Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Samuel Poxon

In memory of:

Corporal Samuel Poxon

October 26, 1917

Military Service


Service Number:

532744

Age:

33

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Army Medical Corps

Division:

13th Field Ambulance

Citation(s):

Military Medal

Honours and Awards:

Military Medal

Additional Information


Born:

May 28, 1884
Denaby, United Kingdom

Enlistment:

May 13, 1916
Victoria, British Columbia

Son of Eli and Sarah Poxon, of Lancashire, England. Husband of Ellen Ann Poxon, of Carbon, Alberta.

Commemorated on Page 311 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page. Download high resolution copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

I. M. 13.

Location:

Brandhoek New Military Cemetery No 3 is located 6.5 km west of Ieper town centre on the Branderstraat, a road leading from the N308 connecting Ieper to Poperinge. From Ieper town centre the Poperingseweg (N308) is reached via Elverdingsestraat then directly over two small roundabouts in the J. Capronstraat. The Poperingseweg is a continuation of the J. Capronstraat and begins after a prominent railway level crossing. 6 km along the N308, after passing the village of Vlamertinge and just beyond the church in the hamlet of Brandhoek, lies the left hand turning onto the Grote Branderstraat. The cemetery is located 300 metres along the Branderstraat on the left hand side of the road, beyond the N38 dual carriageway, which it is necessary to cross. Historical Information:
During the First World War, Brandhoek was within the area comparatively safe from shell fire which extended beyond Vlamertinghe Church. Field ambulances were posted there continuously and the Military Cemetery was opened early in May 1915 in a field adjoining the dressing station. It closed in July 1917 when the New Military Cemetery was opened nearby, to be followed by the New Military Cemetery No 3 in August 1917. Brandhoek New Military Cemetery No 3 contains 975 First World War burials. The cemetery was designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images

  • Grave Marker– Brandhoek New Military Cemetery No 3 … photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Memorial– War Memorial, Fernie and District, British Columbia.  Dedicated by Lord Byng on  May 24th, 1922.   Inscribed:  ERECTED TO PERPETUATE OUR HONOURED DEAD AND THOSE WHO CARRIED ON IN THE GREAT WAR FROM FERNIE B.C. AND DISTRICT.
  • Inscription– Detail of statue and names listed on the War Memorial for Fernie and District, British Columbia.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Samuel Poxon

En mémoire

Caporal Samuel Poxon

26 octobre 1917

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

532744

Âge :

33

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Service de santé de l'armée canadienne

Division :

13th Field Ambulance

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

La Médaille militaire

Décorations et titres honorifiques :

Médaille militaire

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 28 mai 1884
Denaby, Royaume-Uni

Enrôlement :

le 13 mai 1916
Victoria, Colombie-Britannique

Fils de Eli et Sarah Poxon, de Lancashire, Angleterre. Époux d'Ellen Ann Poxon, de Carbon, Alberta.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 311 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

I. M. 13.

Emplacement :

Le nouveau cimetière militaire de Brandhoek no 3 est situé 6,5 km à l'ouest du centre-ville de Leper sur le Branderstraat, une rue dérivant de la N308 et connectant Leper à Poperinge. À partir du centre-ville de Leper, on peut joindre la Poperingseweg (N308) en suivant la Elverdingsestraat et en passant par deux petits carrefours giratoires dans la J. Capronstraat. La Poperingseweg est une continuation de la J. Capronstraat et commence après un passage à niveau éminent. Il faut conduire 6 km sur la N308 et passer le village de Vlamertinge. Juste après avoir passé l'église dans le hameau de Brandhoek, il faut tourner à gauche sur la Grote Branderstraat. Le cimetière se trouve 300 mètres après le tournant, du côté gauche de la route, après la double chaussée N38, qu'il faut traverser. Information historique :
Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, Brandhoek était dans un endroit relativement à l'abri des obus lesquels tombaient au-delà de l'église Vlamertinghe. Les ambulances de campagne s'y trouvaient régulièrement. Le cimetière militaire fut ouvert au début de mai 1915 dans un champ contigu au poste de secours. Il fut fermé en juillet 1917 lorsque le nouveau cimeti ère militaire fut ouvert tout près, suivi du nouveau cimetière militaire no 3 en août 1917. Le nouveau cimetière militaire de Brandhoek no 3 contient maintenant 975 sépultures de la Première Guerre mondiale. Sir Reginald Bloomfield a conçu le cimetière.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Pierre Tombale
  • Mémorial
  • Inscription

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :