Home Learning Corner
The Liberation of the Netherlands


The Liberation of the Netherlands is one of the best-known chapters from our country’s military history. The Canadians who fought to free the Dutch people in 1944-1945 played an important role in the Allied efforts to bring the Second World War to an end in Europe. You can use these resources to help the young people in your home learn more about this important campaign.

Formal lesson plans for these activities are also available and can be found in our classroom page


Ages 5-7 - Flowers of Friendship

The Dutch people suffered great hardships after the Netherlands was invaded and occupied during the Second World War. Early in the conflict, our country invited members of the Dutch royal family to come live in the safety of Canada. To say thank you, Princess Juliana sent tens of thousands of tulip bulbs to Canada after the war and the two countries remain close friends today.

Tulips

Flowers of Friendship

Read more about this story and the special symbolism of tulips with the younger children in your home.

Tulip Colouring Sheet

Tulip Colouring sheet

Print off a tulip colouring sheet for your children. They may wish to colour them in shades of pink and purple (Princess Juliana’s favourites), orange (a traditional Dutch colour), or red and white (the colours of the Canadian flag). Hang them in your windows to share with neighbours walking by!

Ages 8-12 - A Handmade Gift of Love

During the Second World War, Canadians helped the Dutch people in many ways and the people of the Netherlands also provided friendship for our soldiers serving so far from home. Many personal connections were made and a warm bond of friendship was forged between our two countries that endures to this day. This learning activity explores one way that Canadian soldiers reached out to those in need.

Handmade Coat

A Handmade Gift of Love

Read a short story about a heart-warming episode that saw our soldiers make a coat for a little Dutch girl whose family had lost so much in the war.

Tulips

Handmade Gift of Love Cruncher Activity

Play a memory game with the young people in your house using a “cruncher” to see what they remember about the little coat story.

Tulips

The Cretier Coat video

Watch an interesting video about the little girl’s coat produced by the Virtual Museum of Canada.

Ages 12-14 - Resisting Bullying

When Germany invaded the Netherlands during the Second World War, it was an act of bullying on a large scale. The Dutch resistance movement was soon organized to fight back and also to try to help the Jewish people who were being persecuted in their country. The Dutch found many ways to resist the German occupation. It was brave, but very dangerous.

Mona Parsons

From Privilege to Prison – Mona Parsons

One woman in the Netherlands who risked her life to hide Allied airmen shot down over the country was actually a Canadian! Read the story of Mona Parsons with your children.

Mona Parsons

Mona Parsons Heritage Minute

Historica Canada created a powerful vignette about Mona Parsons’s brave actions. Watch it with the young people in your house.

Liberation of the Netherlands - video

Heroes Remember the Liberation of the Netherlands Video

You can learn more about the efforts to free the Netherlands from those who personally experienced it – Canadian Veterans who were there.

Ages 15-17 - Liberation of the Netherlands fact quest

Remembering those who have served in the cause of peace and freedom over the years is an important part of being a good Canadian. This activity will allow young people learn more about the Liberation of the Netherlands by watching a short video and reading a brief historical sheet about the campaign, then answering a series of questions on what they have seen.

Heroes Remember the Liberation of the Netherlands video

Heroes Remember the Liberation of the Netherlands video

Watch this ten-minute video in which Veterans share their memories of fighting in the Netherlands. Young people can also fill out the accompanying question sheet as they do so.

[Answer sheet]

Heroes Remember the Liberation of the Netherlands video

Canada Remembers the Liberation of the Netherlands historical sheet

Read this succinct overview of the Liberation of the Netherlands and have young people fill out the accompanying question sheet.

[Answer sheet]

Ages 15-18 - Liberation of the Netherlands Dog Tags

This dog tag activity is designed to help youth at home ”put a face on remembrance.” Canada’s efforts in the Netherlands during the Second World War came at a high cost. More than 7,600 Canadians in uniform died to help liberate the country. Taking a few moments to think about a person who died there is a way to honour all those who served - and our remembrance dog tags can help.

Dog Tags

Liberation of the Netherlands Dog Tags

Print off a dog tag page and cut out some individual tags. Make two holes in each of them and attach a piece of string or yarn to wear around the neck. Youth can also research the individual on the Canadian Virtual War Memorial and add their fallen Canadian’s service number and age directly on the dog tag.

Other learning resources for your home

We hope that you find these resources useful with your youth for home learning. If you would like more in-depth lesson plans, we encourage you to explore our other educational materials on the Liberation of the Netherlands.

Online learning opportunities are also available from a variety of other sources.

Liberation75

Liberation75

Through an initiative launched by the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, with the support of several Canadian partners including the Canadian Tulip Festival, some 1,100 schools from across our country planted special Liberation75 tulip bulbs last fall. These beautiful flowers of remembrance that will bloom this spring honour the brave Canadians who liberated the Netherlands, but young people can also learn more in other ways. Check out their “Liberation75” education guide today to learn more.

Project 44

Project'44

On the 75th anniversary of V-E Day and the end of the Second World War in Europe, Defining Moments Canada is honoured to collaborate with The Juno Beach Centre and The Canadian Research and Mapping Association (Project44.ca) to offer educators around the country a series of FREE educational resources to help their students think critically about the legacy of this defining Canadian moment.

Defining Moments Canada

Defining Moments Canada

With the goal of having students explore and commemorate the stories of Canadians during the “Victory Campaign” from autumn 1944 to spring 1945, our digital mapping tools, inquiry-based lesson plans, storytelling resources, and vast array of supplementary material will have your students delving deeper than ever into VEDay75 and its implications for the people – and country – that lived it.

The Legacy Series

The Canada Aviation and Space Museum

The Canada Aviation and Space Museum is pleased to present The Legacy Series, a collection of free teaching tools to engage your students in powerful stories of the Second World War. This original documentary film series — created by Canadian film students in partnership with film professionals and the museum — showcases compelling, personal accounts of the Second World War, told through the lens of aviation. Explore The Legacy Series today.

Explore Juno from Home

Explore Juno from Home

During this period, we’re bringing the Juno Beach Centre to your home. On this page, you will find some activities from the museum’s youth circuit, Explore Juno as a Family.

Date modified:

Coin de l’apprentissage à la maison
La libération des Pays-Bas


La libération des Pays-Bas est l’un des chapitres de l’histoire militaire du pays les plus connus. Les Canadiens qui ont combattu pour libérer les Néerlandais en 1944 et en 1945 ont joué un rôle important dans les efforts alliés pour mettre fin à la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Europe. Vous pouvez utiliser ces ressources pour aider vos jeunes à en apprendre davantage sur cette importante campagne.

Des plans de leçons plus traditionnels pour ces activités sont aussi disponibles en consultant la page des ressources d'apprentissage.


5 À 7 ANS - Les fleurs de l’amitié

Les Néerlandais ont enduré de grandes difficultés après que les Pays-Bas ont été envahis et occupés par les Allemands pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Au début du conflit, notre pays a invité la famille royale néerlandaise à vivre en sécurité au Canada. En guise de remerciements, la princesse Juliana a envoyé des dizaines de milliers de bulbes de tulipes au Canada après la guerre et les deux pays sont restés de proches amis depuis.

Tulips

Les fleurs de l’amitié

Apprenez-en davantage sur cette histoire et sur le symbole spécial des tulipes avec vos jeunes enfants à la maison.

Tulip Colouring Sheet

Feuille à colorier de tulipes

Imprimez la feuille à colorier de tulipes pour vos enfants. Ils aimeraient peut-être les colorier en rose et en violet (les couleurs préférées de la princesse Juliana), en orange (une couleur traditionnelle néerlandaise) ou en rouge et en blanc (les couleurs du drapeau canadien). Affichez-les ensuite sur vos fenêtres pour que vos voisins les voient lorsqu’ils prennent leur marche!

8 À 12 ANS – Un cadeau d’amour fait à la main

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les Canadiens ont aidé les Néerlandais de différentes façons et ces derniers se sont également liés d’amitié avec nos soldats qui servaient si loin de chez eux. De nombreuses connexions personnelles ont été faites et un chaleureux lien d’amitié, qui est encore intact à ce jour, s’est formé entre nos deux pays. Cette activité éducative montre l’une des façons dont les soldats canadiens ont aidé les personnes dans le besoin.

Handmade Coat

Le petit manteau, un cadeau d’amour fait à la main

Lisez une courte histoire sur un moment émouvant où nos soldats ont fabriqué un petit manteau pour une fillette néerlandaise dont la famille avait tant perdu pendant la guerre.

Tulips

Activité de la cocotte sur le cadeau d’amour fait à la main

Jouez à un jeu de mémoire avec vos jeunes à la maison au moyen d’une « cocotte » pour voir ce qu’ils ont retenu de l’histoire du petit manteau.

Tulips

Vidéo sur le manteau de Sussie Cretier

Visionnez la vidéo captivante sur le manteau de la fillette créée par le Musée virtuel du Canada.

12 À 14 ANS – Résister à l’intimidation

Lorsque l’Allemagne a envahi les Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ce fut un énorme acte d’intimidation. Le mouvement de résistance néerlandais a vite été créé pour se défendre et également pour essayer d’aider les Juifs qui étaient persécutés dans leur pays. Les Néerlandais ont trouvé de nombreuses façons de résister à l’occupation allemande. Il s’agissait là d’un acte de courage très dangereux.

Mona Parsons

De l’opulence à la prison – Mona Parsons

Une femme qui a risqué sa vie aux Pays-Bas pour cacher des aviateurs alliés dont les avions avaient été abattus partout dans le pays était, en fait, canadienne! Apprenez-en davantage sur l’histoire de Mona Parsons en compagnie de vos enfants.

Mona Parsons

Minute du patrimoine sur Mona Parsons

Historica Canada a créé une capsule percutante sur les actions courageuses de Mona Parsons. Visionnez la capsule avec vos jeunes à la maison.

Liberation of the Netherlands - video

Vidéos Des héros se racontent « Libération des Pays-Bas »

Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur les efforts de libération des Pays-Bas grâce au vécu personnel des vétérans canadiens qui y ont participé.

15 À 17 ANS – Quête des faits sur la libération des Pays-Bas

Se souvenir de ceux qui ont servi pour maintenir la paix et la liberté au fil des ans est considéré important afin d’être un bon Canadien. Cette activité permettra aux jeunes d’en apprendre davantage sur la libération des Pays-Bas grâce à une courte vidéo et à la lecture d’une courte fiche historique au sujet de la campagne. Ils pourront ensuite répondre à une série de questions sur ce qu’ils viennent d’apprendre.

Vidéo Des héros se racontent « Libération des Pays-Bas »

Vidéo Des héros se racontent « Libération des Pays-Bas »

Visionnez cette vidéo de 10 minutes dans laquelle des vétérans racontent leur souvenir des combats aux Pays-Bas. Vos jeunes peuvent également remplir la feuille de questions pendant qu’ils écoutent la vidéo.

[Feuille de réponses]

Fiche historique Le Canada se souvient « La Libération des Pays-Bas »

Fiche historique Le Canada se souvient « La Libération des Pays-Bas »

Lisez le présent aperçu de la libération des Pays-Bas et demandez à vos enfants de remplir la feuille de questions correspondante.

[Feuille de réponses]

15 À 18 ANS – Plaques d’identité de la libération des Pays-Bas

La présente activité sur les plaques d’identité est conçue pour aider vos jeunes à « mettre un visage sur le Souvenir ». Les efforts du Canada aux Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ont eu un lourd tribut : plus de 7 600 Canadiens en uniforme ont perdu la vie pour aider à libérer le pays. Prendre un moment pour penser à une personne y ayant laissé sa vie est une façon de rendre hommage à tous ceux et celles qui ont servi. Nos plaques d’identité du Souvenir peuvent aider.

Plaques d’identité de la libération des Pays-Bas

Plaques d’identité de la libération des Pays-Bas

Imprimez la feuille des plaques d’identité et découpez-en quelques-unes. Faites deux trous (là où il y a des cercles) et attachez-y une ficelle ou une corde pour permettre de porter la plaque autour du cou. Vous pouvez également effectuer une recherche des personnes figurant sur les plaques à partir du Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada et ajouter leur numéro matricule et leur âge directement sur leur plaque respective.

Autres ressources d’apprentissage à la maison

Nous espérons que vous avez trouvé ces ressources utiles pour l’apprentissage à la maison avec vos jeunes. Si vous souhaitez obtenir des plans de leçon plus détaillés, nous vous encourageons à consulter nos autres ressources d’apprentissage sur la libération des
Pays-Bas
.

Des possibilités d’apprentissage en ligne sont également disponibles à partir de différentes sources.

Liberation 75

Libération 75

Dans le cadre d’une initiative lancée par l’ambassade des Pays-Bas, avec l’appui de plusieurs partenaires canadiens, y compris le Festival canadien des tulipes, quelque 1 100 écoles du pays ont planté, l’automne dernier, des bulbes de tulipes spéciaux pour commémorer le 75e anniversaire de la libération. Ces belles fleurs du Souvenir fleuriront ce printemps pour rendre hommage aux Canadiens courageux qui ont libéré les Pays-Bas. Les jeunes peuvent toutefois en apprendre davantage à cet égard; consultez le guide pédagogique « Libération 75 » pour en savoir plus.

Project 44

Project'44

Dans le cadre du 75e anniversaire du jour de la Victoire en Europe et de la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Europe, Moments Déterminants Canada a l’honneur de collaborer avec la Canadian Research and Mapping Association (Project44.ca) pour offrir aux éducateurs du pays une série de ressources éducationnelles GRATUITES afin d’aider leurs élèves à penser de manière critique au patrimoine de ces moments déterminants du Canada.

Defining Moments Canada

Moments déterminants Canada

L’objectif de nos outils de cartographie numérique, de nos plans de leçon fondés sur la recherche, de nos ressources de récits d’histoire et de notre vaste gamme de matériel supplémentaire est d’encourager les élèves à découvrir et à commémorer les histoires de Canadiens et Canadiennes qui ont participé à la campagne de la victoire entre l’automne 1944 et le printemps 1945. Vos élèves exploreront plus en profondeur le 75e anniversaire du jour de la Victoire en Europe et ses répercussions sur les personnes qui l’ont vécu ainsi que pour notre pays.

The Legacy Series

Le Musée de l’aviation et de l’espace du Canada

Le Musée de l’aviation et de l’espace du Canada a le plaisir de présenter la série Échos, une collection d’outils pédagogiques gratuits pour montrer à vos élèves des histoires frappantes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Cette série documentaire originale, créée par des étudiants en cinéma canadiens en partenariat avec des professionnels du cinéma et le Musée, présente de puissants témoignages personnels de la Seconde Guerre mondiale du point de vue de l’aviation. Découvrez la série Échos dès aujourd’hui.

Explore Juno à la masion

Explore Juno à la masion

Durant cette période, le Centre Juno Beach s’invite à la maison. Sur cette page, vous trouverez quelques activités issues du parcours jeune public du musée, Explore Juno en famille.

Date de modification :