Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial

The Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial honours all Newfoundlanders who served during the First World War and those lost with no known grave. It is located at the site of the Battle of Beaumont-Hamel.

7 June 1925

Share:

First World War

Visit memorials in Europe

Plan your visit to Canada's memorials in Europe.


Student Guide Program

Interested in an AMAZING work and life experience? Want to learn more about Canada, France and yourself?


Take a Virtual Tour

Visit from anywhere in the world using virtual reality, video and web-based tools.


Visitor Information

Rue de l'Église, D73, 80300 Auchonvillers, France

The visitor centre remains closed.

Visitors may access the monuments and the trails during normal operating hours.

For now, there are still no guided tours at these sites. In the meantime, we invite you to download self-guided tour maps.

Parking at the site is available from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.

 

Trail of the Caribou

Located in northern France, the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial can be found nine kilometres north of the town of Albert within the département of the Somme. The Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial encompasses 30 hectares and is the largest of five Newfoundland memorial sites in France and Belgium that together form the Trail of the Caribou.

Caribou Monument at Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial.

Standing watch

Caribou Monument as seen from above.

At the heart of the memorial stands a great bronze caribou (the emblem of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment). Its defiant gaze forever fixed towards its former foe, the caribou stands watch over rolling fields that still lay claim to many men with no known final resting place.

A sculptor’s inspiration

Captain Basil Gotto with his Caribou Sculpture, ca. 1921.

Sculptor Basil Gotto's bronze caribou design is believed to have been inspired in part by the iconic Newfoundland photograph, "The Monarch of the Topsails". The noble bronze caribou is the emblem of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment. The statue is estimated to weigh approximately 770 kilograms (1,700 pounds).

Touches from home

The Caribou Memorial today.

Landscape architect Rudolph H.K. Cochius incorporated touches from home throughout his design. The Caribou Monument sits atop a mound surrounded by rock and shrubs native to Newfoundland. More than 5,000 trees native to Newfoundland (including spruce, dogberry and juniper) were also planted along the boundaries of the site before its opening in 1925.

Tribute to the fallen

Field-Marshal Earl Douglas Haig, Commander of the British Expeditionary Force during the Battle of the Somme, officially unveiled the Memorial on June 7, 1925.

Opening of the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial, France, June 7, 1925.

821 names are inscribed on three bronze tablets at the base of the Caribou Monument in memory of those who died during the First World War and had no known grave. The list includes 591 members of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, 114 sailors in the Newfoundland Royal Naval Reserve and 115 Merchant Mariners.

Cemeteries and the fallen

Over 400 First World War casualties rest in Y-Ravine Cemetery.

Three Commonwealth War Graves Commission cemeteries are located at the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial: Hawthorn Ridge Cemetery No. 2, Hunters Cemetery and Y Ravine Cemetery. Almost 700 war casualties are buried or commemorated at these sites, with approximately 1/4 remaining unidentified even today.

National Historic Site

Along with the Canadian National Vimy Memorial, the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial is one of only two National Historic Sites located outside of Canada.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche

Le Mémorial Terre-Neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel

Le Mémorial Terre-Neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel rend hommage à tous les Terre-Neuviens qui ont servi le Canada durant la Première Guerre mondiale et à ceux qui ont perdu la vie et qui n’ont pas de sépultures connues. Il est situé sur le site de la bataille de Beaumont-Hamel.

Le 7 juin 1925

Partager :

Première Guerre Mondiale

Visiter les monuments commémoratifs en Europe

Planifiez votre visite des monuments commémoratifs du Canada en Europe.


Guides étudiants en France

Vous avez envie de vivre une expérience professionnelle et personnelle pas comme les autres? Vous voulez en savoir plus sur le Canada, sur la France, sur vous-même?


Visites virtuelles

Visitez peu importe où vous êtes dans le monde, grâce à la réalité virtuelle, à la vidéo et à des outils Web.


Information pour les visiteurs

rue de l'Église, D73, 80300 Auchonvillers, France

Le Mémorial terre-neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel est toujours ouvert au public gratuitement.

Les visiteurs peuvent accéder aux monuments, aux sentiers et au centre des visiteurs pendant les heures normales d’ouverture.

Pour l’instant, il n’y a aucune visite guidée. En attendant, nous vous invitons à télécharger les cartes d’interprétation autonome.

Du 1er avril au 30 septembre

Du mercredi au dimanche - de 10 h à 18 h

Fermeture : 12 h 30 à 13 h 30

Du 1er octobre au 31 mars

Du mercredi au dimanche - de 9 h à 17 h

Fermeture : 12 h 30 à 13 h 30

 

Le sentier du Caribou

Dans le nord de la France, le Mémorial Terre-Neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel se situe à neuf kilomètres au nord de la ville d'Albert, dans le département de la Somme. Le Mémorial Terre-Neuvien à Beaumont¬-Hamel couvre 30 hectares et est le plus grand des cinq sites commémoratifs Terre-Neuviens en France et en Belgique qui forment ensemble le sentier du Caribou.

Le Monument du Caribou du Mémorial terre-neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel.

Monter la garde

Monument du Caribou vu du haut des airs.

Au cœur de ce mémorial se dresse un grand caribou de bronze (l’emblème du Royal Newfoundland Regiment). Son regard défiant fixé pour toujours vers ses anciens ennemis, le caribou surveille les champs qui conservent toujours en leur sein de nombreux soldats sans sépultures finales connues.

L'inspiration d'un sculpteur

Le capitaine Basil Gotto aux côtés de sa sculpture du Caribou, vers 1921.

On croit que le concept du caribou de bronze du sculpteur Basil Gotto aurait été inspiré en partie par la photographie terre-neuvienne emblématique « Le monarque des huniers ». Le noble caribou de bronze est l’emblème du Royal Newfoundland Regiment. La majestueuse statue du caribou du Mémorial est estimée peser environ 770 kilos (1 700 livres).

Touches de rappel du pays

Le Mémorial du Caribou aujourd’hui.

L’architecte paysager Rudolph H.K. Cochius a incorporé des touches de rappel du pays dans tout son concept. Le Monument du Caribou repose au sommet d’un monticule entouré de rochers et de buissons de Terre-Neuve. Plus de 5 000 arbres de Terre-Neuve (dont des sapins, des sorbiers des montagnes et des genévriers) ont aussi été plantés le long des frontières du site avant son ouverture en 1925.

Hommage à ceux qui sont morts au combat

Le feld-maréchal Earl Douglas Haig, commandant de la Force expéditionnaire britannique pendant la bataille de la Somme, dévoila officiellement le mémorial le 7 juin 1925.

Inauguration du Mémorial terre-neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel, en France, le 7 juin 1925.

Sont inscrits 820 noms sur trois tablettes de bronze à la base du Monument du Caribou en mémoire de ceux qui sont morts pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et qui n’avaient pas de sépultures connues. La liste comprend 591 membres du Royal Newfoundland Regiment, 114 marins de la Réserve navale royale de Terre-Neuve et 115 marins marchands.

Cimetières et ceux qui sont tombés au combat

Plus de 400 morts de la Première Guerre mondiale reposent au cimetière du ravin en Y.

Trois cimetières de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth (page disponible en anglais) se trouvent au Mémorial Terre-Neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel : le Cimetière n° 2 de Hawthorn Ridge, le Cimetère Hunter's (page disponible en anglais) et le Cimetière du ravin en Y. Près de 700 morts à la guerre sont enterrés ou commémorés à ces sites, dont environ le quart demeurent non identifiés encore aujourd’hui.

Lieu historique national

Avec le Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy, le Mémorial Terre-Neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel est l’un des deux seuls lieux historiques nationaux hors du Canada.

Date de modification :