Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Charles-Philippe Michaud

In memory of:

Master Corporal Charles-Philippe Michaud

July 4, 2009

Panjwayi District, Afghanistan

Military Service


Age:

28

Force:

Army

Unit:

Royal 22e Régiment

Citation(s):

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Medal for Kosovo, General Campaign Star-International Security Assistance Force, Canadian Peacekeeping Service Medal, Sacrifice Medal (Posthumous).

Additional Information


Born:

March 29, 1981
Bathurst, New Brunswick

Enlistment:

September 12, 2000
Quebec City, Québec

Son of Conrad Michaud and Gisèle Michaud (2014 National Memorial (Silver) Cross Mother) of Edmundston, New Brunswick. Brother of Denis Michaud. Common-law spouse of Alexandra Gagné-Couture, of L'Ancienne-Lorette, Quebec.

Information courtesy of the Royal Canadian Legion:
Master Corporal Michaud was mortally wounded after stepping on an improvised explosive device while on patrol in the Panjwayi District, southwest of Kandahar City, Afghanistan on June 23, 2009. He was transported to a Québec City hospital on June 28, 2009 and passed away on July 4 of that same year.

He was a member of the 2nd Battalion Royal 22e Régiment based out of Valcartier, Quebec. Born in 1981, he joined the Canadian Armed Forces in 2000. He served in Bosnia in 2002, receiving the North Atlantic Treaty Organization Medal for Kosovo, and in Lithuania in 2003, receiving the Canadian Peacekeeping Service Medal.

Master Corporal Michaud served two tours in Afghanistan. He first served in Kabul in 2004, receiving the General Campaign Star-International Security Assistance Force. Master Corporal Michaud arrived in Kandahar for his second tour of duty in April 2009. He was 28 years old and the 122nd fallen soldier from Canada’s mission in Afghanistan.

Called Chuck by his friends, Master Corporal Michaud dreamed of being a soldier throughout his youth. He is remembered as a mentor to his fellow troops and a model soldier. He was an avid hockey player and loved playing guitar and the saxophone.

Commemorated on Page 234 of the In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:

EDMUNDSTON (NOTRE DAME DES SEPT DOULEURS)CEMETERY
New Brunswick, Canada

Grave Reference:

N/A

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of Charles Philippe Michaud

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Charles-Philippe Michaud

En mémoire

Caporal-chef Charles-Philippe Michaud

4 juillet 2009

Panjwayi District, Afghanistan

Service militaire


Âge :

28

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Royal 22e Régiment

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Médaille de l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord pour le Kosovo,Étoile de campagne générale (ÉCG)-Force internationale d'assistance de securité, La Médaille canadienne du maintien de la paix (MCMP), La Médaille du sacrifice (Posthume)

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 29 mars 1981
Bathurst, Nouveau-Brunswick

Enrôlement :

le 12 septembre 2000
Quebec City, Québec

Fils de Conrad Michaud et Gisèle Michaud (La Mère nationale de la Croix du Souvenir (Croix d’argent) de 2014) d'Edmundston, Nouveau Brunswick. Frère de Denis Michaud. Conjoint de fait d'Alexandra Gagné-Couture de L'Ancienne-Lorette, Québec.

Le caporal-chef Charles-Philippe Michaud fut mortellement blessé suite à la détonation d’un engin explosif improvisé au cours d’une patrouille à pied dans le district de Panjwayi, au sud-ouest de la ville de Kandahar, le 23 juin 2009. Rapatrié dans un hôpital de la ville de Québec le 28 juin 2009, il succombait à ses blessures quelques jours plus tard le 4 juillet.

Il faisait partie du 3e Bataillon du Royal 22e Régiment établi à Valcartier, au Québec. Né en 1981, il s’est enrôlé en 2000. Il a servi en Bosnie en 2002, recevant la Médaille de l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN) avec barrette « Kosovo », puis en Lituanie en 2003, recevant la Médaille canadienne du maintien de la paix.

Le caporal-chef Michaud a été affecté deux fois en Afghanistan. Lors de sa première mission à Kabul en 2004, il a reçu la Médaille de campagne générale – Force internationale d’assistance à la sécurité. En avril 2009, le Caporal-chef Michaud arrivait à Kandahar pour sa seconde mission. Au moment de son décès, il avait 28 ans, le 122ième soldat canadien mort au combat en Afghanistan.

Surnommé « Chuck » par ses amis, le Caporal-chef Michaud rêvait en grandissant de devenir soldat. On se souvient de lui comme un mentor auprès de ses collègues et un soldat exemplaire. Il était un fervent joueur de hockey et aimait jouer de la guitare et du saxophone.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 234 du Livre du Souvenir 'Au service du Canada'. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE D'EDMUNDSTON (NOTRE-DAME-DES-SEPT-DOULEURS)
New Brunswick Canada

Information sur la sépulture :

N/A

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Charles Philippe Michaud

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :