Canadian National Vimy Memorial

The Canadian National Vimy Memorial honours all Canadians who served during the First World War. The Memorial bears the names of those who died in France with no known grave. It is located at the site of Canada’s victory during the Battle of Vimy Ridge.

Givenchy-en-Gohelle, Pas de Calais, France

Share:

First World War


Visitor Information

Chemin des Canadiens, Givenchy-en-Gohelle, Hauts-de-France 62580, France

The Canadian National Vimy Memorial is always open to the public free of charge.

Student Guides are available to provide interpretation when our Visitor Centre is open:

April 1 — September 30

Tuesday - Sunday:
10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Monday:
12:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

October 1 — March 31

Tuesday - Sunday:
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Monday:
11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Vimy Memorial

Self-guided tour brochure and map

Open PDF

A tribute to sacrifice

In 1920, the Canadian Battlefields Memorials Commission was established to oversee creation of eight Canadian battlefield memorials in France and Belgium. The most impressive is the majestic and inspiring Canadian National Vimy Memorial. With a wealth of symbolism in its sculptures, it is a lasting tribute to the ultimate sacrifice Canadians made in Europe in the First World War.

Canada Bereft Statue

Designer with a dream

Walter S. Allward. Walter S. Allward Collection. Library and Archives Canada/National Gallery of Canada.

The monument was designed by Canadian architect and sculptor, Walter Seymour Allward. He said his inspiration for the monument came to him in a dream. His design was selected from 160 others in a competition held in the early 1920s. Work began on the monument in 1925. Eleven years later, on July 26, 1936, it was unveiled by King Edward VIII.

Design and symbolism

Resting on a bed of 15,000 tonnes of concrete, its pylons and sculptured figures contain almost 6,000 tonnes of Croatian limestone. Towering 27 metres above the base of the monument, the two pylons represent Canada and France – two nations beset by war and united to fight for a common goal – peace and freedom for the Allied nations.

Men on steel reinforcements for concrete for central pylons of Vimy Memorial. National Gallery of Canada.

Twenty symbolic figures grace the monument. The topmost – that of Peace – is approximately 110 metres above. Arranged below are other figures representing Justice, Truth, Knowledge, Gallantry and Sympathy. The largest figure, a mourning figure known as Canada Bereft, was carved from a single 30‑tonne block. Head bowed in sorrow, she provides a powerful representation of Canada, a young nation grieving her dead. Overlooking the Douai Plain, she gazes down upon a symbolic tomb draped in laurel branches and bearing a helmet and sword.


A place of honour

Carved on the walls of the monument are the names of 11,285 Canadian soldiers who died in France and whose final resting place was then unknown. At the base of the Memorial, these words appear in French and in English:

TO THE VALOUR OF THEIR COUNTRYMEN IN THE GREAT WAR AND IN MEMORY OF THEIR SIXTY THOUSAND DEAD THIS MONUMENT IS RAISED BY THE PEOPLE OF CANADA

An inspiration for peace

Unveiling of Canada's National Memorial at Vimy Ridge. Pilgrims gather in front of the Monument after the ceremony. Library and Archives Canada.

The site of a significant and historic event, the Canadian National Vimy Memorial stands as a tribute to all Canadians who served during the First World War. It should also inspire us to work toward lasting peace, for which those commemorated here gave their lives.


Classroom materials

Classroom materials main page

Lesson plan: Ages 5-7

Combat Boots

Lesson plan: Ages 12–18

"The Battle of Vimy Ridge"

Date modified:

Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy

Le Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy rend hommage à tous ceux qui ont servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il porte les noms des soldats morts en France qui n’ont pas de tombe. Il a été construit sur le site de la victoire du Canada pendant la bataille de la crête de Vimy.

Le 26 juillet 1936

Partager :

La Première Guerre mondiale


Information pour les visiteurs

Route D55, Chemin des canadiens, 62580 Givenchy-en-Gohelle, France

Le Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy est toujours ouvert au public gratuitement.

Les guides étudiants sont disponibles pour offrir des services d'interprétation lorsque le centre d'accueil est ouvert :

Du 1eravril au 30 septembre

Lundi - de 12 h à 18 h

Du mardi au dimanche - de 10 h à 18 h

Du 1eroctobre au 31 mars

Lundi - de 11 h à 17 h

Du mardi au dimanche - de 9 h à 17 h

Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy

Dépliant et carte pour visite autonome

Ouvrir PDF

Un hommage aux sacrifices

En 1920, la Commission des monuments des champs de bataille nationaux a été mise sur pied pour superviser l’érection de huit monuments commémoratifs sur des champs de bataille en France et en Belgique. Le plus impressionnant est le Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy, un monument majestueux et inspirant. Grande richesse symbolique des sculptures, c’est un hommage permanent au service et aux sacrifices consentis par les Canadiens pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Statue « Le Canada en deuil »

Concepteur ayant un rêve

Walter S. Allward. Collection Walter S. Allward. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

C’est Walter Seymour Allward, un architecte et sculpteur canadien, qui a conçu le monument. Il dit avoir trouvé l’inspiration pour le monument dans un rêve. Son projet a été choisi parmi les 160 soumis par des Canadiens lors d’un concours tenu au début des années 1920. Le monument, dont l’érection a débuté en 1925, a été dévoilé 11 ans plus tard, le 26 juillet 1936, par le roi Édouard VIII.

Conception et symbolisme

Le monument repose sur un lit d’environ 15 000 tonnes de béton. Presque 6 000 tonnes d’une pierre calcaire de la Croatie ont été utilisées pour construire ses personnages sculptés et ses pylônes qui s’élèvent à 27 mètres au dessus de la base du monument. Les deux pylônes représentent le Canada et la France – deux pays assaillis par la guerre et unis dans le combat pour un but commun – la paix et la liberté pour les pays alliés.

Ouvriers sur l'armature d'acier des pylônes de béton centraux du Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy. Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Vingt personnages ornent le monument. Le plus élevé, celui de la Paix, est à environ 110 mètres au dessus. En dessous, d’autres personnages assemblés représentent la Justice, la Vérité, la Connaissance, la Vaillance et la Compassion. Le plus imposant, un personnage affligé appelé « Le Canada en deuil », a été taillé dans un bloc de 30 tonnes. La tête penchée vers le sol et le regard triste, cette dame en deuil offre une puissante représentation du Canada, une jeune nation qui pleure ses morts. Surplombant la plaine de Douai, son regard est dirigé vers un tombeau symbolique au dessous d’elle, tendu de branches de laurier, sur lequel reposent un casque et une épée.


Une place d'honneur

Sur les murs qui ceinturent le monument sont gravés les noms des 11 285 soldats canadiens tués en France, sans sépulture connue. Sur le socle du Mémorial, sont gravés dans la pierre, en français et en anglais, les mots suivants :

À LA VAILLANCE DE SES FILS PENDANT LA GRANDE GUERRE, ET EN MÉMOIRE DE SES SOIXANTE MILLE MORTS, LE PEUPLE CANADIEN A ÉLEVÉ CE MONUMENT

Une inspiration pour la paix

Dévoilement du Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy – pèlerins rassemblés devant le monument après la cérémonie. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Emplacement d’un événement important et historique, le Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy rend hommage à tous les Canadiens qui ont servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il devrait aussi nous inciter à œuvrer en faveur de cette paix durable pour laquelle ceux dont on honore ici la mémoire ont donné leur vie.


Ressources d'apprentisage

Page principale des ressources d'apprentissage

Plan de leçon : 5 à 12 ans

Les bottines de combat

Plan de leçon : 15 à 18 ans

« La bataille de la crête de Vimy »

Date de modification :