Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Joseph Edouard Jean Guy Arbour

In memory of
Pilot Officer
Joseph Edouard Jean Guy Arbour
May 13, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number:
J/87413
Age:
32
Force:
Air Force
Unit:
Royal Canadian Air Force
Division:
426 Squadron
Citation(s):
Croix de guerre et Palme.

Additional Information:

Son Joseph and Stephanie Arbour. His father was a dentist and his mother a nurse. Guy, as he was called, was their only child. Guy's father had served as an officer in the First World War, and he passed away in November 1943, while Guy was serving overseas. Guy grew up in Ste. Thérèse but later took commercial courses in Rhode Island and New York, from 1927-32. He was an avid sportsman, enjoying hockey, tennis, baseball, football, basketball, skiing, swimming, track and field, and canoeing. Guy returned to Quebec in 1934. During the Depression he worked sporadically, taking on various odd jobs. He performed bookkeeping and general office work before becoming a sporting goods salesman with the T. Eaton Co. in Montréal in 1938. In 1941, he joined Noorduyn Aviation.

One year later -- on June 9, 1942 -- he enlisted in the RCAF in Montréal. Guy received his air gunner wings in April 1943 and disembarked in the U.K. the following month. Overseas, he underwent further training programs, arriving at 426 Squadron on May 9, 1944 -- only days before the fateful mission. Guy was the mid-under gunner on LW 682/M. He was posthumously awarded the Croix de guerre l940 with Palm (Belgium) in July 1948.

Commemorated on Page 238 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
GERAARDSBERGEN (GRAMMONT) COMMUNAL CEMETERY , Belgium
Grave Reference:
Joint grave 4.
Location:
The town of Geraardsbergen is located south of the town of Aalst on the N42. From the motorway E40/A10, which runs between Oostende and Brussels, turn off at junction 17 onto the N42, direction Geraardsbergen. Follow this road to the town of Geraardsbergen and the junction with the N493. Turn right onto the N493, direction Parike, and the cemetery is along here on the right. The graves are located towards the centre of the cemetery.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • 426 Squadron and the Halifax LW682 – 426 Squadron and the Halifax LW 682
  • Biography

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Joseph Edouard Jean Guy Arbour

En mémoire

Sous-lieutenant d'aviation Joseph Edouard Jean Guy Arbour

13 mai 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

J/87413

Âge :

32

Force :

Aviation militaire

Unité :

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division :

426 Squadron

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Croix de guerre et Palme.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de Joseph, et Stéphanie. Son père était dentiste et sa mère, infirmière. Guy, comme on l'appelait, était leur seul enfant. Son père avait été officier au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il mourut en novembre 1943, tandis que Guy servait outre-mer. Guy grandit à Sainte-Thérèse, et plus tard, il suivit des cours commerciaux à Rhode Island et à New York, de 1927 à 1932. Il était un fervent amateur de sport. Il aimait le hockey, le tennis, le base-ball, le football, le basket-ball, le ski, la natation, l'athlétisme et le canot. Guy revint au Québec en 1934. Pendant la Dépression, il exerça mille et un métiers un peu partout. Il fit du travail de bureau et de tenue de livres avant de devenir vendeur d'articles de sport chez T. Eaton Co., à Montréal, en 1938. En 1941, il se joignit à la compagnie Noorduyn Aviation.

Un an plus tard, le 9 juin 1942, il s'enrôla dans le CARC, à Montréal. Guy reçut son insigne de mitrailleur d'aviation en avril 1943, et débarqua au Royaume-Uni le mois suivant. Pendant son service outre-mer, il suivit d'autres cours de formation, et arriva à l'escadrille 426, le 9 mai 1944, seulement quelques jours avant la mission fatale. Guy était mitrailleur à bord du LW 682/M. Il reçut la Croix de guerre de l940 avec palme (Belgique) à titre posthume, en juillet 1948.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 238 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE COMMUNAL DE GERAARDSBERGEN (GRAMMONT)
Belgique

Information sur la sépulture :

Joint grave 4.

Emplacement :

La ville de Geraardsbergen est située au sud de la ville d'Aalst au bord de la N42. On doit prendre l'autoroute E401A10 qui relie Oostende et Bruxelles et tourner à l'intersection 17 qui mène à la N42 en direction de Geraardspbergen. Suivez cette route jusqu'à la ville de Geraardsbergen et jusqu'à l'intersectio qui mène à la N493. Tournez à droite pour emprunter la N493 en direction de Parike. Le cimetière se trouve le long de cette route du côté droit. On retrouve les sépultures vers le milieu du cimetière.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial
  • Photo de JOSEPH EDOUARD JEAN GUY ARBOUR
  • Pierre tombale
  • Photo de JOSEPH EDOUARD JEAN GUY ARBOUR
  • Document
  • Le 426e Escadron et le Halifax LW 682
  • Biographie

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :