.

En 1944, M. Williams a appris que l’ennemi allait s’emparer des 47 éléphants qui lui restaient et il savait qu’ils allaient devoir s’enfuir rapidement. Courageusement, Bandoola a mené les autres éléphants sur des sentiers de montagne dangereux. Le chemin a été long et ardu, mais ensemble, ils se sont rendus en lieu sûr.

Ellie l’éléphant

Le savais-tu? Des animaux dans les tunnels

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, certains soldats passaient beaucoup de temps à creuser des tunnels sous la ligne de front pour se protéger de l’ennemi et pour l’attaquer. Dans les tunnels, l’air frais était rare et les gaz dangereux pouvaient s’accumuler et mettre la vie des militaires en danger. Les soldats apportaient parfois des tourterelles et des rats – si les animaux ne pouvaient pas respirer, les soldats savaient qu’ils devaient déguerpir!

Warrior et Jack au galop
Date de modification :