Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Darrell Jason Priede

In memory of
Master Corporal
Darrell Jason Priede
May 30, 2007
Afghanistan

Military Service:

Age:
30
Force:
Air Force
Unit:
Air Operations Branch
Division:
Land Force Atlantic Area Headquarters (LFAA HQ)
Citation(s):
Sacrifice Medal (posthumous)

Additional Information:

Born:
April 2, 1977 Burlington, Ontario

Son of Roxanne Marie Priede (2012 National Memorial (Silver) Cross Mother) of Grand Forks, British Columbia. Brother of Denise Priede. Husband of Angela Dawn Priede.

Master Corporal Darrell Jason Priede, a military image technician serving with the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) Regional Command (South) headquartered at Kandahar Airfield, was killed when the Chinook helicopter he was a passenger in crashed in Kajaki, Helmand Province, Afghanistan, on May 30, 2007.

Darrell was born in 1977 in Burlington, Ontario. Two years later, the Priede family moved to Greenwood and later Grand Forks, British Columbia, where he graduated from the Grand Forks Secondary School. In 1996, he joined the Canadian Armed Forces where he served as a gunner in the Royal Canadian Artillery and two tours in Bosnia. After his second tour, he transferred to the Air Force where he served as a photographer. He was killed in a helicopter crash in Afghanistan during Operation Athena a military offensive against the Taliban. He had been serving in Afghanistan a little more than one month before the helicopter crash.

Master Corporal Priede is survived by his wife, Angela Dawn (Mitchell) Priede, with whom he had just marked his four-year anniversary (May 14, 2003) before his passing. He was 30 years old and the 56th Canadian soldier to be killed in Afghanistan.

In honour of Master Corporal Priede, the Canadian Armed Forces have instituted the Master Corporal Darrell J. Priede Top Candidate Award for the seven-week Army News Course which began in the fall of 2007.

Commemorated on Page 225 of the In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
FREDERICTON (FOREST HILL) CEMETERY ; New Brunswick, Canada
Grave Reference:
N/A

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of Darrell Jason Priede – Master Corporal Darrell Jason Priede, a military Imagery Technician serving with the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) Regional Command (South) Headquarters at Kandahar Airfield, was killed when the helicopter in which he was a passenger went down at approximately 9 p.m. Kandahar time on May 30, 2007 near the town of Kajaki, Helmand Province, about 95 kms northwest of Kandahar City.  Master Corporal Priede was a member of the Army News Team from 3 Area Support Group, based at Canadian Forces Base Gagetown, New Brunswick.  Photo: Canadian Forces Image Gallery

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email
VAC.CVWM-MVGC.ACC@vac-acc.gc.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Darrell Jason Priede

En mémoire

Caporal-chef Darrell Jason Priede

30 mai 2007

Afghanistan

Service militaire


Âge :

30

Force :

Aviation militaire

Unité :

Air Operations Branch

Division :

Land Force Atlantic Area Headquarters (LFAA HQ)

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

La Médaille du Sacrifice (posthume)

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 2 avril 1977
Burlington, Ontario

Fils de Roxanne Marie Priede (La Mère de la Croix du Souvenir (Croix d’argent) de 2012) de Grand Forks, Colombie-Britannique. Frère de Denise Priede. Époux d'Angela Dawn Priede.

Le caporal-chef Darrell Jason Priede, un technicien en imagerie militaire qui servait au Quartier général du commandement régional (Sud) de la Force internationale d’assistance à la sécurité à l’aérodrome de Kandahar, a été tué lorsque l’hélicoptère Chinook dans lequel il était passager s’est écrasé à Kajaki, dans la province Helmand en Afghanistan, le 30 mai 2007.

Darrell Priede est né en 1977 à Burlington, en Ontario. Deux ans plus tard, la famille Priede est déménagée à Greenwood et ensuite à Grand Forks, en Colombie-Britannique, où Darrell a obtenu son diplôme à l’école secondaire Grand Forks. En 1996, il s’est enrôlé dans les Forces armées canadiennes où il a servi à titre d’artilleur de l’Artillerie royale canadienne et a complété deux périodes de service en Bosnie. Après sa deuxième période de service, il est passé à l’Aviation royale canadienne pour devenir photographe. Il a péri dans un écrasement d’hélicoptère en Afghanistan au cours de l’opération Athena – une mission militaire offensive contre les Talibans. Il a servi pendant un peu plus d’un mois avant de mourir dans l’écrasement de l’hélicoptère.

Caporal-chef Priede laisse dans le deuil son épouse, Angela Dawn (Mitchell) Priede, avec qui il venait tout juste de célébrer leur quatrième anniversaire (14 mai 2003). Il avait 30 ans et était le 56e soldat canadien à perdre la vie en Afghanistan.

En hommage au Caporal-chef Priede, les Forces armées canadiennes ont institué le Prix Caporal-chef Darrell J. Priede remis au premier de classe du cours de sept semaines Les Nouvelles de l’Armée qui a débuté à l’automne 2007.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 225 du Livre du Souvenir 'Au service du Canada'. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE DE FREDERICTON (FOREST HILL)
New Brunswick Canada

Information sur la sépulture :

N/A

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Darrell Jason Priede – Le Caporal-chef Darrell Jason Priede, un technicien en imagerie servant avec le quartier général du commandement régional (Sud) de la Force internationale d'assistance à la sécurité (FIAS), au terrain d'aviation de Kandahar, a été tué lorsque l'hélicoptère dans lequel il était passager s'est écrasé vers 21h00, heure Kandahar, le 30 mai près de Kajaki, dans la province de Helmand, à environ 95 km au nord-ouest de la ville de Kandahar. Le Caporal-chef Priede faisait partie de l'équipe des nouvelles de l'armée du 3e groupe de soutien de secteur à la base des Forces canadiennes Gagetown au Nouveau-Brunswick.  Photo: Banque d'images des Forces canadiennes

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :