Language selection

Ceremonies and Events (VAC PPU 621)

Description: This bank describes information that is used in support of remembrance related ceremonies and events to recognize and honour Canada’s war dead and Veterans in Canada and overseas. The bank also describes personal information used to provide honours and awards (war medals), including the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation. The personal information may include: name, contact information, citizenship status, language, biographical information, relationship to Veteran, dates and places of birth and death, health information, validation of identity documentation, VAC employee, physical attributes relating to medical needs, military service information including service number and rank, client identifiers including War Veterans Allowance number and other identification numbers, decision and entitlement information, medals and awards information, opinions and views of or about individuals, emergency contact information (may include neighbor), passport information, travel information, special needs information, financial information of delegates, and signature. Youth participant, caregiver and delegate information may include name, date and place of birth, name of school, contact information, relation to former or still serving Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members, travel and passport information, contact information including neighbours and friends, language and signature.

Note: Revised in 2019. Information may be stored in VAC's physical and electronic systems including the Awards Application Program, online registration portal, as well as the Client Service Delivery Network (CSDN) and/or GCCase, which may include client initiated actions and responses made through My VAC Account. A website application for the Bomber Command Bar and the Korean War Veterans Certificate is available on the VAC website. The information gathered will be stored electronically in a Novell application that was designed for VAC Honours and Awards.

Some documents received in VAC from the Department of National Defence may contain the Social Insurance Number because Department of National Defence personnel were required to use it as their personal identification number between 1960 and 1990.

Class of Individuals: The general public, Canadian Veterans, family members, designated caregivers of Veterans, youth, CAF members, RCMP members, Veterans of the Allied Forces, Nursing Sisters,  and/or their representatives, media representatives, Veterans organization representatives, Parliamentarians, VAC medical personnel and staff, contractors, service providers, and representatives from various levels of government abroad and foreign dignitaries.

Purpose: Personal information is collected pursuant to Order in Council P.C. 1948 -811 and Order in Council P.C. 1965-688 which assigns the Minister of Veterans Affairs the responsibility for “Ceremonies at the 1914-1918 National War Memorial, Remembrance Ceremonies in connection with the war dead outside of Canada, and National Services in Canada to commemorate the war dead, or related subjects.” It is used to administrate all aspects of leading and supporting remembrance ceremonies and events, in Canada or overseas; as well as to determine eligibility for the honours and awards program and to issue and distribute medals and awards, including replacement honours and awards, to eligible Veterans or family members to acknowledge those who serve Veterans with the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation.

Consistent Uses: In some circumstances, information may be disclosed to hosting countries to assess individuals for admissibility to events. Information may be used and disclosed for planning, research, development, evaluation and/or reporting of programs, policies and services. The use and disclosure is limited to VAC areas that are involved in the identified program, service and policy, and may also be shared with senior management.

Information is used to arrange travel for delegates participating in in-Canada and overseas ceremonies and events.

Information is disclosed to third parties/other government institutions as required for the purposes of planning safe, stress-free, harmonious travel experiences for all delegates. Delegates’ health information is shared with Veterans Affairs contracted medical staff to identify any health related issues and travel requirements. If a delegate requires additional medical attention that Veterans Affairs Canada/medical staff cannot provide, delegate health information (i.e. level of treatment administered, symptoms etc.) will be provided to local authorities to ensure proper medical assistance.

Names, passport information, special needs requirements, and other relevant information may be shared with travel and event coordinators and their partners, namely: municipal organizations, Veterans organizations, the Department of National Defence, and Global Affairs Canada, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and officials of foreign governments.

Some information gathered about Veterans and other individuals, in relation to commemorative events, with appropriate consent, may also be posted on VAC's Internet or Intranet site, or disclosed through media releases.

Delegate personal information may be shared to a select group of 17 national security-mandated institutions in response to threats that undermine the security of Canada via the Security of Canada Information Sharing Act (SCISA). This Act aims to improve the effectiveness and timeliness of information sharing for national security purposes by establishing an explicit authority for all federal government institutions to disclose information to designated recipients.

Personal information received by VAC may be shared with other VAC programs to determine if individuals may be eligible for additional benefits, or for commemorative activities, where applicable.

Personal information may be shared with the Department of National Defence (DND) to obtain Service Records, which are reviewed to determine eligibility for Honours and Awards (Refer to institution-specific personal information bank - History, Heritage and Honours -  DND PPE 823).

In accordance with an established Memorandum of Understanding, personal information may be shared with Library and Archives Canada (LAC) to obtain Service Records, which are reviewed to determine eligibility for Honours and Awards (Refer to institution-specific personal information banks: Military Personnel Bank – LAC PPU 024).

Service history and documents and personal information found on nomination forms for the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation may also be used to determine eligibility.

Retention and Disposal Standards: Retention of information is currently under review.

RDA Number: 2017/002

Related Records: Class of Records associated with the following Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities: Benefits, Services, and Support, and Other VAC Information Holdings.

TBS Registration Number: 002280

Bank Number: VAC PPU 621

Date modified:

Cérémonies et événements (ACC PPU 621)

Description : Ce fichier contient des renseignements utilisés à l’appui de la commémoration exprimée lors de cérémonies et événements tenus pour rendre hommage aux morts de la guerre et aux vétérans du Canada, au pays et à l’étranger. Ce fichier décrit aussi les renseignements personnels utilisés pour remettre des distinctions honorifiques et des citations (médailles de guerre), dont la Mention élogieuse du ministre des Anciens Combattants. Les renseignements personnels peuvent comprendre : le nom, les coordonnées, le statut de citoyenneté, préférences linguistiques, les renseignements biographiques, la relation avec un vétéran, la date et le lieu de naissance et de décès, des renseignements sur la santé, les documents servant à valider l’identité, le statut d’employé d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), des caractéristiques physiques liées aux besoins médicaux, des renseignements sur le service militaire, y compris numéro de matricule et grade, identificateurs de client, y compris le numéro d’Allocation aux anciens combattants et autres numéros d’identification, de l’information sur les décisions et l’admissibilité, les médailles et les distinctions honorifiques, le point de vue de la personne et des opinions à son sujet, de l’information sur les personnes à contacter en cas d’urgence (pourraient être des voisins), de l’information sur le passeport et le voyage, de l’information sur les besoins spéciaux, des renseignements financiers des délégués, ainsi que la signature. Les renseignements personnels des jeunes participants, des aidants naturels et des délégués peuvent comprendre : le nom, la date et le lieu de naissance, le nom d’école, les coordonnées, la relation avec des membres ou les anciens militaires des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), de l’information sur le passeport et le voyage, et les coordonnées de personnes à contacter, comme des voisins ou des amis, les préférences linguistiques et la signature.

Observation : Révisé en 2019. Les renseignements peuvent être stockés dans les systèmes physiques et électroniques d’ACC suivants : le Système de demande de décorations, le portail d’inscription en ligne, ainsi que le RPSC ou GCcas, où l’on peut trouver des mesures prises par le client et ses réponses dans Mon dossier ACC. Une application Web pour la barrette du Bomber Command et le certificat des vétérans de la guerre de Corée est disponible dans le site Web d’ACC. L’information recueillie sera conservée électroniquement dans une application Novell conçue spécialement pour les distinctions honorifiques et citations d’ACC.

Certains documents que reçoit ACC du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) pourraient contenir le numéro d’assurance sociale du client, car les employés du MDN devaient l’utiliser comme numéro d’identification personnel de 1960 à 1990.

Catégorie de personnes : Le grand public, les vétérans du Canada, les membres de leur famille, les aidants désignés auprès des vétérans, les jeunes, les membres des FAC, les membres de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), les vétérans des forces alliées, les infirmières militaires, et/ou leurs représentants, les représentants des médias, les représentants d’organismes de vétérans, les parlementaires, les membres du personnel médical et les employés d’ACC, les entrepreneurs, les fournisseurs de services et les représentants de divers ordres de gouvernement à l’étranger et dignitaires étrangers.

But : Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis conformément au décret C.P. 1948 -811 et au décret C.P. 1965-688, en vertu desquels le ministre des Anciens Combattants s’est vu confier la responsabilité des « cérémonies au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada 1914-1918, des cérémonies du Souvenir liées aux morts de la guerre à l’extérieur du Canada et des services nationaux organisés au Canada pour perpétuer le souvenir des morts de la guerre, ou les sujets connexes ». Cette information est utilisée pour administrer tous les aspects de l’organisation et du soutien des événements et des cérémonies de commémoration, au Canada et à l’étranger. Elle sert aussi à établir l’admissibilité à l’égard des distinctions honorifiques et des citations et à la remise des médailles et des prix, y compris le remplacement des décorations et citations pour les vétérans admissibles ou les membres de leur famille, ainsi qu’à rendre hommage à ceux qui servent les vétérans, par le truchement de la Mention élogieuse du ministre.

Usages compatibles : Dans certaines circonstances, les renseignements peuvent être divulgués aux pays d’accueil pour évaluer l’admissibilité des personnes. Les renseignements personnels peuvent être utilisés et communiqués aux fins de planification, de recherche, d’élaboration, d’évaluation ou de préparation de rapports sur des programmes, des politiques et des services. L’utilisation et la communication sont limitées aux domaines d’ACC qui sont liés au programme ciblé, aux services et aux politiques. Les renseignements peuvent également être communiqués à la haute direction. L’information est utilisée pour organiser le déplacement des délégués qui participent à des cérémonies et événements au Canada et à l’étranger.

L’information est communiquée à des tiers ou à d’autres établissements gouvernementaux, au besoin, en vue de la planification d’une expérience de voyage sécuritaire, sans stress et harmonieuse pour les délégués. Les renseignements sur la santé des délégués sont communiqués aux membres du personnel médical contractuel d’ACC pour qu’ils soient au courant de leur état de santé et des exigences de voyage. Si un délégué exige des soins médicaux additionnels que le personnel et le personnel médical d’ACC n’est pas en mesure de lui prodiguer, les renseignements sur la santé au sujet du délégué (p. ex. niveau de traitement administré, symptômes, etc.) seront communiqués aux autorités locales afin d’assurer la prestation d’une aide médicale appropriée.

Le nom, l’information figurant sur le passeport, les besoins spéciaux et tout autre renseignement utile peuvent être communiqués aux coordonnateurs de voyages et d’événements et à leurs partenaires, notamment : les organisations municipales, les organismes de vétérans, le MDN, Affaires mondiales Canada, la GRC et les fonctionnaires de gouvernements étrangers. Certains renseignements recueillis au sujet des vétérans et d’autres personnes relativement aux événements commémoratifs, et avec le consentement approprié, peuvent être publiés sur le site Internet ou intranet d’ACC ou figurer dans des communiqués de presse.

Les renseignements personnels des délégués peuvent être communiqués à 17 institutions désignées, dont le mandat porte sur la sécurité nationale, en réponse à des menaces pouvant porter atteinte à la sécurité du Canada. Cette divulgation de renseignements peut se faire conformément à la Loi sur la communication d’information ayant trait à la sécurité du Canada, qui vise à accroître l’efficacité et la rapidité de l’échange de renseignements à des fins liées à la sécurité nationale en établissant un seul instrument habilitant permettant à toutes les institutions fédérales de communiquer des renseignements à certains destinataires désignés.

Les renseignements personnels que reçoit ACC peuvent être communiqués à d’autres programmes d’ACC afin de déterminer si les personnes sont admissibles à d’autres prestations ou aux fins des activités commémoratives, le cas échéant.

Les renseignements personnels peuvent être communiqués au MDN pour obtenir des documents sur le service, lesquels servent à déterminer l’admissibilité aux distinctions honorifiques et aux citations (consulter les fichiers de renseignements personnels propres à l’institution : Histoire, patrimoine et distinctions honorifiques – MDN PPE 823).

Conformément à un protocole d’entente établi, les renseignements personnels peuvent être communiqués à Bibliothèque et archives Canada (BAC) pour obtenir des documents sur le service, lesquels servent à déterminer l’admissibilité aux distinctions honorifiques et aux citations (consulter les fichiers de renseignements personnels propres à l’institution : fichiers de renseignements personnels sur le personnel militaire – BAC PPU 024).

Les états de service et les documents connexes, ainsi que les renseignements personnels inscrits dans les formulaires de mise en candidature pour la Mention élogieuse du ministre des Anciens Combattants, peuvent servir à établir l’admissibilité.

Normes de conservation et de destruction : Les détails liés à la conservation de l’information sont actuellement à l’étude.

Numéro ADD : 2017/002

Documents connexes : Catégorie de documents associée aux fonctions, aux programmes et aux activités institutionnels suivants : Avantages, services et soutien, et Autres fonds de renseignements d’ACC.

Numéro d’enregistrement au SCT : 002280

Numéro de fichier : ACC PPU 621

Date de modification :