Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Frederick Glover

In memory of
Private
Frederick Glover
April 10, 1917

Military Service:

Service Number:
79576
Age:
25
Force:
Army
Unit:
Canadian Infantry (Alberta Regiment)
Division:
31st Bn.

Additional Information:

Son of Thomas and Emma (nee Rogers) Glover, of Gananoque, Ontario.

Commemorated on Page 244 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
ECOIVRES MILITARY CEMETERY ; Pas de Calais, France
Grave Reference:
V. F. 28.
Location:
Mont St Eloi is a village in the Department of the Pas-de-Calais, 8 kilometres north-west of Arras. The village stands on high ground overlooking the battlefields of Vimy and Souchez and the main Bethune-Arras road, and the ruined towers that rise from it were used as an observation post during the French attacks at Neuville-St Vaast and Givenchy in May 1915. Ecoivres is a hamlet lying at the foot of the hill, to the south-west and about 1.5 kilometres from Mont St Eloi on the Arras-St Pol line. The ECOIVRES MILITARY CEMETERY is on the D49 road.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Gananoque Remembers – Gananoque, Ontario is a small town situated on the St. Lawrence River in the heart of 1,000 Islands.  It is one of hundreds of communities throughout Canada with war memorials which commemorate more than 110,000 men and women who lost their lives during both world wars. Over a  thousand citizens from Gananoque and surounding areas served in the navy, army, or air force: 83 lost their lives in parts of Canada, and in the battlefields of Europe.  Among the dead of Gananoque include a 15 year old solider, a father of ten, four sets of brothers and a Victoria Cross winner. 

Today the town cenotaph lists the names of those who died and  few citizens are aware of their family backgrounds or their circumstances of their deaths. Geraldine Chase of Gannaoque and Bill Beswetherick of Kingston believed it was necessary to collect this information and perpetuate their sacrifices. 					

Gananoque Remembers book is a tribute to those who gave their lives for our freedom.
  • Memorial Page – Frederick Glover is honoured on page 65 and 66 of the Gananoque Remembers booklet, published on January 31, 2005.
  • Memorial Page 2
  • Gananoque War Memorial - Gananoque, Ontario.
  • Photo of Frederick Glover
  • Grave Marker – Photo courtesy of Wilf Schofield, England.
  • Memorial – Glover family grave marker at Gananoque Cemetery.
Photo courtesy Chris Andrew.
  • Photo of Frederick Glover

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Frederick Glover

En mémoire

Soldat Frederick Glover

10 avril 1917

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

79576

Âge :

25

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Canadian Infantry (Alberta Regiment)

Division :

31st Bn.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de Thomas et Emma (née Rogers) Glover, de Gananoque, Ontario.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 244 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE MILITAIRE D'ÉCOIVRES
Pas de Calais France

Information sur la sépulture :

V. F. 28.

Emplacement :

Mont-Saint-Éloi est un village du département du Pas-de-Calais situé à 8 kilomètres au nord-ouest d'Arras. Le village surplombe les champs de bataille de Vimy et de Souchez ainsi que la route principale qui mène de Béthune à Arras. Les tours en ruine qu'on peut apercevoir servaient de postes d'observation pendant les attaques françaises qui se sont déroulées à Neuville-Saint-Vaast et à Givenchy en mai 1915. Écoivres est un hameau au pied de la colline, à 1,5 kilomètre au sud-ouest de Mont-Saint-Éloi, sur la ligne Arras-Saint-Pol. Le cimetière se trouve sur la route D49.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Le Gananoque se souvient – La communauté de Gananoque est située sur la rive du fleuve Saint-Laurent au coeur des Milles-Îles en Ontario. Elle se classe parmi les centaines de communautés canadiennes qui ont construit des mémoriaux de guerre afin de rendre hommage aux plus de 100 000 hommes et femmes ayant perdu la vie durant les deux guerres mondiales. Plus de mille originaires de Gananoque et des environs ont servi dans la marine, dans l'armée ou dans la force aérienne; 83 d'entre eux ont perdu la vie au Canada ou sur les champs de bataille en Europe, y compris un soldat âgé de 15 ans, un père de dix enfants, quatre groupes de frères et un récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria.

Aujourd'hui, bien que le cénotaphe communautaire liste les noms de ceux et celles qui ont perdu la vie, il n'y a que peu de citoyens qui connaissent les histoire de leurs familles et les circonstances de leurs décès. Geraldine Chase, qui réside à Gananoque, et Bill Beswetherick, qui réside à Kingston, estimaient qu'il était nécessaire de recueillir cette information et de perpétuer le souvenir des sacrifices consentis par les résidents de la communauté durant les guerres.

Le livre intitulé Gananoque Remembers rend hommage à ceux et celles qui ont donné leur vie pour protéger notre liberté.
  • Page Commémoratif – Cet hommage rendu à Frederick Glover figure sur les page 65 à 66 du livret « Gananoque Remembers », publié le 31 janvier 2005.31 janvier 2005.
  • 2e Page Commémoratif
  • Photo de Frederick Glover
  • Pierre Tombale
  • Monument
  • Photo de Frederick Glover

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :