Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Charles Ferguson Hoey

In memory of
Major
Charles Ferguson Hoey
February 17, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number:
71106
Age:
29
Force:
Army
Unit:
Lincolnshire Regiment
Division:
1st Bn.
Citation(s):
Victoria Cross: The following particulars are given in the London Gazette of May 16th, 1944:
In Burma, on the 16th February 1944, Major Hoey's company formed a part of a force which was ordered to capture a position at all costs. After a night march through enemy held territory the force was met at the foot of the position by heavy machine-gun fire. Major Hoey personally led his company under heavy machine-gun and rifle fire right up to the objective. Although wounded at least twice in the leg and head, he seized a Bren gun from one of his men and firing from the hip, led his company on to the objective. In spite of his wounds the company had difficulty keeping up with him, and Major Hoey reached the enemy strong post first, where he killed all the occupants before being mortally wounded. Major Hoey's outstanding gallantry and leadership, his total disregard of personal safety and his grim determination to reach the objective resulted in the capture of this vital position. Military Cross awarded posthmously (July 1943 Maungdaw), 1939-45 Star, Burma Star, 1939-45 Medal.

Additional Information:

Born:
March 29, 1914 Duncan, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Son of Ferguson and Mary Rudyard Hoey, of Duncan, Vancouver Island, British Columbia. He was educated at the Duncan Grammar School and at the Duncan High School. In April 1933 he went to England with the intention of making the army his career. He first enlisted in the West Kent Regiment, won a cadetship to the Royal Military College at Sandhurst and went there in September 1935. He graduated from Sandhurst in December 1936 and, after a brief visit home to Duncan, joined the 2nd Battalion, the Lincolnshire Regiment, which is now the Royal Lincolnshires following distinguished service fighting in Burma. He transferred to the 1st Battalion of the Lincolnshire Regiment, which was at that time in India, and sailed there in September 1937. He went to Burma with the 1st Battalion in 1942 and served until his death in February 1944. He was awarded the Military Cross in July 1943 for his outstanding service at Maungdaw during a raid on a Japanese position. His Victoria Cross came as a result of the action described in the citation. Major Hoey is buried in Taukkyan Cemetery, Rangoon, Burma. His Victoria Cross is on display at the Sabraon Barrack in Lincoln, England.

Commemorated on Page 336 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
TAUKKYAN WAR CEMETERY , Myanmar
Grave Reference:
12. H. 2.
Location:
TAUKKYAN WAR CEMETERY is outside Yangon (formerly Rangoon, Burma), near the airport and immediately adjoining the village of Taukkyan. It is on PY1 road (formerly Prome Road), about 35 kilometres north of the city from which it is easily accessible.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • War Memorial – Barrie Military Park, Canadian Victoria Cross Recipients, Cenotaph
  • Photo of Charles Ferguson Hoey – Maj C F Hoey VC - from Toronto Public Archives
  • Altar rail – Altar rail at Lincoln Cathedral, England for Major Charles Hoey VC MC
  • Photo of Charles Ferguson Hoey Victoria Cross – Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Photo of Charles Hoey – Submitted by Operation Picture Me
  • Gravemarker – Charles Ferguson Hoey Victoria Cross
Submitted by Operation Picture Me

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Charles Ferguson Hoey

En mémoire

Major Charles Ferguson Hoey

17 février 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

71106

Âge :

29

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Lincolnshire Regiment

Division :

1st Bn.

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Croix de Victoria: Extrait de la London Gazette (16 mai 1944) [traduction] :
«Le 16 février 1944, la compagnie du major Hoey faisait partie d'une unité en Birmanie ayant pour mission de capturer un poste stratégique à tout prix. Après avoir marché toute la nuit à travers un territoire occupé par l'ennemi, les hommes arrivèrent aux positions ennemies où ils furent accueillis par un feu nourri de mitrailleuses. Dans ces conditions, le major Hoey mena personnellement ses hommes jusqu'au coeur du poste à capturer. Quoique blessé au moins à deux reprises à la jambe et à la tête, il saisit une mitraillette Bren des mains de l'un de ses hommes et continua de tirer tout en menant sa compagnie à son but. Même avec de telles blessures, les membres de la compagnie avaient peine à le suivre; le major Hoey fut le premier à arriver au poste où il tua tous les occupants avant d'être mortellement blessé lui-même. La bravoure extraordinaire et les qualités de chef du major Hoey, ainsi que sa détermination et son manque total de souci pour sa propre sécurité, ont permis la capture de ce poste vital.» On lui décerna la Croix militaire à titre posthume (juillet 1943, Maungdaw), l¿Étoile de 1939-1945, l'Étoile de Birmanie et la Médaille 1939-1945.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 29 mars 1914
Duncan, Vancouver Island, Colombie-Britannique

Fils de Ferguson et Mary Rudyard Hoey de Duncan, l'Ile de Vancouver, (Colombie-Britannique). Il étudia aux écoles primaire et secondaire de Duncan. En avril 1933 il partit vers l'Angleterre avec l'intention de faire carrière dans l'armée. Il s'engagea dans le West Kent Regiment, et ayant obtenu une bourse, il entra au Royal Military College à Sandhurst en septembre 1935. Diplômé de Sandhurst en décembre 1936, et après une brève visite à Duncan, il s'engagea dans le 2e bataillon du Lincolnshire Regiment maintenant rebaptisé le Royal Lincolnshires à la suite de la bataille de Birmanie. Il fut transféré au 1er bataillon du Lincolnshire qui était alors aux Indes où il se rendit en septembre 1937. Il partit pour la Birmanie avec le 1er bataillon en 1942 et y demeura jusqu'à sa mort en février 1944. En juillet 1943, on lui décerna la Croix militaire pour sa bravoure à Maungdaw au cours d'un raid sur une position japonaise. Il reçut la Croix de Victoria à la suite des événements décrits dans la citation. Le major Hoey est inhumé au cimetière de Taukkyan à Rangoon, Birmanie. Sa Croix de Victoria est exposée dans la caserne Sabraon, à Lincoln, en Angleterre.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 336 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE DE GUERRE DE TAUKKYAN
Myanmar

Information sur la sépulture :

12. H. 2.

Emplacement :

Le CIMETIÈRE DE GUERRE DE TAUKKYAN est à l'extérieur de Yangon (anciennement Rangoon, Burma), près de l'aéroport et immédiatement à côté du village de Taukkyan. Il est sur le chemin PY1 (anciennement Prome Road), à environ 35 kilomètres au nord de la ville d'où on peut l'accéder facilement.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Photo de Charles Ferguson Hoey
  • Photo de Charles Hoey
  • Photo de Charles Hoey
  • Pierre tombale

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :