Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger

In memory of
Corporal
Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger
October 2, 2003
Kabul, Afghanistan

Military Service:

Age:
29
Force:
Army
Unit:
The Royal Canadian Regiment
Citation(s):
Sacrifice Medal (posthumous)

Additional Information:

Born:
April 28, 1974 Ottawa, Ontario
Enlistment:
March 5, 1997

Son of Wilhelmina Beerenfenger-Koehler (2007 National Memorial (Silver) Cross Mother) of Embrun, Ontario.

Corporal Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger, of the 3rd Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment from CFB Petawawa, was killed on duty near Kabul, Afghanistan, on October 2, 2003. He was on patrol in an Iltis jeep when it ran over an explosive device of an unknown type. He was 29 years old.

An explosion, believed to have been tripped by the Iltis vehicle in which he was on patrol, also killed Sergeant Robert Short. Both were serving with the 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment Battle Group as part of Operation ATHENA, Canada's military commitment to the International Security Assistance Force, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization - led mission in Kabul.

Corporal Beerenfenger was born in Ottawa in 1974 and was a graduate of North Dundas High School. He married his wife Christina in May of 2000 and had three children, Matthew, Kristopher and Madison.

Commemorated on Page 216 of the In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Personal sketch of fallen comrade
  • Photo of Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger – Corporal Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger, serving with 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment (3 RCR) Battalion Group, in Kabul, Afghanistan.  Photo: MCpl. Brian Walsh 3 RCR Battalion Group Photographer
  • OP Athena Plaque – OP Athena plaque commemorating Sgt R.A. Short and Cpl R.C. Beerenfenger.
  • Dedication – Dr. Howard Harper (left), Major Jamie Morse and Joe Gooding tour the Noor Eye and Burn Clinic, Afghanistan's only children's burn clinic on Feb 5, 2004 at Kabul, Afghanistan. The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) helped fund the new clinic. Dr. Howard Harper (left) the Director of the Noor Eye and Burn Clinic, and Major Jamie Morse, Deputy Commanding Officer of the Third Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment Battalion Group (3 RCR Bn Gp) and Mr. Joe Gooding from the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), tour the Noor Burn Clinic in Kabul, Afghanistan. The clinic, partially funded by CIDA, was dedicated to the memory of Cpl Robbie Beerenfenger, a member of Parachute Company, 3 RCR Bn Gp, who was killed when the Iltis in which he was travelling struck a landmine on Oct 2, 2003. The clinic will will be the only pediatric burn clinic in Afghanistan.  Photo MCpl Brian Walsh
  • Memorial – Chief Warrant Officer Steve Bartlett, Task Force Afghanistan's Regimental 
Sergeant Major takes time to reflect on the fallen. A consecration ceremony was held of the Memorial dedicated to those Canadians who gave their lives in the service of peace while serving in Afghanistan. This Memorial was 
originally consecrated in November 2003 at Camp Julien, Kabul. The closure of Camp Julien in November 2005 necessitated the move of the Memorial to its present location at Kandahar Airfield, Afghanistan.  Photo taken on February 21, 2006 by: Master Corporal Ken Fenner, Task Force Afghanistan Photographer
  • Memorial – Cpl Robbie Beerenfenger and Sgt Robert Short were honoured during a community memorial service held October 7 at The Pembroke Memorial Centre, Pembroke Ont. 
source DND
  • Remembrance Day 2007 – Prime Minister, The Honourable Stephen Harper, Governor General, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Canada's Top Soldier Chief of Defence Staff General Rick Hillier, the 2007 Silver Cross Mother Mrs. Wilhelmina Beerenfenger-Koehler, Mother of fallen soldier Corporal Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger, who died in Kabul, Afghanistan on the 2nd of October 2003, were guests of honour and layed wreaths at the National War Memorial in Ottawa on the 11th of November 2007.  Visitors from all over Canada placed their poppies on the Tomb and paid their respects to the serving and fallen soldiers.  A photograph of fallen Canadian soldier Private Mark Anthony Graham sits on top of the Unknown Soldier Tomb.  Photo by: Cpl Marcie Lane, CFSU(O) Photo Services.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger

En mémoire

Caporal Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger

2 octobre 2003

Kabul, Afghanistan

Service militaire


Âge :

29

Force :

Armée

Unité :

The Royal Canadian Regiment

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

La Médaille du Sacrifice (posthume)

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 28 avril 1974
Ottawa, Ontario

Enrôlement :

le 5 mars 1997

Fils de Wilhelmina Beerenfenger-Koehler (La Mère de la Croix du Souvenir (Croix d’argent) de 2007) d'Embrun, Ontario.

