Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

James Harold Minorgan

In memory of:

Private James Harold Minorgan

April 23, 1915

Military Service


Service Number:

7239

Age:

24

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Infantry (Western Ontario Regiment)

Division:

1st Bn.

Additional Information


Born:

February 15, 1891

Son of James and Mary Minorgan, of Chatsworth, Ontario.

Commemorated on Page 29 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

I. F. 7.

Location:

VLAMERTINGHE MILITARY CEMETERY is located 5 Km west of Ieper town centre, on the Hospitaalstraat, which is a road leading from the Poperingseweg. (Connecting Ieper to Poperinge). (* Vlamertinge is the modern spelling of Vlamertinghe) From Ieper town centre the Poperingseweg (N308), is reached via Elverdingsestraat then straight over two small roundabouts in the J. Capronstraat. The Poperingseweg is a continuation of J. Capronstraat and begins after a prominent railway level crossing. On reaching the village of Vlamertinge the cemetery is located on the Hospitaalstraat, which is the second right turning after the village church. The VLAMERTINGHE MILITARY CEMETERY lies 50 metres along the Hospitaalstraat on the right hand side of the road.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Newspaper clipping– In memory of the men and women of London, Ontario (and area) who went to war and did not come home. Remembered on the pages of the World War One issues of the London Advertiser. Submitted for the project Operation Picture Me
  • Cenotaph– Chatsworth Cenotaph, Chatsworth, Ontario, Canada
  • Cenotaph– Chatsworth Cenotaph Names, Chatsworth, Ontario, Canada
  • Roll of Honour– Pte. James Harold Minorgan's name was included on the Merchants Bank of Canada 1914 - 1918 Roll of Honour. He indicated on his military attestation that he was a bank clerk. He volunteered to serve early in the war and signed his military attestation on September 22nd, 1914 at Valcartier Camp, Quebec.  He was a member of the historic First Canadian Contingent.  Source:  The Standard / Canada's Aid to the Allies and Peace Memorial.  Edited by Frederick Yorston. Published by the Montreal Standard Publishing Co., Ltd., Montreal.  This large Souvenir Edition magazine included the Rolls of Honour for various prominent Canadian businesses.
  • Name on the Roll of Honour– Detail of Pte. James Harold Minorgan's name on the Merchants Bank of Canada 1914 - 1918 Roll of Honour.
  • Grave Marker– Photo courtesy of Wilf Schofield, England
  • Entrance
  • Cemetery
  • Grave Marker

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

James Harold Minorgan

En mémoire

Soldat James Harold Minorgan

23 avril 1915

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

7239

Âge :

24

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Canadian Infantry (Western Ontario Regiment)

Division :

1st Bn.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 15 février 1891

Fils de James et Mary Minorgan, de Chatsworth, Ontario.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 29 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

I. F. 7.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière militaire de Vlamertinge est situé à 5 kilomètres à l'ouest du centre-ville d'Ypres, sur la Hospitaalstraat, route qui part de la Poperingseweg et relie Ypres à Poperinge. (*Vlamertinge s'écrivait autrefois Vlamertinghe.) À partir du centre-ville d'Ypres, rendez-vous sur la Poperingseweg (N308) par la Elverdingsestraat en passant au-dessus de deux petits carrefours giratoires sur la J. Capronstraat. La Poperingseweg est le prolongement de la J. Capronstraat et débute après un important passage à niveau. En arrivant au village de Vlamertinge, le cimetière se trouve sur la Hospitaalstraat, qui est la deuxième rue à droite après l'église. Le cimetière est du côté droit de la rue, à 50 mètres.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Coupure de presse
  • Cenotaph – Chatsworth, Ontario.
  • Cenotaph – Chatsworth, Ontario.
  • Tableau d'honneur – Le nom de Soldat James Harold Minorgan était inscrit à la liste d'honneur de 1914-1918 de la Merchants Bank of Canada. Il avait indiqué sur sa feuille d'engagement militaire qu'il était commis de banque. Il s'est porté volontaire pour servir au début de la guerre et il a signé son engagement le 22 septembre 1914 au camp de Valcartier (Québec). Il faisait partie du célèbre premier contingent canadien. Source : The Standard - Canada's Aid to the Allies and Peace Memorial. Révision par Frederick Yorston. Publié par la Montreal Standard Publishing Co., Ltd., Montréal. Le magazine souvenir grand format comprenait la liste d'honneur de diverses entreprises canadiennes bien connues.
  • Nom sur le Tableau d'honneur – Détails du nom de Soldat James Harold Minorgan sur la liste d'honneur de 1914-1918 de la Merchants Bank of Canada.
  • Pierre Tombale – Photo fournie gracieusement par Wilf Schofield, Angleterre.
  • Entree
  • Cimetière
  • Pierre Tombale

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :