Remembrance timeline

Date Conflict Event Description
1899-10-11 South African War War breaks out between the British and the Boers who had been engulfed in conflict for over fifty years. The South African War marks the first occasion in which large contingents of Canadian troops serve abroad.

More Information Learning Image

1899-10-30 South African War One thousand men are recruited to form the First Contingent, called the 2nd (Special Service) Battalion of the Royal Canadian Regiment. The contingent, including doctors and nurses, sails from Québec City to South Africa on a converted cattle ship called the Sardinian.

More Information Learning Image

1899-11-29 South African War Canada's first contingent of troops arrives at Cape Town to begin their service in South Africa. The men have been at sea for a month, crammed into the troopship Sardinian.

More Information Learning Image

1900-02-11 South African War Canadian troops are moved to the front for the first time. They march through the dusty grassland in temperatures over 40 degrees Celsius.

More Information Learning Image

1900-02-18 South African War The Battle of Paardeberg begins. It is the first time Canadians (2nd Special Service Battalion of the Royal Canadian Regiment) see battle, and is hailed as a great national triumph for Canada. The Canadian losses consist of 18 dead and 68 wounded on the first day of battle.

More Information Learning

1900-03-16 South African War The Third Canadian Contingent, Strathcona’s Horse leaves Canada for South Africa.

More Information Learning

1900-04-20 South African War For his actions on this day, Lieutenant William Henry Snyder Nickerson will be awarded the Victoria Cross.

More Information Learning Image

1900-05-10 South African War The 2nd (Special Service) Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry, advance toward the Zand River. Despite being outnumbered by better than ten to one at some stages of the battle, the Canadian stand fast. Canadian casualties are two killed and two wounded.

More Information Learning Image

1900-05-16 South African War Despite being both outnumbered and outranged, C Battery, Royal Canadian Field Artillery gunners succeed in driving the Boers from the road leading into Mafeking.

More Information Learning

1900-05-30 South African War At Faber's Put, South Africa, two Canadian gun teams move their artillery pieces across a fire-swept field and bring them into action. One man is killed and seven are wounded.

More Information Learning

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Chronologie des événements

Date Conflit Description
1899-10-11 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud La guerre est déclarée entre les impérialistes britanniques et les Boers qui étaient enlisés dans un conflit depuis plus de cinquante ans. La guerre d'Afrique du Sud marque la première fois où de larges contingents de militaires canadiens servent outre-mer.

Plus d’information Apprentissage Image

1899-10-30 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud Un millier d’hommes sont recrutés pour former le Premier contingent, appelé le 2e Bataillon (service spécial), Royal Canadian Regiment. Ce contingent, qui comporte des médecins et des infirmières, quitte Québec pour l’Afrique du Sud à bord d’un ancien navire de transport de bétail du nom de Sardinian.

Plus d’information Apprentissage Image

1899-11-29 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud Le premier contingent de troupes du Canada arrive à Cape Town pour prendre son service en Afrique du Sud. Les hommes sont à bord depuis un mois, serrés dans le transport de troupes Sardinian.

Plus d’information Apprentissage Image

1900-02-11 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud Les troupes canadiennes sont portées au front pour la première fois. Elles progressent dans des herbages sous des températures dépassant 40° Celsius.

Plus d’information Apprentissage Image

1900-02-18 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud La bataille de Paardeberg commence. Les Canadiens (2e Bataillon de service spécial du Royal Canadian Regiment) sont pour la première fois au combat, et cette bataille est saluée comme un grand triomphe national pour le Canada. Les pertes canadiennes s’élèvent à 18 morts et 68 blessés le premier jour des combats.

Plus d’information Apprentissage

1900-03-16 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud Le troisième contingent canadien du Lord Strathcona’s Horse quitte le Canada pour l’Afrique du Sud.

Plus d’information Apprentissage

1900-04-20 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud Le lieutenant William Henry Snyder Nickerson sera décoré de la Croix de Victoria pour ses actions en ce jour.

Plus d’information Apprentissage Image

1900-05-10 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud Le 2e (Service spécial) Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry, avance vers la rivière Zand. En sous-nombre, à plus de 10 contre 1 à certaines phases du combat, les Canadiens tiennent bon. Ils compteront deux morts et deux blessés dans leurs rangs.

Plus d’information Apprentissage Image

1900-05-16 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud En sous-nombre et avec une portée de tir inférieure, les mitrailleurs de la Batterie C, Royal Canadian Field Artillery, parviennent à dévier les Boers de la route de Mafeking.

Plus d’information Apprentissage

1900-05-30 Guerre d’Afrique du Sud À Faber's Put, en Afrique du Sud, deux équipes de mitrailleurs canadiens traversent un champ de tir avec des mitrailleuses et les mettent en service. Un homme est tué et sept sont blessés.

Plus d’information Apprentissage

Date de modification :