Got a “Minute” to Remember the Forgotten Battle of Kapyong?

Aim:

To familiarize students with the contributions and sacrifices made by Canadians in the Korean War, and particularly during the Battle of Kapyong.

Learning Outcomes:

Students will be expected to demonstrate an understanding of the significance of the Battle of Kapyong, as an important Canadian military battle.

Target Audience:

This activity is aimed at youth aged 12 to 18 years.

Required Class Resources:

Sequence of Activities and Anticipated Time Frame:

Step 1 - Introduction (10 minutes)

Discuss with your students that the next time they are talking on a Samsung phone, or driving in a Hyundai, (both of which were developed in South Korea), they might just give a thought to the Canadians who served in the Korean War and fought in the Battle of Kapyong.

Inform your students, that at the Battle of Kapyong in 1951, Canadian soldiers helped stop a communist invasion force from overrunning the Kapyong Valley and – in the view of many historians – stopped them from ultimately capturing Seoul, the present-day capital of South Korea.

The fighting was intense, and unimaginable bravery was shown by Canadian troops facing "human waves" of hundreds of enemy soldiers.

Watch the Land of the Morning Calm "Kapyong" video to get an introduction to the battle and listen to the perspectives of Canadian Veterans, who were there.

Step 2 - Understanding the Battle of Kapyong (15 minutes)

Divide your students into groups of 4 - 5. Provide each student with the historical sheet on the Battle of Kapyong and give them time to each read it to become more familiar with the important battle.

Following their readings, discuss in groups and as a class.

Next, either project the image on a screen or provide each of the groups with a print out of the image "Holding at Kapyong" (depicting 2nd Battalion Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry being re-supplied by air on the morning after the battle, by artist Ted Zuber). Ask them to discuss in their groups what they think is happening. Based on what they heard from Veterans in the video, how do they think the soldier’s are feeling at that moment?

Follow up with a group discussion. Ted Zuber’s work "Holding at Kapyong" depicts an important moment. If the airdrop had not been successful, the Patricia’s situation could have become disastrous. After fighting all night, and being almost out of ammunition, food and medical supplies, they would have been vulnerable if the Chinese were to attack again.

Step 3 - Got a "Minute" to Remember? (20 minutes)

Discuss with your students that Kapyong is the classic story of a few against the many, an against-all-odds victory by Canadian soldiers. It has all the ingredients of a good military story.

In their groups, challenge your students to come up with a one minute dramatic representation similar to the Historica Dominion Institute’s Heritage Minutes, of the Battle of Kapyong based on the information they have learned from the historical information sheet, the Kapyong video, and the Ted Zuber painting.

Ask students to write a script and create a storyboard to have a clear idea and to visualize what their presentation will look like. Ask them to rehearse, and/or film, their historical minute.

Step 4 - Closing: Presentations (10 minutes)

Ask the students to present the "minutes" to classmates. If they are recorded, you could upload them to YouTube, link to them on the Canada Remembers Facebook page or share on your school's Web site or blog.

Date modified:

As-tu une « minute » pour te souvenir de la bataille oubliée de Kapyong?

Objectif :

Sensibiliser les élèves aux contributions et aux sacrifices des Canadiens qui ont combattu pendant la guerre de Corée, en particulier pendant la bataille de Kapyong.

Résultats d’apprentissage :

Les élèves devraient mieux comprendre l’importance de la bataille de Kapyong et savoir qu’elle figure parmi les grandes batailles militaires du Canada.

Public cible :

Cette activité s’adresse aux jeunes de 12 à 18 ans.

Ressources :

Séquence des activités et temps prévu :

Étape 1 - Introduction (10 minutes)

Demandez aux élèves de prendre quelques instants, la prochaine fois qu’ils utilisent un téléphone Samsung ou qu’ils montent dans une Hyundai (deux produits conçus en Corée du Sud) pour songer aux Canadiens qui ont servi pendant la guerre de Corée et participé à la bataille de Kapyong.

Expliquez aux élèves que, lors de la bataille de Kapyong, en 1951, les soldats canadiens ont contribué à empêcher les forces communistes d’envahir la vallée de la rivière Kapyong et – de l’avis de nombreux historiens – de capturer Séoul, la capitale actuelle de la Corée du Sud.

Le combat a été intense, et les soldats canadiens ont fait preuve d’une bravoure inimaginable devant les « vagues humaines » de centaines de soldats ennemis.

Regardez la vidéo Kapyong de la série Le pays du matin calme pour familiariser les élèves avec la bataille et leur faire entendre les points de vue de vétérans canadiens qui étaient en Corée.

Étape 2 - Comprendre la bataille de Kapyong (15 minutes)

Divisez la classe en groupes de quatre ou cinq élèves. Remettez à chaque élève le feuillet historique sur la bataille de Kapyong et donnez du temps à la classe pour le lire et se familiariser avec cette bataille importante.

Une fois la lecture terminée, amorcez une discussion, d’abord en petits groupes, puis avec toute la classe.

Ensuite, projetez sur un écran l’œuvre Holding at Kapyong (Tenir le coup à Kapyong) de l’artiste Ted Zuber (qui illustre le 2e Bataillon du Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry en train de recevoir des ravitaillements par voie aérienne dans la matinée qui a suivi la bataille) ou remettez-en un imprimé à chaque groupe. Invitez les élèves à discuter en groupe de ce qu’illustre l’image. À la lumière des récits racontés par les vétérans dans la vidéo, demandez-leur de préciser ce que devaient ressentir les soldats à cet instant précis.

Enchaînez par une discussion en classe. L’œuvre de Ted Zuber, Holding at Kapyong, représente un moment important. Si l’opération de largage avait échoué, la situation du régiment aurait pu devenir désastreuse. Après avoir combattu toute la nuit, les soldats, qui étaient presque à court de munitions, de vivres et de fournitures médicales, auraient été vulnérables à une nouvelle attaque des Chinois.

Étape 3 - As-tu une « minute » pour te souvenir? (20 minutes)

Expliquez aux élèves que la bataille de Kapyong représente le récit classique d’un petit groupe qui en affronte un plus gros – une victoire contre toute attente par les soldats canadiens. Elle possède tous les ingrédients d’un bon récit militaire.

Mettez les élèves au défi de créer, sur le modèle des Minutes du Patrimoine de l’Institut Historica-Dominion, une dramatique d’une minute sur la bataille de Kapyong, en s’inspirant de l’information tirée du feuillet historique, de la vidéo sur la bataille de Kapyong et de la peinture de Ted Zuber.

Demandez aux élèves de rédiger un scénario et de créer des images pour obtenir une idée claire de leur dramatique. Demandez-leur de répéter leur mise en scène ou de filmer leur minute historique.

Étape 4 - Clôture : Présentation des dramatiques (10 minutes)

Demandez aux élèves de présenter leurs « minutes » à la classe. Si elles sont enregistrées, vous pourriez les télécharger sur YouTube, créer un lien y menant sur la page Facebook du Canada se souvient ou les afficher sur le site Web ou le blogue de votre école.

Date de modification :