Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

John William Tribble

In memory of:

Sapper John William Tribble

October 23, 1917

Military Service


Service Number:

541678

Age:

22

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Engineers

Division:

4th Signal Coy.

Additional Information


Son of Adam and Mary L. Tribble, of Bolton, Ontario.

Commemorated on Page 340 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page. Download high resolution copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

VI. E. 4.

Location:

NINE ELMS BRITISH CEMETERY is located 11.5 Km west of Ieper town centre on the Helleketelweg, a road leading from the N308 connecting Ieper to Poperinge. From Ieper town centre the Poperingseweg (N308), is reached via Elverdingsestraat then over two small roundabouts in the J. Capronstraat. The Poperingseweg is a continuation of the J. Capronstraat and begins after a prominent railway level crossing. On reaching the ring road of Poperinge, the R33 Europalaan, the left hand clockwise route circles the town of Poperinge and rejoins the N308 towards Oost Cappel. 2.5 Km around the R33 lies the left hand turning onto Helleketelweg. The cemetery itself is located 700 metres along the Helleketelweg on the left hand side of the road.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Newspaper clipping– From the Toronto Telegram November 1917. Submitted for the project Operation Picture Me
  • Photo of John William Tribble– John William Tribble, as a member of the Trinity Methodist Church in Toronto, was remembered in the roll of honour in the "Trinity War Book". This book was published by the church in 1921.
  • Honour Roll– "University of Toronto / Roll of Service 1914-1918", 1921.
  • Monument– Orangeville (Dufferin County) Ontario War Memorial.
  • Newspaper Clipping
  • Photo of John William Tribble– Caption (pg. 381):  MEN OF PEEL KILLED DURING THE GREAT WAR.  Author - William Perkins Bull. "From Brock to Currie: the military development and exploits of Canadians in general and of the men of Peel in particular, 1791 to 1930."  Toronto, 1935.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

John William Tribble

En mémoire

Sapeur John William Tribble

23 octobre 1917

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

541678

Âge :

22

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Canadian Engineers

Division :

4th Signal Coy.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de Adam et Mary L. Tribble, de Bolton, Ontario.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 340 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page. Télécharger une copie haute résolution.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

VI. E. 4.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière britannique de Nine Elms est situé à 11,5 kilomètres à l'ouest du centre-ville d'Ypres, sur la Helleketelweg, une route qui part de la route N308 reliant Ypres à Poperinge. À partir du centre-ville d'Ypres, rendez-vous sur la route Poperingseweg (N308) par la Elverdingsestraat en passant au-dessus de deux petits carrefours giratoires sur la J. Capronstraat. La Poperingseweg est le prolongement de la J. Capronstraat et débute juste après un passage à niveau important. En arrivant sur la route périphérique de Poperinge, la Europalaan (R33), la route de ceinture, à gauche, dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre, encercle la ville de Poperinge et rejoint la route N308 en direction d'Oost Cappel. Suivez cette route et à 2,5 kilomètres sur la R33, tournez à gauche sur la Helleketelweg. Le cimetière se trouve du côté gauche de cette route, à 700 mètres.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

  • Coupure de presse
  • Photo de John William Tribble – On rappelle le rôle joué par John William Tribble, membre de la Trinity Methodist Church à Toronto, dans la liste de combattants tombés au champ d'honneur qui figurent dans le « Trinity War Book ». Ce livre a été publié par l'Église en 1921.
  • Titre de permission
  • Monument – Mémorial de guerre d¿Orangeville (comté Dufferin) Ontario.
  • Coupre de presse
  • Photo de John William Tribble – Légende (p. 381) :  MEN OF PEEL KILLED DURING THE GREAT WAR.  Auteur - William Perkins Bull. « From Brock to Currie: the military development and exploits of Canadians in general and of the men of Peel in particular, 1791 to 1930. »  Toronto, 1935.

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :