Brigadier-Magistrate

Brigadier Martin in 1943. The First and Second World War Veteran wore many career hats in his lifetime, including those of magistrate and school principal. (Nina Burnham)

The name Oliver Milton Martin appears repeatedly in Indigenous newspapers and magazines. He was a prominent figure: a soldier who reached the highest rank ever held by a an Indigenous man and, in civilian life, a school teacher, principal and provincial magistrate.

A Mohawk from the Six Nations Grand River Reserve, Martin made his mark in both the army and the air force. He served in the First and Second World Wars, ending his service in 1944 with the rank of brigadier.

Martin's military career began in 1909, when he joined the Haldimand Rifles militia regiment. Bugler was the first of his many military roles. In 1915, at the age of 22, he took leave from teaching to enlist in the regular force. Two brothers also volunteered. Martin eventually served as a company officer with the 114th and the 107th Battalions. As a lieutenant, he spent seven months in France and Belgium, where he survived a gas attack. In 1917, he qualified as an observer with the Royal Flying Corps and, the following year, he earned his pilot's wings.

When the war ended, Martin returned to teaching and became a school principal in Toronto, Ontario. He also maintained his ties with his militia regiment. In 1930, he assumed command of the Haldimand Rifles, holding this position until the outbreak of the Second World War.

During the Second World War, Martin oversaw the training of hundreds of recruits in Canada. His first appointment, as a colonel, was commander of the 13th Infantry Brigade at a training camp at Niagara-on-the-Lake. The following year he was promoted brigadier and went on to command the 14th (Nanaimo) and 16th (Prince George) Infantry Brigades.

Portrait of Oliver Martin for the Indian Hall of Fame collection by Irma Coucill. (Woodland Cultural Centre)

In the official history of the Algonquin Regiment the brigadier is remembered with fondness and respect. The Algonquins had arrived at Niagara-on-the-Lake after a long and festive train ride:

It was a sad and sore group of men who piled off the cars in Niagara. It was our good fortune to have Brigadier Martin as our new brigade commander, and he, sensing our condition, was most tactful and kindly. His first inspection of the unit, and his words to the men, won him at the outset our strong friendship and loyalty.72

In October 1944, the brigadier retired from active service. His impact, however, carried on for several years. According to a niece, "many of Brigadier Martin's nephews and nieces joined the service during the Second World War. They wanted to serve their country and I'm sure they were influenced by their uncle's military career." 73

After leaving the Armed Forces, Martin was appointed provincial magistrate for Ontario District 6, the counties of York, Halton and Peel. He was the first Indigenous person to hold a judicial post in Ontario. The Mohawk magistrate served the district until his death in 1957.

Recognizing Martin's civic and military achievements, the Royal Canadian Legion named its Branch No. 345 the Brigadier O. M. Martin Branch.

Brigadier Martin received many awards for his accomplishments. For his 20 years of service with good conduct in the militia, Martin was awarded the Colonial Auxiliary Forces Officer's Decoration. In 1953, he and his wife, Lillian, were invited to, and attended, the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II. Today, the East York branch of the Royal Canadian Legion is named the Brigadier O. Martin Branch. Brigadier Martin is also a member of Canada's Indian Hall of Fame.

Date modified:

Brigadier-juge

Le brigadier Martin en 1943. L'ancien combattant de la Première et de la Seconde Guerres mondiales poursuivit plusieurs carrières au cours de sa vie, dont celle de juge et de directeur d'école. (Nina Burnham)

Le nom d'Oliver Milton Martin apparaît à plusieurs reprises dans les journaux et les revues autochtones. C'était un personnage éminent : ce fut le soldat qui atteint le plus haut grade jamais détenu par un Autochtone canadien et, dans la vie civile, il devint professeur, directeur d'école et juge à la Cour provinciale.

Martin était un Mohawk de la réserve Grand River des Six-Nations et se distingua dans l'infanterie et l'aviation. Il servit pendant la Première et la Seconde Guerres mondiales et, à la fin de son service, en 1944, il avait le grade de brigadier.

Sa carrière militaire commença en 1909 lorsqu'il se joignit aux Haldimand Rifles. Le poste de clairon fut le premier de ses nombreux rôles militaires. En 1915, à l'âge de 22 ans, il quitta son poste d'enseignant pour s'enrôler dans les Forces régulières. Deux de ses frères s'enrôlèrent aussi. Martin devint éventuellement officier de compagnie dans les 114e et 107e Bataillons. À titre de lieutenant, il passa sept mois en France et en Belgique, où il survécut à une attaque au gaz. En 1917, il se qualifia comme observateur dans la Royal Flying Corps et, l'année suivante, il gagna ses ailes.

À la fin de la guerre, Martin retourna à l'enseignement et devint directeur d'une école à Toronto (Ontario). Il maintint aussi ses liens avec son régiment de milice. En 1930, il assuma le commandement des Haldimand Rifles et occupa ce poste jusqu'au déclenchement de la guerre.

Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Martin supervisa l'entraînement de centaines de recrues au Canada. Sa première affectation au grade de colonel fut celle de commandant de la 13e Brigade d'infanterie à un camp d'entraînement à Niagara-on-the-Lake. L'année suivante, il fut promu brigadier, et commanda ensuite les 14e (Nanaimo) et 16e (Prince George) Brigades d'infanterie.

Dans l'histoire officielle du Régiment Algonquin, on parle du brigadier avec affection et respect. L'Algonquin était arrivé à Niagara-on-the-Lake après une longue randonnée joyeuse en train :

Portrait d'Oliver Martin, de la collection du Temple de la renommée des Indiens, réalisé par Irma Coucill. (Woodland Cultural Centre)

C'est un groupe pitoyable qui débarqua des wagons à Niagara. Nous avons été chanceux que le brigadier Martin soit notre nouveau commandant. Devinant notre état, il agit avec grand tact et bonté. Sa première inspection de l'unité, et les paroles qu'il adressa aux hommes, lui gagnèrent immédiatement notre amitié et notre loyauté.72

Le brigadier prit sa retraite du service actif en octobre 1944. Cependant, son exemple fut suivi pendant plusieurs années. L'une de ses nièce raconte que « nombre de neveux et de nièces du brigadier Martin s'enrôlèrent au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ils voulaient servir leur pays et je suis certaine que la carrière militaire de leur oncle les a influencés. »73

Après sa libération des forces armées, Martin fut nommé juge à la Cour provinciale pour le District numéro 6 de l'Ontario, les comtés de York, Halton et Peel. Il fut le premier Autochtone à détenir un poste judiciaire en Ontario. Le juge mohawk servit le district jusqu'à sa mort en 1957.

Le brigadier Martin reçut plusieurs décorations pour ses réalisations. Pour ses 20 ans de service avec bonne conduite dans la milice, on lui décerna la Décoration pour officiers des forces auxiliaires coloniales. En 1953, lui et son épouse Lillian furent invités, et assistèrent, au couronnement de la reine Élisabeth II. Aujourd'hui, la filiale de York-Est de la Légion royale canadienne porte le nom de Brigadier-O.-Martin. Le brigadier-juge est également membre du Temple de la renommée des Indiens.

En reconnaissance des réalisations d'Oliver Martin au cours de son service militaire et dans la vie civile, la Légion royale canadienne a nommé la filliale No 345, filiale Brigadier O.-M.-Martin.

Date de modification :