National Military Cemetery

Hidden photo gallery

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial Number: 35059-294

Type: Cemetery

Address: 280 Beechwood Avenue

Location: Beechwood Cemetery

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 42.446909   Long: -75.6593454

Contributor: Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Located in Ottawa, Beechwood Cemetery became the home of Canada's National Military Cemetery (NMC) in 2007. The NMC encompasses four sections of Beechwood and was established through a partnership between the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, Veterans Affairs Canada, the Department of National Defence, and Beechwood Cemetery.  

The military plots in Sections 19 and 29 were used during and after the First World War and military burials continued in Section 27 throughout and following the Second World War. In 1958 the Commonwealth War Graves Commission erected a Cross of Sacrifice and shelter building with the Cremation Memorial in Section 27. The Department of National Defence (Canadian Forces) opened section 103 in 2001. This section is dedicated to the memory of Canadian service personnel who honourably served their country in war and peace, at home and abroad, and are now at rest.

A large bronze plaque was unveiled at the NMC opening ceremony with the following inscription:

"Canada's National Military Cemetery, dedicated on 13 September 2007, is a partnership amongst the Beechwood Cemetery Foundation, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission, the Department of National Defence and Veterans Affairs Canada. This cemetery brings together all those who rest here who died on active service, whose death was related to service, or who served honourably and chose to rest amongst their comrades in these sacred grounds."

There are memorials throughout the NMC, including the Cross of Sacrifice, Cremation Memorial, National Military Cemetery Memorial, and Tri-Service Memorial.

 

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[sign/signe]

National Military Cemetery

Le cimetière militaire national

 

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Cimetière militaire national

Hidden photo gallery

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35059-294

Type : Cimetière

Adresse : 280, avenue Beechwood

Lieu : Cimetière Beechwood

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 42.446909   Long: -75.6593454

Collaborateur : Commonwealth War Graves Commission

Situé à Ottawa, le cimetière Beechwood est devenu le cimetière militaire national du Canada en 2007. Le cimetière comprend quatre sections de Beechwood et a été établi grâce à un partenariat entre la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth, Anciens Combattants Canada, le ministère de la Défense nationale et la Fondation du cimetière Beechwood.

Les parcelles militaires des sections 19 et 29 ont été utilisées pendant et après la Première Guerre mondiale et les enterrements militaires se sont poursuivis dans la section 27 pendant et après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En 1958, la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth a érigé une Croix du Sacrifice et un bâtiment abritant le Monument commémoratif d’incinération dans la section 27. Le ministère de la Défense nationale (Forces armées canadiennes) a ouvert la section 103 en 2001. Cette section est dédiée à la mémoire des militaires canadiens qui ont honorablement servi leur pays en temps de guerre et de paix, au pays et à l’étranger, et qui reposent maintenant en paix.

Une grande plaque de bronze portant l’inscription suivante a été dévoilée lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture du cimetière :

« Le Cimetière militaire national du Canada, inauguré le 13 septembre 2007, est un partenariat entre la Fondation du cimetière Beechwood, la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth, le ministère de la Défense nationale et Anciens Combattants Canada. Ce cimetière réunit ceux qui sont morts en service, dont la mort est liée au service militaire ou qui ont servi leur pays honorablement et qui ont choisi d’être inhumés aux côtés de leurs camarades dans ces lieux sacrés. »

Il y a des monuments commémoratifs dans l’ensemble du cimetière Beechwood, y compris la Croix du Sacrifice, le Monument commémoratif d’incinération, le monument du cimetière militaire national et le monument commémoratif aux trois armées des Forces armées canadiennes.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[sign/signe]

National Military Cemetery

Le cimetière militaire national

 

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :