Language selection

Tyne Cot Memorial

Cemetery Plan - Tyne Cot Memorial

Cemetery Plan - Tyne Cot Memorial

The Tyne Cot Memorial forms the northeastern boundary of Tyne Cot Cemetery, which is located 9 Km north east of Ieper town centre on the Tynecotstraat, a road leading from the Zonnebeekseweg (N332). The cemetery itself lies 700 meters along the Tynecotstraat on the right hand side of the road.

Tyne Cot or Tyne Cottage was the name given by the Northumberland Fusiliers to a barn which stood near the level crossing on the Passchendaele-Broodseinde road. Three of these blockhouses still stand in the cemetery; the largest, which was captured on 4 October 1917 by the 3rd Australian Division, was chosen as the site for the Cross of Sacrifice by King George V during his pilgrimage to the cemeteries of the Western Front in Belgium and France in 1922.

The site of the Memorial is on high ground on the western slopes of the Passchendaele Ridge, from which the whole country to the English Channel lies open. The Memorial, designed by Herbert Baker and with sculpture by F. V. Blundstone, is a semicircular flint wall 4.25 metres high and more than 150 metres long. It is faced with panels of Portland stone. The following inscription is carved on the frieze above the panels:
1914 - HERE ARE RECORDED THE NAMES OF OFFICERS AND MEN OF THE ARMIES OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE WHO FELL IN YPRES SALIENT, BUT TO WHOM THE FORTUNE OF WAR DENIED THE KNOWN AND HONOURED BURIAL GIVEN TO THEIR COMRADES IN DEATH - 1918.

Date modified:

MÉMORIAL DE TYNE COT

Le plan du cimetière - MÉMORIAL DE TYNE COT

Le plan du cimetière - MÉMORIAL DE TYNE COT

Le monument commémoratif Tyne Cot se trouve à la limite nord-est du cimetière Tyne Cot qui est situé à 9 kilomètres au nord-est du centre-ville d'Ypres sur la Tynecotstraat, une route qui rejoint la Zonnebeekseweg (N332). Le cimetière de Tyne Cot se trouve 700 mètres plus loin, sur le côté droit de la Tynecotstraat.

Les fusiliers de Northumberland ont donné le nom de « Tyne Cottages » ou « Tyne Cotts » à un groupe de blockhaus allemands ou casemates situés près du passage à niveau sur la route reliant Passchendaele à Broodseinde. Trois de ces fortins existent toujours dans le cimetière. Le plus gros, qui avait été pris par la troisième division australienne le 4 octobre 1917, a été choisi par le roi George V durant son pèlerinage aux cimetières du front ouest en Belgique et en France en 1922 pour y ériger la Croix du Sacrifice.

Le monument est érigé en terrain surélevé sur le versant ouest de la crête de Passchendaele, d'où l'on voit toutes les terres qui s'étendent jusqu'à la Manche. Conçu par Herbert Baker et sculpté par F. V. Blundstone, le monument est un mur de silex en forme de demi-cercle de 4,25 mètres de haut sur plus de 150 mètres de long. À l'avant, il comporte des panneaux de pierre de Portland. Sur la frise située au-dessus des panneaux est gravée une inscription dont voici la traduction :
1914 - À LA PLUS GRANDE GLOIRE DE DIEU ICI SONT INSCRITS LES NOMS DES OFFICIERS ET DES SOLDATS QUI SONT TOMBÉS DANS LE SAILLANT D'YPRES, MAIS QUE LES HASARDS DE LA GUERRE ONT EMPÊCHÉS D'AVOIR UNE IDENTITÉ ET UNE SÉPULTURE HONORABLE COMME LEURS CAMARADES DANS LA MORT. - 1918

Date de modification :