Questions and Answers

What is the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier?

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier is a special structure called a sarcophagus. This sarcophagus was built at the front of Canada's National War Memorial in Ottawa to contain the remains of an unknown Canadian soldier who died in France sometime during the First World War (1914-1918).

How was the ceremony conducted?

This soldier was brought back to Canada by the Canadian Forces May 25, 2000. The soldier's remains laid in state at the Parliament Buildings for three days; then, following a solemn ceremony, the casket was buried in the sarcophagus at the National War Memorial.

Why is the soldier unknown?

In war, the devastation caused is terrible, both to inanimate objects and living beings. When soldiers are killed, their remains may be badly damaged or even completely destroyed. Although soldiers wear identity tags to assist in their identification, the destruction caused by exploding shells and other war influences can result in the identity tags no longer being with a soldier's remains.

This problem was particularly common during the First World War, where battles were fought and refought on exactly the same locations. When the war was over, a great effort was made to find and identify the remains of those killed on the battlefields. Inevitably, many could only be identified by indicators such as buttons or badges. Those identified only as Canadians were buried under a gravestone stating "A Canadian Soldier of the Great War - Known Unto God." Many were not found at all. Of the more than 66,000 Canadians who died in the First World War, almost 20,000 have no identifiable grave. Of the nearly 117,000 Canadians who have died in all wars since the birth of our country, a total of 28,000 have no known grave.

What is known about the soldier?

Carefully kept records of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, the organization that looks after the graves and memorials commemorating the one and three quarter million men and women of the navies, armies, air forces and merchant navies of the British Commonwealth countries who died in the First and Second World Wars, show that the soldier was a Canadian. We also know that he died in France in the First World War.

The Canadian Government made a special request to the Commonwealth War Graves Commission to select one grave from among the 1,603 unknown Canadians whose graves are located in the vicinity of Vimy Ridge, a famous First World War battle site where Canadian troops fought as a combined force for the first time. Canadians served in that part of France for much of the war, and in particular for most of the period from the fall of 1916 to the spring of 1918. Many of the military cemeteries in the area reflect that reality, and contain unidentified soldiers' remains from many of the battles which occurred over that time. Therefore it's not known for sure if the soldier died in the battle at Vimy Ridge. We do not know his age, or the unit he fought with, or the date of his death; no one does.

Why was the Tomb created?

Veterans - the survivors of the wars - made it known that they were anxious to see a Tomb built because they felt that new generations of Canadians should have the causes and consequences of war brought home to them. The Government of Canada agreed, and established the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier to remind all Canadians of the human cost of our country's commitment to the cause of peace and freedom in the past, in the present, and in the future.

When and where were the remains exhumed?

Remains were exhumed on Tuesday morning 16 May 2000 from Cabaret-Rouge British Cemetery, Souchez, Plot 8, Row E, Grave 7.

What's the significance of Cabaret-Rouge British Cemetery, Souchez?

The cemetery was established by British troops in March 1916 then used until August 1917 largely by the Canadian Corps and the UK's 47th (London) Division. It was then used sparingly until September 1918 and after the Armistice was greatly enlarged by the concentration of over 7,000 graves from battlefields around Arras and other burial grounds located in the French Administrative Regions of Nord and Pas-de-Calais. "Cabaret-Rouge" refers to a house located approximately one kilometre south of Souchez. In turn this name was given to a communications trench which ended just east of the cemetery location. The cemetery is approximately 3.5 km north of Arras, just west of the Vimy Memorial.

There are approximately 8,000 burials in this cemetery amongst which are 325 identified and 425 unidentified Canadians.

Was a complete set of remains recovered?

Yes, bearing in mind that 80 plus years have passed since the death of the casualty.

Is anything known about the remains of this particular soldier?

No. The Commission took extra care in its research prior to exhumation to involve only those graves where nothing was known about the casualty.

Why was Cabaret-Rouge Cemetery chosen?

Canada (Veterans Affairs) asked the Commission to specially consider the Vimy area when investigating suitable remains for repatriation. The Vimy area was defined as a strip of land approximately 25 km in length running from Loos-en-Gohelle in the north and Neuville-Vitasse in the south, an area of concentrated Canadian achievement. Cabaret-Rouge met the criteria and offered a group of unknown Canadian casualties which gave an improved chance of finding remains.

Is there anything now marking the original burial site?

A marker, resembling the other Commission headstones in the cemetery, sits on the now empty grave. It is inscribed as follows:

French grave site of the Unknown Soldier

ANCIENNE SÉPULTURE D'UN
SOLDAT CANADIEN INCONNU
MORT AU COURS DE LA
PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE.
IL A ÉTÉ EXHUMÉ
LE 25 MAI 2000
ET IL REPOSE MAINTENANT AU
MONUMENTCOMMÉMORATIF
DE GUERRE DU CANADA
À OTTAWA

THE FORMER GRAVE OF AN
UNKNOWN CANADIAN SOLDIER
OF THE FIRST WORLD WAR.
HIS REMAINS WERE REMOVED
ON 25 MAY 2000 AND NOW
LIE INTERRED AT THE
NATIONAL WAR MEMORIAL
IN OTTAWA CANADA.

Date modified:

Questions fréquentes

Qu'est-ce que la Tombe du Soldat inconnu?

La Tombe du Soldat inconnu est un tombeau spécial appelé sarcophage. Ce sarcophage a été construit devant le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, à Ottawa, en vue de l'inhumation de la dépouille d'un soldat canadien inconnu qui est mort en France au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918).

Comment a eu lieu la cérémonie?

La dépouille a été rapatriée au Canada par les Forces canadiennes, le 25 mai 2000. Elle a été exposée en chapelle ardente dans les édifices du Parlement pendant trois jours. Ensuite, suivant une cérémonie solennelle, le cercueil a été inhumé dans le sarcophage au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada.

Pourquoi est-ce que le soldat est inconnu?

Les ravages de la guerre sont terribles tant au niveau matériel que parmi les êtres vivants. Lorsque des soldats sont tués, leurs corps peuvent être effroyablement mutilés ou même complètement détruits. Malgré que les soldats portent des insignes d'identification pour aider à les identifier dans ces cas, la destruction causée par l'explosion d'obus et les autres dommages de guerre peut avoir pour résultat la perte ou de ces insignes.

Cela est arrivé très souvent pendant la Première Guerre mondiale au cours de laquelle de nombreuses batailles furent livrées aux mêmes endroits. Après la guerre, on a déployé beaucoup d'efforts afin de retrouver et d'identifier les restes de ceux qui furent tués au combat. Inévitablement, nombre d'entre eux ne purent être identifiés qu'à partir d'insignes ou de boutons. Ceux qui furent identifiés comme étant des Canadiens furent inhumés dans des sépultures portant la mention « Soldat canadien de la Grande Guerre - Connu de Dieu seul ». De nombreux autres ne furent jamais retrouvés. Des quelque 66 000 Canadiens qui périrent au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, près de 22 000 n'ont aucune sépulture connue. Près de 117 000 Canadiens sont morts au cours de toutes les guerres qui ont eu lieu depuis la naissance de notre pays; quelque 28 000 n'ont pas de sépulture connue.

Que savons-nous du soldat?

Les dossiers tenus avec soin par la Commonwealth War Graves Commission, l'organisation qui s'occupe des sépultures et des monuments qui commémorent 1 3/4 million d'hommes et de femmes de la marine, de l'armée, des forces aériennes et de la marine marchande des pays du Commonwealth britannique qui ont péri au cours de la Première et de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, montrent qu'il s'agit de la dépouille d'un soldat canadien. Nous savons aussi qu'il est mort en France au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Le gouvernement du Canada a présenté une demande spéciale à la Commonwealth War Graves Commission afin qu'elle choisisse une sépulture parmi les 1 603 sépultures des Canadiens qui se trouvent dans les environs de la crête de Vimy, lieu où fut livrée l'une des plus célèbres batailles de la Première Guerre mondiale et au cours de laquelle les troupes canadiennes unirent leurs forces pour la première fois. Des Canadiens ont servi dans cette région de la France pendant presque toute la durée de la guerre, notamment à partir de l'automne 1916 jusqu'au printemps 1918. De nombreux cimetières de la région en témoignent et on y trouve les sépultures de nombreux soldats canadiens non identifiés. Il est donc impossible de savoir si le soldat en question est mort lors de la bataille de la crête de Vimy. Nous ne savons ni l'âge qu'il avait, ni le nom de l'unité dont il faisait partie, ni la date de sa mort. Personne ne le sait.

Pourquoi a-t-on créé la Tombe?

Les anciens combattants – ceux qui ont survécu aux guerres - ont fait savoir qu'ils souhaitaient la création d'une telle Tombe dans le but de sensibiliser les générations futures de Canadiens aux causes et aux conséquences de la guerre. Le gouvernement du Canada était d'accord et a établi la « Tombe du Soldat inconnu » afin de rappeler à tous les Canadiens l'importance du prix à payer en termes de vies humaines pour défendre la cause de la paix et de la liberté et ce, hier, aujourd'hui et demain.

Quand et de quel endroit les restes ont-ils été exhumés?

Les restes ont été exhumés le mardi matin 16 mai 2000, au Cimetière britannique de Cabaret-Rouge, à Souchez, lot 8, rangée E, sépulture 7.

Que pouvez-vous nous dire du Cimetière britannique de Cabaret-Rouge, à Souchez?

Le cimetière a été aménagé par les troupes britanniques, en mars 1916. Il a été utilisé jusqu'en août 1917, principalement par le Corps d'armée canadien et la UK's 47th (London) Division. Par la suite, il a été peu utilisé jusqu'en septembre 1918 et après l'Armistice, il a été considérablement agrandi en raison de la concentration de plus de 7 000 sépultures venant des champs de bataille autour d'Arras et d'autres lieux de sépulture situés dans les régions administratives françaises du Nord Pas-de-Calais. « Cabaret-Rouge » fait référence à une maison qui se trouve à environ un kilomètre au sud de Souchez. Ce nom fut en outre donné à la tranchée de communication qui se termine à l'est du cimetière. Le cimetière se trouve à environ 3,5 kilomètres au nord d'Arras, tout juste à l'ouest du Monument commémoratif de guerre de Vimy.

Le cimetière compte environ 8 000 sépultures, dont celles de 325 Canadiens identifiés et 425 non identifiés.

Savez-vous quoi que ce soit au sujet de ce soldat en particulier?

Non. Dans les recherches qu'elle a effectuées avant l'exhumation, la Commission a pris grand soin de retenir seulement les sépultures dont on ne savait absolument rien.

Pourquoi avez-vous choisi le cimetière de Cabaret-Rouge?

Le Canada (Anciens Combattants) a fait valoir à la Commission qu'il aimerait que les restes proviennent de la région de Vimy. On a donc délimité un secteur d'environ 25 kilomètres qui part de Loos-en-Gohelle au nord et va jusqu'à Neuville-Vitasse au sud, soit un secteur où il y eut une forte présence de Canadiens pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Cabaret-Rouge répondait à ces critères. On y trouve bon nombre de sépultures canadiennes non identifiées, d'où de meilleures chances d'y retrouver un soldat canadien inconnu.

Y-a-t-il quelque chose pour marquer le lieu d'inhumation original?

Le Canada a demandé qu'une pierre funéraire soit placée sur la tombe vide. Elle ressemblera aux autres stèles de la Commission et portera l'inscription suivante :

Site en France où le Soldat inconnu était inhumé

ANCIENNE SÉPULTURE D'UN
SOLDAT CANADIEN INCONNU
MORT AU COURS DE LA
PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE.
IL A ÉTÉ EXHUMÉ
LE 25 MAI 2000
ET IL REPOSE MAINTENANT AU
MONUMENT COMMÉMORATIF
DE GUERRE DU CANADA
À OTTAWA

THE FORMER GRAVE OF AN
UNKNOWN CANADIAN SOLDIER
OF THE FIRST WORLD WAR.
HIS REMAINS WERE REMOVED
ON 25 MAY 2000 AND NOW
LIE INTERRED AT THE
NATIONAL WAR MEMORIAL
IN OTTAWA CANADA.

Date de modification :