Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Veterans Ombudsman Complaint and Investigation Files (VAC PPU 210)

Description: This bank describes information used for the purposes of reviewing and addressing complaints from clients and their representatives, based on the provisions of the Veterans Bill of Rights. In addition, the information is used to identify and review emerging and systemic issues related to programs and services provided or administered by Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) and to review systemic issues related to the Veterans Review and Appeal Board (VRAB). Personal information collected may include: name; contact information; date of birth; gender; language; health information; opinion of, or about, individuals; photos, videos and/or voice recordings; signature; guardian or power of attorney information; military service number; military service information; VAC client identifier information; subject and nature of complaint; detailed summary of complaint including locations and timelines; material given to the Ombudsman’s staff by the complainant, VAC, and other persons in the course of investigations; correspondence and records of interviews with complainants; testimonials; waiver and consent forms signed by complainants and other individuals; memoranda; findings; recommendations; and OVO public consultation submissions.

Note: Revised in 2019. Information related to the complaint and investigation file may be stored in the following internal system/database: Ombudsman File Tracking System (OFTS). The name, contact information, and submission of public consultation participants will be stored in the Office of the Veterans Ombudsman (OVO) public consultation data base. The name and submission associated with feedback on a blog or speech will be stored in the blogs or speeches database. The name and contact information associated with an individual signing up to receive the OVO Subscriptions will be stored in the newsletter data base.

Some documents received in Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC), from the Department of National Defence (DND) may reference the Social Insurance Number (SIN) as DND personnel were required to use the SIN as their personal identification number between 1960 and 1990.

Class of Individuals: Canadian Forces Members and Merchant Navy Veterans who served in the First World War, Second World War or the Korean War; certain civilians who are entitled to benefits because of their wartime service; former and still-serving members of Canadian Forces (Regular and Reserve, including those who served in Special Duty Areas); former and still-serving members of Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP); survivors and dependents of military, RCMP and civilian personnel; members of an Allied Force residing in Canada or elsewhere; and/or their representatives, guardians and individuals who exercise power of attorney; other individuals or groups (Veterans’ organizations) who express their concerns.

Purpose: The personal information is collected to review and address complaints, initiate investigations, identify and review emerging and systemic issues related to programs and services, and to make findings and recommendations. Personal information is collected pursuant to Order in Council PC 2007-530 and the Veterans Bill of Rights. This bank is also used to support Access to Information and Privacy requests.

Consistent Uses: Information may be used and disclosed for planning, research, development, evaluation and/or reporting of programs, policies and services. The use and disclosure is limited to VAC areas that are involved in the identified program, service and policy, and may also be shared with senior management.

Personal information may be shared with other VAC programs, including programs covered by the application waiver provision under sections 80.1 of the Pension Act and/or 78.1 of the Veterans Well-being Act, for the purpose of determining eligibility for additional benefits, assessments, case management, mental health initiatives, and/or commemorative activities, where applicable.

The name, email address and/or mailing address of the individual may be used for mailing list purposes to send OVO Subscriptions to a client. The name, telephone number, or email address of the individual may be used to send a client notification that there will be an Office of the Veterans Ombudsman outreach event held in their area. Client calls may be monitored for quality assurance purposes.

Retention and Disposal Standards: Under development.

RDA Number: 2016/009

Related Records: Office of the Veterans Ombudsman Class of Record VAC MVA 760

TBS Registration Number: 20090498

Bank Number: VAC PPU 210

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Dossiers de plaintes et d’enquêtes de l’ombudsman des vétérans (ACC PPU 210)

Description : Ce fichier contient des renseignements utilisés pour l’examen et le traitement des plaintes déposées par les clients et leurs représentants conformément à la Déclaration des droits des anciens combattants. Ces renseignements permettent également de déceler et d’étudier les problèmes émergents et d’ordre systémique se rapportant aux programmes et aux services fournis et administrés par Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), et d’examiner les problèmes d’ordre systémique liés au Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel) (TACRA). Les renseignements personnels recueillis peuvent comprendre : le nom, les coordonnées, la date de naissance, le genre, la langue, les renseignements sur la santé, le point de vue de la personne ou des opinions à son sujet, des photos, vidéos ou enregistrements vocaux, la signature, des renseignements sur le tuteur ou le détenteur de procuration, le numéro matricule, des renseignements sur le service militaire, l’identificateur du client d’ACC, le sujet et la nature des plaintes, un sommaire détaillé de plainte, y compris les lieux et les dates, le matériel fourni au personnel du Bureau de l’ombudsman des vétérans (BOV) par les plaignants, ACC et d’autres personnes au cours des enquêtes, la correspondance et les comptes rendus des entrevues avec les plaignants, des témoignages, les formulaires de renonciation et de consentement signés par les plaignants et d’autres personnes, des notes de service, des constatations, des recommandations et des présentations faites dans le cadre de consultations publiques organisées par le BOV.

Observation : Révisé en 2019. Les renseignements peuvent être stockés dans les systèmes physiques et électroniques d’ACC suivants : Système de gestion du suivi des dossiers de l’ombudsman (SGSDO). Le nom, les coordonnées et la présentation des participants à la consultation publique seront conservés dans la base de données sur les consultations publiques menées par le BOV. Le nom et la présentation associés à la rétroaction portant sur un blogue ou un discours seront conservés dans la base de données portant sur les blogues et les discours. Le nom et les coordonnées associés à une personne qui demande de recevoir le bulletin d’information du BOV seront conservés dans la base de données liée au bulletin d’information.

Certains documents que reçoit ACC du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) pourraient contenir le numéro d’assurance sociale du client, car les employés du MDN devaient l’utiliser comme numéro d’identification personnel de 1960 à 1990.

Catégorie de personnes : Les membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) et les vétérans de la marine marchande qui ont servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, la Seconde Guerre mondiale ou la guerre de Corée, certains civils qui ont droit à des prestations en raison des services qu’ils ont rendus pendant une guerre, les militaires et les vétérans des FAC (Force régulière et Force de réserve, y compris ceux qui ont servi dans les zones de service spécial), les membres et anciens membres de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), les survivants et personnes à charge du personnel militaire, du personnel civil et du personnel de la GRC, les membres des forces alliées résidant au Canada ou ailleurs, les tuteurs et/ou les détenteurs de procuration, et d’autres personnes ou d’autres groupes (organismes de vétérans) qui ont des préoccupations à exprimer.

But : Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis dans le but d’examiner et de traiter les plaintes, de lancer des enquêtes, de recenser et d’examiner les questions émergentes et les problèmes d’ordre systémique liés aux programmes et aux services, de tirer des conclusions et de formuler des recommandations. Ils sont recueillis en vertu du décret C.P. 2007-530 et de la Déclaration des droits des anciens combattants. Ce fichier peut également servir dans les cas de demandes présentées aux termes de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels.

Usages compatibles : Les renseignements personnels peuvent être utilisés et communiqués aux fins de planification, de recherche, d’élaboration, d’évaluation ou de préparation de rapports sur des programmes, des politiques et des services. L’utilisation et la communication sont limitées aux domaines d’ACC qui sont liés au programme ciblé, aux services et aux politiques. Les renseignements peuvent également être communiqués à la haute direction.

Les renseignements personnels peuvent être communiqués à d’autres programmes d’ACC, notamment des programmes couverts par la disposition sur la dispense de l’obligation de présenter une demande conformément à l’article 80.1 de la Loi sur les pensions et/ou l’article 78.1 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, afin de déterminer l’admissibilité à d’autres prestations, à des évaluations, à la gestion de cas, aux initiatives sur la santé mentale et/ou aux activités commémoratives, le cas échéant.

Le nom, l’adresse courriel ou l’adresse postale de la personne peut servir aux fins d’une liste d’envoi des bulletins d’information du BOV à un client. Le nom, le numéro de téléphone ou l’adresse courriel de la personne peuvent servir à aviser le client qu’une activité d’information organisée par le BOV aura lieu dans sa région. Les appels des clients pourraient être surveillés aux fins de l’assurance de la qualité.

Normes de conservation et de destruction : En cours d’élaboration.

Numéro ADD : 2016/009

Documents connexes : Catégorie de documents associée aux fonctions, aux programmes et aux activités institutionnels suivants : Avantages, services et soutien, et Autres fonds de renseignements d’ACC.

Numéro d’enregistrement au SCT : 20090498

Numéro de fichier : ACC PPU 210

Date de modification :