Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Delbert William George Crowle

In memory of:

Private Delbert William George Crowle

November 3, 1917

Military Service


Service Number:

745947

Age:

22

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Infantry (Eastern Ontario Regiment)

Division:

2nd Bn.

Additional Information


Born:

August 16, 1895

Son of Albert and Alice Crowle, of Oshawa, Ontario.

Commemorated on Page 223 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

VII. C. 11.

Location:

NINE ELMS BRITISH CEMETERY is located 11.5 Km west of Ieper town centre on the Helleketelweg, a road leading from the N308 connecting Ieper to Poperinge. From Ieper town centre the Poperingseweg (N308), is reached via Elverdingsestraat then over two small roundabouts in the J. Capronstraat. The Poperingseweg is a continuation of the J. Capronstraat and begins after a prominent railway level crossing. On reaching the ring road of Poperinge, the R33 Europalaan, the left hand clockwise route circles the town of Poperinge and rejoins the N308 towards Oost Cappel. 2.5 Km around the R33 lies the left hand turning onto Helleketelweg. The cemetery itself is located 700 metres along the Helleketelweg on the left hand side of the road.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Circumstances of death registers– Source: Library and Archives Canada. CIRCUMSTANCES OF DEATH REGISTERS, FIRST WORLD WAR Surnames: Crossley to Cyrs. Microform Sequence 25; Volume Number 31829_B016734. Reference RG150, 1992-93/314, 169. Page 151 of 890.
  • Oshawa War Memorial– The Oshawa Ontario War Memorial (1924) was named "The Garden of the Unforgotten". This elaborate memorial was set with stones from each Great War Allied Nation and from the battlefields where Canadians fought. A pair of electric torches were to remain burning, and a copper time capsule box with artifacts from 1924 was buried under the memorial. In 2002, the Memorial Park was redeveloped and today the park incorporates beautiful gardens. A plaque explaining the redevelopment states: "Memorial Park is regarded as hallowed ground for quiet meditation, the enjoyment of music, and especially for honouring our men and women who served in armed conflicts".
  • Plaque– This memorial is located in Oshawa, Ontario.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Delbert William George Crowle

En mémoire

Soldat Delbert William George Crowle

3 novembre 1917

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

745947

Âge :

22

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Canadian Infantry (Eastern Ontario Regiment)

Division :

2nd Bn.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 16 août 1895

Fils de Albert et Alice Crowle, de Oshawa, Ontario.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 223 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

VII. C. 11.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière britannique de Nine Elms est situé à 11,5 kilomètres à l'ouest du centre-ville d'Ypres, sur la Helleketelweg, une route qui part de la route N308 reliant Ypres à Poperinge. À partir du centre-ville d'Ypres, rendez-vous sur la route Poperingseweg (N308) par la Elverdingsestraat en passant au-dessus de deux petits carrefours giratoires sur la J. Capronstraat. La Poperingseweg est le prolongement de la J. Capronstraat et débute juste après un passage à niveau important. En arrivant sur la route périphérique de Poperinge, la Europalaan (R33), la route de ceinture, à gauche, dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre, encercle la ville de Poperinge et rejoint la route N308 en direction d'Oost Cappel. Suivez cette route et à 2,5 kilomètres sur la R33, tournez à gauche sur la Helleketelweg. Le cimetière se trouve du côté gauche de cette route, à 700 mètres.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Registres de circonstances du décès
  • Mémorial de guerre d'Oshawa – La guerre Memorial (1924) d'Oshawa Ontario a été appelée « le jardin de l'Unforgotten ». Ce mémorial raffiné a été placé avec des pierres de chaque nation alliée grande par guerre et des champs de bataille où les Canadiens ont combattu. Une paire d'électrique incendie étaient de rester brûlante, et une boîte de cuivre de capsule de temps avec des objets façonnés de 1924 a été enterrée sous le mémorial. Dans 2002 le parc de mémorial a été reconstruit et aujourd'hui le parc incorpore de beaux jardins. Une plaque expliquant les états de reconstruction : « Le parc commémoratif est considéré comme la terre sanctifiée pour la méditation tranquille, le plaisir de la musique, et particulièrement pour honorer nos hommes et femmes qui ont servi dans des conflits armés ».
  • Plaque – Ce monument est situé à Oshawa, Ontario.

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :