Forward Regulatory Plan

A forward regulatory plan is a public list or description of anticipated regulatory changes or actions that a department intends to bring forward or undertake in a specified time frame. It is intended to give consumers, business, other stakeholders and trading partners greater opportunity to inform the development of regulations and to plan for the future. It should be noted that this forward regulatory plan will be adjusted and updated over time as Veterans Affairs Canada's operating environment also changes over time.

This plan provides information on planned and potential regulatory initiatives that Veterans Affairs Canada expects to bring forward over the next two years. It also identifies public consultation opportunities and a departmental contact point for each regulatory initiative.

Foward Regulatory Plans

For more information

To learn about consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit Canada Gazette or Consulting with Canadians.


Forward Regulatory Plan: Winter 2018

This plan provides information on regulatory proposals that Veterans Affairs Canada expects to bring forward over the next two years. It also identifies public consultation opportunities and a departmental contact point for each regulatory initiative.

Last Updated: January 2018

1. Proposed Amendments to the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Regulations Pain and Suffering Compensation

Description of the Objective

To recognize and compensate members and Veterans for the non-economic effects of their service-related disabilities, including pain and suffering, functional loss and the effects of permanent impairment on their lives and the lives of their families.

Description of the Regulation

The main objective of the proposed regulatory amendment is to:

Support amendments to the Act enabling the current Disability Award to be replaced with a new benefit for pain and suffering, payable monthly, with a choice of a lump sum.

Enabling Act

The Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act

Indication of business impacts

There is no expected business impact.

Public Consultation Opportunities

Key stakeholder organizations will be advised about the Notice of Intent's publication in the Canada Gazette. Information regarding the consultation will be posted on the Consulting with Canadians website.

2. Proposed Amendments to the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Regulations Additional Pain and Suffering Compensation

Description of the Objective

To recognize and compensate Veterans for the non-economic loss associated with the barriers to re-establishment in civilian life caused by their service-related permanent and severe impairments.

Description of the Regulation

The main objective of the proposed regulatory amendment is to:

Support amendments to the Act to enable the establishment of a new monthly benefit, exclusively for Veterans.

Enabling Act

The Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act

Indication of business impacts

There is no expected business impact.

Public Consultation Opportunities

Key stakeholder organizations will be advised about the Notice of Intent's publication in the Canada Gazette. Information regarding the consultation will be posted on the Consulting with Canadians website.

3. Proposed Amendments to the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Regulations Income Replacement Benefit

Description of the Objective

To provide an income support benefit, which also includes recognition of potential loss of career progression, to Veterans who are experiencing barriers to re-establishment in post-service life due to a health problem resulting primarily from service. In some cases survivors and orphans may be eligible for the benefit.

Description of the Regulation

The main objective of the proposed regulatory amendment is to:

Support amendments to the Act to enable the Earning Loss Benefit and Extended Earnings Loss Benefit; the Retirement Income Security Benefit; Supplementary Retirement Benefit; and, the Career Impact Allowance and Supplement to be replaced with a single Income Replacement Benefit, payable monthly.

Enabling Act

The Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act

Indication of business impacts

There is no expected business impact.

Public Consultation Opportunities

Key stakeholder organizations will be advised about the Notice of Intent's publication in the Canada Gazette. Information regarding the consultation will be posted on the Consulting with Canadians website.

Departmental contact

Katherine Morrow
Director, Cabinet Business Unit
Strategic Oversight and Communications Branch
Veterans Affairs Canada
PO Box 7700
Charlottetown, PE
C1A 8M9

Tel: (902) 566-6890
E-mail: Katherine.Morrow@vac-acc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Plan prospectif de réglementation

Le plan prospectif de la réglementation se présente sous la forme d'une liste ou d'une description, accessible au public, qui répertorie les modifications réglementaires qu'un ministère entend, effectivement ou potentiellement, apporter dans un délai établi. Il a pour objet de donner aux consommateurs, aux entreprises ainsi qu'aux autres intervenants et partenaires commerciaux la possibilité d'intervenir au niveau de l'élaboration des règlements et de planifier l'avenir. Il importe néanmoins de noter que ce plan est appelé à être modifié et mis à jour au fur et à mesure que le contexte opérationnel d'Ancien Combattants Canada change.

