Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Edwin Erwin Phillips

In memory of:

Sergeant Edwin Erwin Phillips

November 4, 1945

Germany

Military Service


Service Number:

R/174196

Age:

24

Force:

Air Force

Unit:

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division:

168 (Heavy Transport) Sqdn.

Additional Information


Born:

May 23, 1921
Montreal, Québec

Enlistment:

June 24, 1942
Montreal, Québec

Son of Edwin and Rachel Phillips of Montreal, Quebec.

He worked as a printer’s apprentice before volunteering for service with the Royal Canadian Air Force in 1942 during the Second World War. Only 21 years old when he enlisted, he would go on to work as a mechanic with the No. 168 Heavy Transport Squadron and rise to the rank of sergeant. As part of his duties, Phillips would sometimes accompany transatlantic cargo flights.

The eastern European country of Poland had suffered greatly during the Second World War and there was a serious shortage of medical supplies. The Canadian Red Cross donated tons of penicillin in response to the humanitarian crisis there after the end of the war and the military agreed to transport it overseas from Canada.

On November 4, 1945, the Flying Fortress aircraft carrying the vitally needed medicine to Warsaw, Poland crashed into a hilltop near Halle, Germany and burst into flames. Phillips and the four other crew members onboard were killed in the accident. The fallen Canadian airmen are buried at Munster Heath Cemetery in Germany.

Commemorated on Canada's Air Force Poland Humanitarian Plaque.

Commemorated on Page 554 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

4. F. 22.

Location:

Munster is 57 kilometres south west of Osnabruck, and 62 kilometres north west of Dortmund. The MUNSTER HEATH WAR CEMETERY is 11 kilometres north east of the town of Munster, 3 kilometres north of the main road to Telgte and Osnabruck. Munster can be approached from the A43 or A1. Both motorways take you to the junction 'Kreuz Munster Sud'. From this junction follow the 51A road which becomes the 51 road to Telgte. When passing the railway station 'Haudorf' take the first road left which leads to the civil cemetery 'Waldfriedhof Lauheide'. MUNSTER HEATH WAR CEMETERY is signposted within the civil cemetery (with CWGC signs).

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Id Card– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Funeral– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Funeral– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Funeral– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Funeral– Submitted for the project, Operation Picture Me
  • Memorial– Photo taken by Hugh Halliday in 2009 in multi-faith military chapel at Uplands airfield. 
A Polish-Canadian artist, Mr. A. Birkenmeyer, had been commissioned to produce two plaques: one in Ottawa and the other for Warsaw.

---
  • Photo of Edwin Phillips
  • Group Photo– Left to right: Flight Lieutenant Norbert Roche, Squadron Leader Alfred Webster, Flight Lieutenant Donald Forest Caldwell, Flight Lieutenant Edward Harling and Sergeant Edwin Erwin Phillips. Source: Department of National Defence.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Edwin Erwin Phillips

En mémoire

Sergent Edwin Erwin Phillips

4 novembre 1945

Allemagne

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

R/174196

Âge :

24

Force :

Aviation militaire

Unité :

Royal Canadian Air Force

Division :

168 (Heavy Transport) Sqdn.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 23 mai 1921
Montreal, Québec

Enrôlement :

le 24 juin 1942
Montreal, Québec

Fils de Edwin et Racel Phillips de Montréal, Québeec.

Edwin Erwin Phillips est né à Montréal et il a travaillé comme apprenti imprimeur avant de se porter volontaire dans l’Aviation royale du Canada en 1942 lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Âgé de 21 ans au moment de son enrôlement, il a travaillé comme mécanicien avec le 168e Escadron spécial des transporteurs lourds où il a été promu au grade de sergent. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, Edwin Phillips devait parfois accompagner le transport de marchandises par vols transatlantiques.

La Pologne, un pays d’Europe de l’Est, avait beaucoup souffert durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et il y avait pénurie de fournitures médicales. Pour répondre à la crise humanitaire dans ce pays à la fin de la guerre, la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge a fait don d’une grande quantité de pénicilline. L’armée a accepté de transporter cette cargaison outre-mer à partir du Canada.

Le 4 novembre 1945, l’avion-cargo « Flying Fortress » transportant les médicaments indispensables vers Warsaw en Pologne s’est écrasé au sommet d’une colline en Allemagne et s’est enflammé. Edwin Phillips et les quatre autres membres de l’équipage sont morts dans l’accident. Ces militaires canadiens sont enterrés au cimetière Munster Heath en Allemagne.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 554 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

4. F. 22.

Emplacement :

Münster est à 57 kilomètres au sud-ouest d'Osnabruck et à 62 kilomètres au nord- ouest de Dortmund. Le CIMETIÈRE DE GUERRE DE MÜNSTER HEATH est à 11 kilomètres au nord-est de la ville de Münster et à 3 kilomètres au nord de la route principale de Telgte et d'Osnabruck. Münster peut être rejointe à partir de la A43 ou de la A1. Les deux autoroutes vous amènent à l'intersection de Kreuz Munster Sud ". De cette intersection, suivez la 51A qui devient la 51 en allant à Telgte. Après la gare " d'Haudorf ", prenez le premier chemin à gauche qui mène au cimetière civil de " Waldfriedhof Lauheide ". Le CIMETIÈRE DE GUERRE DE MÜNSTER HEATH est annoncé dans le cimetière civil (avec des affiches de la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth).

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Carte d'identité
  • Funéraire
  • Funéraire
  • Funéraire
  • Funéraire
  • Mémorial
  • Photo de Edwin Phillips
  • Photo de Groupe – De gauche à droite : Le capitaine d'aviation Norbert Roche, le commandant d'aviation Alfred Webster, le capitaine d'aviation Donald Forest Caldwell, le capitaine d'aviation Edward Harling et le sergent Edwin Erwin Phillips. Photo : Ministère de la Défense nationale.

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :