Language selection

Rwanda Stage 1

Background to the conflict

Violence between Rwanda's governing Hutus and the Rwandan Patriotic Front headed toward a full-scale civil war.

Pre-1993


Rwanda

Rwanda

Rwanda is a small, densely-populated rural nation in central Africa. It covers about 26,000 square kilometres, about half the size of Nova Scotia, Canada. In the early 1990s, Rwanda’s population was approximately eight million people.

Hutus and Tutsis

The Hutu and Tutsi tribes form the majority of the country’s population. The minority Tutsis dominated Rwanda's economy and politics for centuries. In 1960, the Hutus rose up and forced hundreds of thousands of Tutsis to flee the country. Rwanda became independent in 1961 but the unrest continued. Some of the Tutsis who had fled the country formed rebel groups and tried to make an armed comeback in Rwanda. This led to decades of ethnic violence and tensions.

Rwandan Patriotic Front

In the late 1980s, the Rwandan Patriotic Front was formed. Its members were Tutsis and moderate Hutus who fled the country. They soon began attacks on Rwanda to challenge its Hutu government. These new rounds of violence displaced hundreds of thousands more Rwandans. The situation headed toward a full-scale civil war.


Classroom materials

Classroom materials main page

Lesson plan: 12-18

Humanitarian aid tree

Lesson plan: All ages

Peace and Freedom WebQuest

historical sheet

Rwanda

Open PDF
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Rwanda phase 1

Contexte du conflit

La violence entre les Hutus au pouvoir au Rwanda et le Front patriotique rwandais se dirige vers une guerre civile de grande ampleur.

Avant 1993


Rwanda

Rwanda

Le Rwanda est un petit pays rural d’Afrique centrale densément peuplé. Il a une superficie d’environ 26 000 kilomètres carrés, soit environ la moitié de la superficie de la Nouvelle-Écosse, au Canada. Au début des années 1990, le Rwanda comptait environ huit millions d’habitants.

Hutus et Tutsis

Les tribus hutus et tutsis forment la majorité de la population du pays. Même s’ils étaient minoritaires, les Tutsis ont dominé l’économie et la politique du Rwanda pendant des siècles. En 1960, les Hutus se sont révoltés et ont obligé des centaines de milliers de Tutsis à s’enfuir du pays. Le Rwanda a acquis son indépendance en 1961, mais la crise s’est poursuivie. Certains des Tutsis qui avaient fui le pays ont formé des groupes de rebelles et essayé de faire un retour armé au Rwanda, ce qui a mené à des décennies de violences et de tensions ethniques.

Front patriotique rwandais

À la fin des années 1980, le Front patriotique rwandais a été formé. Ses membres étaient des Tutsis et des Hutus modérés qui s’étaient enfuis du pays. Ils ont rapidement commencé à attaquer le Rwanda pour contester son gouvernement hutu. Ces nouvelles vagues de violence ont déplacé des centaines de milliers de Rwandais de plus. La situation allait mener à une guerre civile de grande envergure.


Ressources d'apprentissage

Page principale des ressources d'apprentissage

Plan de leçon : Tous âges

Cyber-recherche sur la paix et la liberté

Plan de leçon : 12 à 18 ans

Arbre de l'aide humanitaire

Feuillet historique

Rwanda

Ouvrir PDF
Date de modification :