Le présent plan fournit des renseignements sur les initiatives de réglementation prévues ou possibles que Ancien Combattants Canada entend, effectivement ou potentiellement, mener au cours des deux prochaines années. Il décrit également les possibilités de consultation publique et fournir des renseignements relatifs à la personne ressource du ministère pour chacune de ces initiatives.

Plans prospectif de réglementation

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter Gazette du Canada ou Consultations auprès des Canadiens.


Plan prospectif de la réglementation : Hiver 2018

Le présent plan fournit des renseignements sur les propositions de réglementation que Ancien Combattant Canada compte présenter au cours des deux prochaines années. Il décrit également les possibilités de consultation publique et contient des informations sur la personne-ressource du ministère pour chacune des initiatives de réglementation.

Mise a jour : Janvier 2018

1. Modifications proposées à la Règlement sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes indemnité pour douleur et souffrance

Description de l’objectif

Reconnaître et compenser les effets non financiers des invalidités liées au service des militaires et des vétérans, y compris la douleur et la souffrance, les pertes fonctionnelles et les effets d'une déficience permanente sur leur vie et celle de leur famille.

Description du règlement

Le principal objectif de la modification réglementaire proposée est le suivant :

Appuyer les modifications à la Loi permettant de remplacer l'indemnité d'invalidité actuelle par une nouvelle indemnité pour douleur et souffrance payable mensuellement ou sous forme d'un paiement forfaitaire.

Loi habilitante

La Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d'indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes

Incidence sur les activités

Aucune incidence n'est prévue.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Les principaux organismes d'intervenants seront informés de la publication de l'avis d'intention dans la Gazette du Canada. L'information concernant la consultation sera affichée sur le site Web Consultation auprès des Canadiens.

2. Modifications proposées à la Règlement sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes indemnité supplémentaire pour douleur et souffrance

Description de l’objectif

Reconnaître et compenser les effets non financiers des entraves à la réinsertion dans la vie civile auxquelles se heurtent les vétérans en raison de leur déficience permanente et grave liée au service.

Description du règlement

Le principal objectif de la modification réglementaire proposée est le suivant :

Appuyer les modifications à la Loi afin de permettre la création d'une nouvelle indemnité mensuelle exclusivement pour les vétérans.

Loi habilitante

La Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d'indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes

Incidence sur les activités

Aucune incidence n'est prévue.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Les principaux organismes d'intervenants seront informés de la publication de l'avis d'intention dans la Gazette du Canada. L'information concernant la consultation sera affichée sur le site Web Consultation auprès des Canadiens.

3. Modifications proposées à la Règlement sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes prestation de remplacement du revenu

Description de l’objectif

Offrir une prestation de soutien du revenu, qui reconnaît également la perte de possibilités d'avancement professionnel, aux vétérans qui se heurtent à des entraves à la réinsertion dans la vie civile en raison d'un problème de santé découlant principalement de leur service. Dans certains cas, les survivants et les orphelins pourraient être admissibles à la prestation.

Description du règlement

Le principal objectif de la modification réglementaire proposée est le suivant :

Appuyer les modifications à la Loi afin de permettre que l'allocation pour perte de revenus, l'allocation pour perte de revenus prolongée, l'allocation de sécurité du revenu de retraite, la prestation de retraite supplémentaire, l'allocation pour incidence sur la carrière et le supplément à l'allocation pour incidence sur la carrière soit remplacés par une seule prestation de remplacement du revenu, payable mensuellement.

Loi habilitante

La Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d'indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes

Incidence sur les activités

Aucune incidence n'est prévue.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Les principaux organismes d'intervenants seront informés de la publication de l'avis d'intention dans la Gazette du Canada. L'information concernant la consultation sera affichée sur le site Web Consultation auprès des Canadiens.

Personne-ressource au Ministère

Katherine Morrow
Directrice, Unité d'information au Cabinet
Secteur de la supervision stratégique et des communications
Anciens Combattants Canada
C. P. 7700
Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
C1A 8M9

Tél: (902) 566-6890
Courriel: Katherine.Morrow@vac-acc.gc.ca

Date de modification :