Le Caporal Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger, du 3e Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment de la BFC Petawawa, a été tué se service près de Kaboul, en Afghanistan, le 2 octobre 2003. Il patrouillait à bord de son jeep Iltis lorsqu’il a roulé sur un engin explosif. Il était âgé de 29 ans.

L’explosion a aussi tué le Sergent Robert Short. Les deux militaires faisaient partie du groupement tactique du 3e Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment et prenaient part à l’Opération ATHENA, l’engagement militaire du Canada à la Force internationale d'assistance à la sécurité, une mission menée par l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord dans la région de Kaboul.

Le Caporal Beerenfenger est né à Ottawa en 1974 a gradué de l’école North Dundas High School. Il s’est marié à Tina en mai 2000 et avait trois enfants, Matthew, Kristopher et Madison.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 216 du Livre du Souvenir 'Au service du Canada'. Commander une copie de cette page.

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Photo de Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger – Le Caporal Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger, servant avec le 3e batallion, The Royal Canadian Regiment (3 RCR) Battalion Group, à Kabul, en Afghanistan. Photo : Caporal-chef Brian Walsh photographe de 3 RCR Battalion Group
  • Plaque OP d'Athena – Plaque OP d'Athena en commémoration du Sergent R.A. Short et le Caporal R.C. Beerenfenger.
  • Dédicace – Le Dr Howard Harper (à gauche), le major Jamie Morse et Joe Gooding en tournée de la clinique d'ophtalmologie et pour brûlés Noor, la seule clinique pour enfants brûlés d'Afghanistan, le 5 février 2004 à Kaboul, Afghanistan. L'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) a aidé à financer la nouvelle clinique. Le Dr Howard Harper (à gauche), directeur de la clinique, le major Jamie Morse, commandant adjoint du 3e groupe-bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment, et M. Joe Gooding, de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), font la tournée de la clinique d'ophtalmologie et pour brûlés Noor à Kaboul, Afghanistan. La clinique, partiellement financée par l'ACDI, a été dédiée à la mémoire du caporal Robbie Beerenfenger, un membre de la compagnie de parachutistes du 3e groupe-bataillon du RCR, tué lorsque le véhicule Iltis à bord duquel il se trouvait a heurté une mine le 2 octobre 2003. La clinique est la seule clinique pédiatrique pour brûlés d'Afghanistan. Photo du cplc Brian Walsh.
  • Monument – L'Adjudant-chef Steve Bartlett, Sergent-major de régiment de la Force opérationnelle en Afghanistan, se recueille à la mémoire des disparus. Une cérémonie de consécration a eu lieu au monument commémoratif érigé aux Canadiens ayant donné leur vie au service de la paix, en Afghanistan. Ce monument commémoratif a été inauguré en novembre 2003, au camp Julien, Kaboul. La fermeture du camp Julien, en novembre 2005, a nécessité le déplacement du monument là où il est présentement, à l'aérodrome de Kandahar, en Afghanistan.  Photo prise le 21 février 2006 par le Caporal-chef Ken Fenner, photographe, Force opérationnelle en Afghanistan.
  • Mémorial – La mémoire du Caporal Robbie Beerenfenger et du Sergent Robert Short a été honorée à l'occasion d'un service commémoratif tenu le 7 octobre au centre Pembroke Memorial, à Pembroke, en Ontario. 
source : MDN
  • Photo de Robbie Beerenfenger – Le premier ministre, l'honorable Stephen Harper, la gouverneure générale, Son Excellence, la très honorable Michaëlle Jean, le Général Rick Hillier, Chef d'état-major de la Défense, et madame Wilhelmina Beerenfenger-Koehler, Mère de la Croix d'argent ayant perdu son fils le Caporal Robbie Christopher Beerenfenger, mort à Kabul, en Afghanistan, le 2 octobre 2003, étaient les invités d'honneur. Ils sont venus déposer des couronnes au pied du Monument commémoratif de guerre, à Ottawa, le 11 novembre 2007.  Les visiteurs de partout au Canada ont déposé des coquelicots sur la Tombe et rendu hommage aux soldats en service et aux soldats morts au combat. Une photo de soldat Mark Anthony Graham, un soldat canadien mort au combat, est sur la Tombe du Soldat inconnu. Photo : Caporal Marcie Lane, services photographies de l'USFC(O).

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :