The Canadian Phalanx

Hidden photo gallery

  • sculpture (north side)
    (Click for more images)
  • sculpture
  • sculpture (north side)
  • sculpture (north side)

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial Number: 35059-015

Type: Granite sculpture

Address: 284 Wellington Street

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.41965   Long: -75.70575

During the first World War, a committee headed by Lord Beaverbrook commissioned a vast collection of documentary art to commemorate Canada's participation in the war. Given as a gift to Canada in 1920, the Canadian War Memorial collection includes the marble relief entitled "The Canadian Phalanx" by the Yugoslavian sculptor, Ivan Mestrovic. The granite architecture frame in which it was set was designed by D.A. Topolski in 1972. (City of Ottawa Archives)

The three and one-half tonne stone panel is almost three metres long and two metres high. The National Capital Region architect B.A. Topolski designed the relief's grey granite frame, reminiscent of the towering pylons of the Canadian Memorial at Vimy Ridge.

The Canadian Phalanx is located at the Memorial Buildings and Arch.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

no inscription/aucune inscription

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

La Phalange canadienne

Hidden photo gallery

  • sculpture (côté nord)
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • sculpture
  • sculpture (côté nord)
  • sculpture (côté nord)

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35059-015

Type : Sculpture en granit

Adresse : 284, rue Wellington

Lieu : Sur la rue Lyon, entre l’Édifice commémoratif ouest et l’Édifice commémoratif est

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.4196827   Long: -75.7055321

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, un comité présidé par lord Beaverbrook a commandé une importante collection d’art documentaire visant à commémorer la participation du Canada à la guerre. La collection « Souvenirs de guerre canadiens », remise au Canada en 1920, inclut le bas-relief de marbre intitulé « The Canadian Phalanx » (La Phalange canadienne), réalisé par le sculpteur yougoslave Ivan Mestrovic. Le cadre architectural en granit dans lequel a été placée l’œuvre a été créée en 1972 par D.A. Topolski. (Archives de la Ville d’Ottawa)

Le panneau de pierre pèse trois tonnes et demie et mesure près de trois mètres de long et deux mètres de haut. L'encadrement en granit gris, qui rappelle les majestueux pylônes du Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, a été conçu par M. B.A. Topolski, un architecte de la région de la Capitale nationale.

 

 

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

no inscription/aucune inscription

Vue sur la rue

Les cartes pourraient être disponibles en anglais seulement.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :