Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Edward Lawrence Bellows

In memory of:

Lance Sergeant Edward Lawrence Bellows

May 18, 1945

Military Service


Service Number:

L/19325

Age:

27

Force:

Army

Unit:

Royal Canadian Engineers

Division:

14 Canadian Field Company

Citation(s):

Croix de Guerre with Bronze Star (France) in recognition of gallant and distinguished service in the cause of the allies. (Posthumous) He was also Mentioned in Despatches for service and that His Majesty the King had recorded his high appreciation of the services rendered. This was awarded on 22 September 1945 and told to his father in a letter dated 22 January 1948. He also received the 1939-45 Star, Italy Star, France and Germany Star, Defence Medal, War Medal 1939-45 and the Canadian Volunteer Service Medal and Clasp.

Honours and Awards:

Mentioned in Despatches

Additional Information


Born:

February 28, 1918
Beechy, Saskatchewan

Enlistment:

September 1, 1940
Dundurn Camp, Saskatchewan

Son of Leroy and Winnifred Bellows, of Beechy, Saskatchewan. He was single and stated he was a farm laborer. He attended Neasden School in Beechy, Saskatchewan. He was the brother of Walter, Ralph, Lloyd, Frank, Ester and Doris.

Commemorated on Page 495 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page. Download high resolution copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

IV. A. 13.

Location:

Groesbeek is located 10 km south east of the town of Nijmegen and close to the German frontier. The Groesbeek Canadian War Cemetery is 3 km north of the village and 1500 metres east of the main road to Nijmegen. On leaving the A73 motorway at the junction Overasselt Mook Groesbeek follow directions to Mook. Follow direction signs towards Mook War cemetery. After passing Mook War cemetery continue to the village of Groesbeek to a set of traffic lights. Turn left at the lights onto Dorpstraat passing through Groesbeek. The road name then changes to Molenweg. A Commonwealth War Graves Commission direction sign indicates the right hand turning from Molenweg onto the Zeven Heuvelenweg. The Groesbeek Canadian War Cemetery is located on the right hand side, about 1 km after entering this road. On the Memorial in the Canadian War Cemetery at Groesbeek are inscribed the following words:
Pro amicis mortui amicis vivimus, We live in the hearts of friends for whom we died.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of EDWARD LAWRENCE BELLOWS– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Tank– Tank at the entrance of the Groesbeek Cemetery
  • Grave Marker

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Edward Lawrence Bellows

En mémoire

Sergent suppléant Edward Lawrence Bellows

18 mai 1945

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

L/19325

Âge :

27

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Corps royal du génie canadien

Division :

14 Canadian Field Company

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Croix de Guerre avec Étoile de bronze (France) en reconnaissance de son service valeureux et distingué pour la cause des Alliés. (Posthume) Il a également été cité à l'ordre du jour à l'égard de son service. Sa Majesté le Roi a en outre exprimé toute sa gratitude à l'égard des services qu'il a rendus. Cela s'est produit le 22 septembre 1945 et son père en a été avisé dans une lettre en date du 22 janvier 1948. Il a également reçu l'Étoile de 1939-1945, l'Étoile d'Italie, l'Étoile de la France et l'Étoile d'Allemagne, la Médaille de la Défense, la médaille de guerre de 1939-1945 et la Médaille canadienne du volontaire avec agrafe.

Décorations et titres honorifiques :

Cité à l'ordre du jour

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 28 février 1918
Beechy, Saskatchewan

Enrôlement :

le 1 septembre 1940
Dundurn Camp, Saskatchewan

Fils de Leroy et Winnifred Bellows, de Beechy, Saskatchewan. Il était célébitaire et fermier. Il fréquentait l'école de Neasden à Beechy, Saskatchewan. Il était le frère de Walter, Ralph, Lloyd, Frank, Ester et Doris.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 495 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page. Télécharger une copie haute résolution.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

IV. A. 13.

Emplacement :

Groesbeek est à 10 kilomètres au sud-est de la ville de Nimègue et près de la frontière allemande. Le cimetière de guerre canadien de Groesbeek est à 3 kilomètres au nord du village et à 1 500 mètres à l'est de la route principale de Nimègue. En sortant de l'autoroute A73 à l'intersection Overasselt - Mook - Groesbeek, suivez les panneaux en direction de Mook. Suivez les panneaux indiquant le cimetière de guerre de Mook. Après avoir dépassé ce cimetière, rendez-vous au village de Groesbeek jusqu'aux feux de circulation. Tournez alors à gauche sur la Dorpstraat, qui traverse Groesbeek. Le nom de la route devient ensuite Molenweg. Un panneau de la Commission annonce un virage à droite sur la Zeven Heuvelenweg. Après avoir conduit un kilomètre sur cette route, vous trouverez le cimetière de guerre canadien de Groesbeek du côté droit. On peut lire l'inscription suivante sur le Mémorial au Cimetière de guerre canadien de Groesbeek :
Pro amicis mortui amicis vivimus, Nous vivons dans les coeurs des amis pour lesquels nous sommes morts.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images

  • Photo de EDWARD LAWRENCE BELLOWS
  • Pierre tombale

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :