Cross of Sacrifice

Hidden photo gallery

  • front
    (Click for more images)
  • back inscription
  • surroundings

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial Number: 35061-004

Type: Granite cross and base

Address: 280 Beechwood Avenue

Location: Beechwood Cemetery, National Military Cemetery, Section 27

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.4480473   Long: -75.6588916

Contributor: Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Photo Credit: Timothy A. Graham

The Commonwealth War Graves Commission installed a Cross of Sacrifice in 1957 in Beechwood Cemetery in Ottawa, Ontario. The Cross of Sacrifice, designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield in 1918, is one of two iconic features designed by Commonwealth War Graves Commission architects. Crosses of Sacrifice are found around the world in Commission cemeteries and in public cemeteries, such as Beechwood, where there is a concentration of War Dead. There are over 210 War Dead buried in Beechwood Cemetery alongside thousands of Veterans.

The Cross of Sacrifice at Beechwood is located in the centre of the Field of Honour in Section 27 where War Dead and Veterans are buried. In 1958, the Commission installed the Cremation Memorial in a rock garden adjacent to Section 27 where 31 War Dead are commemorated. A ceremony to dedicate the Cross of Sacrifice and Cremation Memorial was held in May 1959.

The Cross of Sacrifice in Beechwood Cemetery is one of 26 installed by the Commission across Canada.

Canada's military community has been burying its members throughout Beechwood Cemetery for more than 100 years. In 2007, Section 27, along with Section 103 and the military plots in Sections 29 and 19 were developed into Canada's National Military Cemetery.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[back/arrière]

"TO THE HONOURED MEMORY OF THOSE SAILORS, SOLDIERS AND AIRMEN WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES FOR THEIR COUNTRY IN TWO WORLD WARS AND WHO LIE BURIED IN THIS CEMETERY"

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Croix du Sacrifice

Hidden photo gallery

  • devant
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • inscription de l'arrière
  • alentours

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35061-004

Type : Croix et base en granit

Adresse : 280, avenue Beechwood

Lieu : Cimetière Beechwood, Cimetière militaire national du Canada, section 27

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.4480473   Long: -75.6588916

Collaborateur : Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Photo fournie par : Timothy A. Graham

En 1957, la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth a installé une Croix du Sacrifice au cimetière Beechwood à Ottawa, en Ontario. La croix, conçue par sir Reginald Blomfield en 1918, était l’une des deux conceptions emblématiques des architectes de la Commission. On peut trouver des croix du sacrifice partout dans le monde dans les cimetières de la Commission et dans les cimetières publics, comme le cimetière Beechwood, où de nombreux morts de guerre reposent. Il y a plus de 210 morts de guerre enterrés dans le cimetière Beechwood aux côtés de milliers de vétérans.

La Croix du Sacrifice du cimetière Beechwood est située au centre du champ d’honneur, dans la section 27, où les morts de guerre et les vétérans sont enterrés. En 1958, la Commission a érigé le Monument commémoratif d’incinération dans un jardin de rocailles à côté de la section 27, où 31 morts de guerre sont honorés. L’inauguration de la Croix du Sacrifice et du Monument commémoratif d’incinération a eu lieu en mai 1959.

Cette Croix du Sacrifice fait partie des 26 croix installées par la Commission au Canada.

La communauté militaire du Canada enterre ses membres dans le cimetière Beechwood depuis plus de 100 ans. En 2007, la section 27, la section 103 et les lots militaires dans les sections 19 et 29 ont été désignés en tant que Cimetière militaire national du Canada.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[back/arrière]

"TO THE HONOURED MEMORY OF THOSE SAILORS, SOLDIERS AND AIRMEN WHO GAVE THEIR LIVES FOR THEIR COUNTRY IN TWO WORLD WARS AND WHO LIE BURIED IN THIS CEMETERY"

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :