Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Health Care Benefits and Services (VAC PPU 295)

Description: This bank describes information that is related to the administration and management of health care benefits and services administered for Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) by a third party service provider. Personal information may include name, contact information, biographical information, gender, date of birth, date of death, educational information, military service number, financial information, language preference, health information, health-related travel information, information on provincial/private health insurance, decision and entitlement information about other VAC programs, guardian and power of attorney information, service provider information, signature, opinions and views about the individual, other identification numbers (CSDN ID, file number, authorization number, client identifier), physical attributes, and assessments of the ability to perform basic activities of daily living.

Note: Revised in 2019. Information may be stored in VAC’s physical and electronic systems including: Client Service Delivery Network (CSDN) and/or GCCase, which may include client-initiated actions and responses made through My VAC Account, and/or, VAC staff/contracted resource-initiated actions and responses made through Benefit and Health Services On-line (BHSOL) and/or Federal Health Claims Processing System (FHCPS).

Some documents received in Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) from the Department of National Defence (DND) may reference the social insurance number (SIN) as DND personnel were required to use the SIN as their personal identification number between 1960 and 1990.

Class of Individuals: Persons who served in the armed forces during the First World War, the Second World War or the United Nations operations in Korea, Merchant Navy Veterans, Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members of the Primary Reserve Force serving for 180 days or less, former regular members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in receipt of a disability pension, and all civilian members (active or retired) who are in receipt of a disability pension. Allied Veterans, health care professionals, third party service and equipment providers, eligible civilians, travel escorts, witnesses, guardians, individuals who exercise power of attorney, and/or their representatives.

Purpose: The personal information is used to administer treatment benefits and services as well as supplementary benefits such as travel which includes determining eligibility and disbursing funds. Personal information is collected pursuant to Part I of the Veterans Health Care Regulations and sections 4 and 5 of the Department of Veterans Affairs Act.

Consistent Uses: Information may be used and disclosed for planning, research, development, evaluation and/or reporting of programs, policies and services. The use and disclosure are limited to VAC areas that are involved in the identified program, service and policy and may also be shared with senior management.

Personal information may be shared with other VAC programs, including programs covered by the application waiver provision under sections 80.1 of the Pension Act and/or 78.1 of the Veterans Well-being Act, for the purpose of determining eligibility for additional benefits, assessments, case management, mental health initiatives, and/or commemorative activities, where applicable.

Name, address, identifying number, dates of birth and death, medical pension codes, and eligibility information may be shared with a third party service provider who administers claims adjudication and payments on behalf of Veterans Affairs Canada.

Name, identifying number, contract information, client group and program eligibility codes may be shared with a third party service provider for the purposes of printing client health cards and providing an information package to clients.

Personal information may be obtained by Public Service and Procurement Canada (PSPC) in accordance with an established Memorandum of Agreement for the purpose of creating a digital image of the record for use by VAC (Refer to PSPC institution specific personal information bank, PWGSC PCU 709 - Document Imaging Solutions). PSPC will not use the personal information for the purposes of making administrative decisions.

Personal information such as name, contact information, service information, health and financial information may be shared with an authorized and approved third party, in accordance with an established Service Level Agreement for the purpose of printing and mailing services. The approved third party will not use the personal information for the purposes of making administrative decisions.

VAC has contracted an authorized and approved third party, located in Canada, to provide transportation, storage, maintenance retrieval, delivery, and destruction services of VAC records where applicable.

Retention and Disposal Standards: Regardless of the format, as part of the client record, the retention period is 7 years after the date of death of the applicant. If the date is not known, the retention period is 110 years after the date of birth provided there are no known dependents, no outstanding claims against the crown, no actions involving the estate, no indication on file of the legal status of a dependent, and no activity of any kind.

RDA Number: 2017/002

Related Records: Health Care Benefits Program Class of Record VAC MVA 860

TBS Registration Number: 20110519

Bank Number: VAC PPU 295

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Avantages et services de soins de santé (ACC PPU 295)

Description : Ce fichier contient des renseignements liés à l’administration et à la gestion des avantages et des services de soins de santé administrés par un fournisseur tiers pour Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC). Les renseignements peuvent comprendre le nom, les coordonnées, des renseignements biographiques, le genre, les dates de naissance et de décès, des renseignements sur les études, le numéro matricule, des renseignements financiers, les préférences linguistiques, des renseignements sur l’état de santé, des renseignements sur les déplacements à des fins médicales, des renseignements sur l’assurance-maladie provinciale ou privée, des renseignements sur les décisions et l’admissibilité relatives à d’autres programmes d’ACC, des renseignements sur le tuteur et le détenteur de procuration, des renseignements sur le fournisseur de services, la signature, le point de vue de la personne ou des opinions à son sujet, d’autres numéros d’identification (ID du Réseau de prestation des services aux clients (RPSC), numéro de dossier, numéro d’autorisation, identificateur du client), les caractéristiques physiques et l’évaluation de la capacité d’exécuter les principales activités de la vie quotidienne.

Observation : Révisé en 2019. Les renseignements peuvent être stockés dans les systèmes physiques et électroniques d’ACC suivants : le Réseau de prestation des services aux clients (RPSC) ou GCcas, où l’on peut trouver des mesures prises par le client et ses réponses dans Mon dossier ACC ou des mesures prises par les employés ou le personnel contractuel d’ACC et leurs réponses dans le système Prestations et services de santé en direct (PSSD) ou le Système fédéral de traitement des demandes de soins de santé (SFTDSS).

Certains documents que reçoit ACC du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) pourraient contenir le numéro d’assurance sociale du client, car les employés du MDN devaient l’utiliser comme numéro d’identification personnel de 1960 à 1990.

Catégorie de personnes : Les personnes qui ont servi dans les forces armées pendant la Première Guerre mondiale ou la Seconde Guerre mondiale ou dans la force des Nations‑Unies en Corée, les vétérans de la marine marchande, les membres de la Première réserve des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) comptant 180 jours de service ou moins, les anciens membres réguliers de la GRC qui reçoivent une Pension d’invalidité et tous les membres civils (actifs ou à la retraite) qui reçoivent une Pension d’invalidité. Les vétérans alliés, les professionnels de la santé, les fournisseurs de services et d’équipement tiers, les civils admissibles, les accompagnateurs, les témoins, les tuteurs, les détenteurs de procuration, et/ou leurs représentants.

But : Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés pour l’administration des avantages et services médicaux et des avantages supplémentaires, comme les déplacements, ce qui comprend la détermination de l’admissibilité et l’allocation des fonds. Ils sont recueillis en vertu de la partie I du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants et les articles 4 et 5 de la Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants.

Usages compatibles : Les renseignements personnels peuvent être utilisés et communiqués aux fins de planification, de recherche, d’élaboration, d’évaluation ou de préparation de rapports sur des programmes, des politiques et des services. L’utilisation et la communication sont limitées aux domaines d’ACC qui sont liés au programme ciblé, aux services et aux politiques. Les renseignements peuvent également être communiqués à la haute direction.

Les renseignements personnels peuvent être communiqués à d’autres programmes d’ACC, notamment des programmes couverts par la disposition sur la dispense de l’obligation de présenter une demande conformément à l’article 80.1 de la Loi sur les pensions et/ou l’article 78.1 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, afin de déterminer l’admissibilité à d’autres prestations, à des évaluations, à la gestion de cas, aux initiatives sur la santé mentale et/ou aux activités commémoratives, le cas échéant.

Le nom, l’adresse, l’identificateur client, les dates de naissance et de décès, les codes médicaux de pension ainsi que des renseignements sur l’admissibilité peuvent être communiqués à un fournisseur de services tiers qui gère le règlement des demandes et les paiements pour le compte d’ACC.

Le nom, l’identificateur client, les coordonnées, les codes de groupe clients et d’admissibilité aux programmes peuvent être communiqués à un fournisseur de services tiers pour l’impression des cartes santé des clients et des trousses d’information à leur attention.

Des renseignements tels que le nom du militaire, son numéro matricule, une description de la pension médicale, le code médical de pension, la date d’entrée en vigueur de la pension ainsi que les programmes de choix associés à chaque code médical de pension peuvent être communiqués au MDN aux fins d’administration des avantages pour soins de santé offerts aux membres de la Première réserve des FAC comptant 180 jours de service ou moins (Dossiers médicaux – MDN PPE 810).

Conformément à un protocole d’entente établi, les renseignements personnels peuvent être obtenus par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) pour créer une image numérique du document aux fins d’utilisation par ACC (consulter le fichier de renseignements personnels propre à SPAC : Solutions d’imagerie documentaire – TPSGC PCU 709). SPAC n’utilisera pas les renseignements personnels pour prendre des décisions administratives.

Conformément à une convention sur le niveau de service établie, le nom, les coordonnées, les renseignements sur le service, les renseignements sur la santé et les renseignements financiers peuvent être communiqués a un tiers autorisé et approuvé aux fins de services d’impressions et d’envoi du courrier. Le tiers approuvé n’utilisera pas les renseignements personnels pour prendre des décisions administratives.

Anciens Combattants Canada a conclu un contrat avec un tiers autorisé et approuvé situé au Canada pour assurer les services de transport, d’entreposage, de maintien, de récupération, de livraison et de destruction de ses documents, au besoin.

Normes de conservation et de destruction : Pour ce qui est du dossier du client, peu importe le format, la période de conservation est de 7 ans suivant la date de décès du demandeur. Si la date est inconnue, la période de conservation est de 110 ans suivant la date de naissance, pourvu qu’il n’y ait aucune personne à charge connue, aucune revendication non réglée auprès de la Couronne, aucune mesure concernant la succession, aucune indication au dossier du statut juridique d’une personne à charge ni aucune activité de quelque nature que ce soit.

Numéro ADD : 2017/002

Documents connexes : Catégorie de documents associée aux fonctions, aux programmes et aux activités institutionnels suivants : Avantages, services et soutien, et Autres fonds de renseignements d’ACC.

Numéro d’enregistrement au SCT : 20110519

Numéro de fichier : ACC PPU 295

Date de modification :