Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

William Robert Ebel

In memory of:

Private William Robert Ebel

May 3, 1917

Military Service


Service Number:

657157

Age:

24

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Infantry (Western Ontario Regiment)

Division:

1st Bn.

Additional Information


Born:

February 9, 1893
Mornington, Ontario

He was known by the name Robert. He was the son of Willima Henry Ebel and Margaret McIlroy. He was the grandson of Wilhelm Henri Ludwig born July 13, 1822 in Germany and Whilelmina Charolette VonKrepes born in 1823 in Hannover, Germany. They came to Canada as young people and married in 1850 in Ottawa. Whilelmina was still living when her grandson Robert went to war in May 1917. She died in September 1917. Robert and his brother Charles spoke about the fact that their German heritage was not considered to be good and that they could have kin on the other side of the conflict. They never spoke German at home. Robert had two brothers and three sisters, all of whom were deeply affected by his death. They were: Herbert Louis, born in 1885 in Mornington, Violet born in 1887, Alma born in 1890, twins Agnes and Charles born 17 June 1892 in Listowel, Ontario. Robert grew up in the Listowel area, but later the family moved to Pike Bay on the Bruce Peninsula. He enlisted in the 162nd Battalion and served with the No. 2 Platoon A Company. He was reported missing and presumed dead after three weeks in France at Vimy Ridge. Reported in the Wairton Echo Paper on Thursday, May 24, 1917, 'Reported missing, May 3rd, Pte. William Robert Ebel, Pike Bay.'

Commemorated on Page 233 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page. Download high resolution copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:

VIMY MEMORIAL
Pas de Calais, France

Grave Reference:

N/A

Location:

Canada's most impressive tribute overseas to those Canadians who fought and gave their lives in the First World War is the majestic and inspiring Vimy Memorial, which overlooks the Douai Plain from the highest point of Vimy Ridge, about eight kilometres northeast of Arras on the N17 towards Lens. The Memorial is signposted from this road to the left, just before you enter the village of Vimy from the south. The memorial itself is someway inside the memorial park, but again it is well signposted. At the base of the memorial, these words appear in French and in English:

TO THE VALOUR OF THEIR COUNTRYMEN IN THE GREAT WAR AND IN MEMORY OF THEIR SIXTY THOUSAND DEAD THIS MONUMENT IS RAISED BY THE PEOPLE OF CANADA


Inscribed on the ramparts of the Vimy Memorial are the names of over 11,000 Canadian soldiers who were posted as 'missing, presumed dead' in France. A plaque at the entrance to the memorial states that the land for the battlefield park, 91.18 hectares in extent, was 'the free gift in perpetuity of the French nation to the people of Canada'. Construction of the massive work began in 1925, and 11 years later, on July 26, 1936, the monument was unveiled by King Edward VIII. The park surrounding the Vimy Memorial was created by horticultural experts. Canadian trees and shrubs were planted in great masses to resemble the woods and forests of Canada. Wooded parklands surround the grassy slopes of the approaches around the Vimy Memorial. Trenches and tunnels have been restored and preserved and the visitor can picture the magnitude of the task that faced the Canadian Corps on that distant dawn when history was made. On April 3, 2003, the Government of Canada designated April 9th of each year as a national day of remembrance of the Battle of Vimy Ridge.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Memorial– Memorial to Uncle Robert Ebel
  • Photo of William Robert Ebel
  • Photo 2 of William Ebel– Grandpa Charlie Ebel saying goodbye, to his brother, Robert, at the train station.
  • Photo of William Ebel
  • Inscription– His name as it is inscribed on the Vimy Memorial (2010). Over 11,000 fallen Canadians having no known place of burial in France, are honoured on this Memorial. May they never be forgotten. (J. Stephens)
  • Vimy Memorial– Canada's Vimy Memorial, located approximately 8 kilometres to the north-east of Arras, France. May the sacrifice of so many never be forgotten. (J. Stephens)

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

William Robert Ebel

En mémoire

Soldat William Robert Ebel

3 mai 1917

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

657157

Âge :

24

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Canadian Infantry (Western Ontario Regiment)

Division :

1st Bn.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 9 février 1893
Mornington, Ontario

Son prénom était Robert. Il était le fils de Willima Henry Ebel et de Margaret McIlroy, et le petit-fils de Wilhelm Henri Ludwig (né le 13 juillet 1822, en Allemagne) et de Whilelmina Charolette VonKrepes (née en 1823, à Hannover, Allemagne). Ils s'étaient établis et épousés à Ottawa, en 1850. Whilelmina vivait encore lorsque son petit-fils Robert fut envoyé à la guerre en mai 1917. Elle mourut en septembre 1917. Robert et son frère Charles disaient que leurs origines allemandes n'étaient pas bien vues et que l'on croyait qu'ils pourraient être du côté de l'ennemi. Ils n'avaient jamais parlé allemand à la maison. Robert avait deux frères et trois soeurs, qui furent tous bouleversés par sa mort. Il y avait Herbert Louis (né en 1885, à Mornington), Violet (née en 1887), Alma (née en 1890), les jumeaux Agnes et Charles (nés le 17 juin 1892, à Listowel, Ontario). Robert grandit dans la région de Listowel, mais la famille déménagea plus tard à Pike Bay, sur la péninsule Bruce. Il s'enrôla dans le 162e Bataillon et servit dans le peloton no 2 de la compagnie A. Il fut porté disparu et présumé mort, trois jours après son arrivée en France, à la crête de Vimy. Sa disparition fut signalée dans le journal Wairton Echo, le 24 mai 1917 : « Reported missing, May 3rd, Pte. William Robert Ebel, Pike Bay.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 233 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page. Télécharger une copie haute résolution.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

MÉMORIAL DE VIMY
Pas de Calais France

Information sur la sépulture :

N/A

Emplacement :

L'hommage le plus impressionnant que le Canada a rendu à ceux de ses citoyens qui ont combattu et donné leur vie au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, a trouvé son expression concrète dans le Monument Commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, qui surplombe majestueusement la plaine de Douai du sommet de la crête de Vimy, à environ huit kilomètres au nord-est d'Arras. Le Monument représente un hommage à tous ceux qui ont combattu pour leur pays durant ces quatre années de guerre et, en particulier, à ceux qui ont donné leur vie. Sur le socle du Monument, sont gravés dans la pierre, en français et en anglais, les mots suivants :

À LA VAILLANCE DE SES FILS PENDANT LA GRANDE GUERRE, ET EN MÉMOIRE DE SES SOIXANTE MILLE MORTS, LE PEUPLE CANADIEN A ÉLEVÉ CE MONUMENT
Sur les parois du Mémorial sont inscrits les noms de plus de 11 000 soldats canadiens «manquant à l'appel et présumés morts» en France. Le terrain du parc de ce champ de bataille, d'une superficie de 91,18 hectares, «est un don de la nation française au peuple canadien», comme l'indique une plaque à l'entrée du Mémorial. La construction de cet ouvrage gigantesque commença en 1925; onze ans plus tard, le 26 juillet 1936, le roi Édouard VIII dévoilait le Mémorial de Vimy. Le parc qui entoure le Mémorial est l'oeuvre d'experts en horticulture. Une multitude d'arbres et d'arbustes du Canada y ont été plantés pour rappeler les forêts et les bois canadiens. Autour du Mémorial, au-delà des coteaux verdoyants qui y mènent, s'étendent des parcs boisés. À la vue des tranchées et des tunnels parfaitement restaurés, le visiteur peut imaginer l'énorme tâche que le Corps canadien dut accomplir ce matin historique, il y a bien des années. Le 3 avril 2003, le gouvernement du Canada a désigné le 9 avril de chaque année comme étant la journée nationale du souvenir de la bataille de la crête de Vimy.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Photo de William Robert Ebel
  • 2e Photo de William Ebel – Grand-père Charlie Ebel disant au revoir à son frère Robert, à la gare ferroviaire.
  • Photo de William Ebel
  • Inscription
  • Mémorial de Vimy

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :