Canadian Virtual War Memorial

George Hamilton

In memory of:

Private George Hamilton

June 16, 1916

Military Service


Service Number:

445451

Age:

22

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Infantry (New Brunswick Regiment)

Division:

26th Bn.

Additional Information


Born:

July 28, 1893
Campbellton, New Brunswick

Son of Newton and Christy (née Campbell) Hamilton of Campbellton, New Brunswick. Pte Hamilton had 10 Brothers: Clarence Edgar (Clarey) born 13 Jan 1892-died 10 Oct 1968, who served in the Second World War. Twins born in 1894 who died in infancy, Lambert Rufus (Bert) born 18 Nov 1895-died 21 Apr,1971 also served in the First World War with the Carleton and York Regiment, Benjamin Donald (Ben) born 28 Oct 1897-died 13 Mar 1952, Henry Garfield (Harry) born 13 Oct 1899-died 3 Aug 1975 who also served in the First World War. James Brenton (Jim) born 15 Oct 1901-died 12 Mar 1973. Baby Boy who died in infancy, Sterling MacNair, born October 1904 - died 1907, Howard William, born 10 June 1906-died in the United States in 1938.

Commemorated on Page 97 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

Panel 26 - 28

Location:


The Menin Gate Memorial is situated at the eastern side of the town of Ypres (now Ieper) in the Province of West Flanders, on the road to Menin and Courtrai. It bears the names of 55,000 men who were lost without trace during the defence of the Ypres Salient in the First World War. Designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield and erected by the Imperial (now Commonwealth) War Graves Commission, it consists of a Hall of Memory", 36.6 metres long by 20.1 metres wide. In the centre are broad staircases leading to the ramparts which overlook the moat, and to pillared loggias which run the whole length of the structure. On the inner walls of the Hall, on the side of the staircases and on the walls of the loggias, panels of Portland stone bear the names of the dead, inscribed by regiment and corps. Carved in stone above the central arch are the words:


TO THE ARMIES OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE WHO STOOD HERE FROM 1914 TO 1918 AND TO THOSE OF THEIR DEAD WHO HAVE NO KNOWN GRAVE.

Over the two staircases leading from the main Hall is the inscription:

HERE ARE RECORDED NAMES OF OFFICERS AND MEN WHO FELL IN YPRES SALIENT BUT TO WHOM THE FORTUNE OF WAR DENIED THE KNOWN AND HONOURED BURIAL GIVEN TO THEIR COMRADES IN DEATH.

The dead are remembered to this day in a simple ceremony that takes place every evening at 8:00 p.m. All traffic through the gateway in either direction is halted, and two buglers (on special occasions four) move to the centre of the Hall and sound the Last Post. Two silver trumpets for use in the ceremony are a gift to the Ypres Last Post Committee by an officer of the Royal Canadian Artillery, who served with the 10th Battery, of St. Catharines, Ontario, in Ypres in April 1915."

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Memorial– Inscription on the Menin Gate … photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Photo of George Hamilton– Private George Hamilton

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

George Hamilton

En mémoire

Soldat George Hamilton

16 juin 1916

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

445451

Âge :

22

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Canadian Infantry (New Brunswick Regiment)

Division :

26th Bn.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 28 juillet 1893
Campbellton, Nouveau-Brunswick

Fils de Newton et Christy (née Campbell) Hamilton of Campbellton, Nouveau brunswick. Le soldat Hamilton avait 10 frères : Clarence Edgar (Clarey), né le 13 janvier 1892-décédé le 10 octobre 1968, qui a servi au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale; des jumeaux nés en 1894 et morts en bas âge; Lambert Rufus (Bert),qui a aussi servi au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale avec le Carleton et York Régiment, né le 18 novembre 1895-décédé le 21 avril1971; Benjamin Donald (Ben), né le 28 octobre 1897-décédé le 13 mars 1952; Henry Garfield (Harry), né le 13 octobre 1899-décédé le 3 août 1975, qui a aussi servi au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale; James Brenton (Jim), né le 15 octobre 1901-décédé le 12 mars 1973; un frère mort en bas âge; Sterling MacNair, né en octobre 1904 - décédé en 1907; Howard William, né le 10 juin 1906-décédé aux États-Unis en 1938.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 97 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page. Télécharger une copie haute résolution.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

Panel 26 - 28

Emplacement :

Le Mémorial de la Porte de Menin (Ypres) est situé dans la partie est de la ville de Ypres (maintenant Ieper) dans la province de la Flandre-Occidentale, sur la route de Menin et de Courtrai. Il porte les noms de 55 000 hommes disparus sans laisser de traces lors de la défense du saillant d'Ypres durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Dessiné par Sir Reginald Blomfield et érigé par la Commission des sépultures de guerre de l'Empire (maintenant du Commonwealth), ce Mémorial comprend une salle du Souvenir " longue de 36,6 mètres et large de 20,1 mètres. Au centre se trouve un large escalier conduisant aux remparts qui surplombent les douves et les loggias sur colonnes qui entourent le monument. Sur les murs intérieurs de la salle, du côté de l'escalier, ainsi que sur les murs des loggias, les noms des morts sont inscrits par régiments et par corps sur des panneaux en pierre de Portland. Au-dessus de l'arche centrale on peut lire en anglais une inscription dont voici la traduction:
AUX ARMÉES DE L'EMPIRE BRITANNIQUE QUI COMBATTIRENT ICI DE 1914 À 1918 ET À LEURS MORTS DONT LA TOMBE EST INCONNUE. Et, au-dessus de l'escalier qui conduit à la salle principale, on peut lire en anglais une inscription dont voici la traduction :
À LA PLUS GRANDE GLOIRE DE DIEU ICI SONT INSCRITS LES NOMS DES SOLDATS QUI SONT TOMBÉS DANS LE SAILLANT D'YPRES, MAIS QUE LES HASARDS DE LA GUERRE ONT EMPÊCHÉS D'AVOIR UNE IDENTITÉ ET UNE SÉPULTURE HONORABLE COMME LEURS CAMARADES DANS LA MORT. Chaque jour à 20 h, une cérémonie toute simple rappelle encore aujourd'hui le souvenir des morts. Alors que la circulation est arrêtée à la barrière, deux clairons (quatre dans les grandes occasions) sonnent l'appel aux morts. Les deux trompettes d'argent utilisées durant la cérémonie ont été données au Comité de l'appel aux morts par un officier de l'Artillerie royale canadienne, qui servait dans la 10e batterie de St. Catharines (Ontario), à Ypres, en avril 1915."

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Photo de George Hamilton – Le soldat George Hamilton

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :