Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Alexis Hannum Helmer

In memory of:

Lieutenant Alexis Hannum Helmer

May 2, 1915

Military Service


Age:

22

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Field Artillery

Division:

1st Bde.

Additional Information


Son of Brig. Gen. R. A. Helmer and Elizabeth I. Helmer, of Gilmour St., Ottawa, Ontario.

The following circumstances of his death have been compiled from letters received by Lieut Owen Carsley Frederic Hague's father, Frederic Hague from officers in the area at the time. Early on Sunday morning, May 2, 1915 Lieutenants' Hague and Helmer left their position to check on a Canadian Battery who had positioned themselves on the bank of the Yser Canal near St. Julien close to the France-Belgium border. They had only gone a few yards when a six inch, high explosive canon shell burst. Lieutenant Helmer was killed instantly.

Commemorated on the Lieutenant Alexis Hannum Helmer Plaque.

Commemorated on Page 18 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

Panel 10

Location:


The Menin Gate Memorial is situated at the eastern side of the town of Ypres (now Ieper) in the Province of West Flanders, on the road to Menin and Courtrai. It bears the names of 55,000 men who were lost without trace during the defence of the Ypres Salient in the First World War. Designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield and erected by the Imperial (now Commonwealth) War Graves Commission, it consists of a Hall of Memory", 36.6 metres long by 20.1 metres wide. In the centre are broad staircases leading to the ramparts which overlook the moat, and to pillared loggias which run the whole length of the structure. On the inner walls of the Hall, on the side of the staircases and on the walls of the loggias, panels of Portland stone bear the names of the dead, inscribed by regiment and corps. Carved in stone above the central arch are the words:


TO THE ARMIES OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE WHO STOOD HERE FROM 1914 TO 1918 AND TO THOSE OF THEIR DEAD WHO HAVE NO KNOWN GRAVE.

Over the two staircases leading from the main Hall is the inscription:

HERE ARE RECORDED NAMES OF OFFICERS AND MEN WHO FELL IN YPRES SALIENT BUT TO WHOM THE FORTUNE OF WAR DENIED THE KNOWN AND HONOURED BURIAL GIVEN TO THEIR COMRADES IN DEATH.

The dead are remembered to this day in a simple ceremony that takes place every evening at 8:00 p.m. All traffic through the gateway in either direction is halted, and two buglers (on special occasions four) move to the centre of the Hall and sound the Last Post. Two silver trumpets for use in the ceremony are a gift to the Ypres Last Post Committee by an officer of the Royal Canadian Artillery, who served with the 10th Battery, of St. Catharines, Ontario, in Ypres in April 1915."

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Memorial – "IN FLANDERS FIELDS" IN MEMORY OF LIEUT. ALEXIS HANNUM HELMER 2ND OTTAWA BATTERY
1ST CANADIAN FIELD ARTILLERY KILLED IN ACTION MAY 9, 1915, AGE 22, AT THE SECOND BATTLE OF YPRES, BELGIUM. HE WAS THE FIRST LISGAR GRADUATE  TO DIE IN WORLD WAR I. HIS DEATH INSPIRED HIS CLOSE FRIEND LIEUT. COLONEL DR. JOHN McCRAE TO COMPOSE THIS IMMORTAL POEM. 
ALERE FLAMMAM
ERECTED BY THE LISGAR ALUMNI ASSOCIATION IN RECOGNITION OF THE 160 ANNIVERSARY, 2001.
  • Attestation papers – Attestation Papers: Alexis Helmer
  • Document – CWGC documents show Alexis Hanmer's body was originally buried at 28 C. 19.c.25.0.5 and later moved to the White House Cemetery at St-Jean-Le-Ypres  in Plot 3 Row X Grave 29.
  • Burial Report – CWGC documents show Alexis Hanmer's body was originally buried at 28 C. 19.c.25.0.5 and later moved to the White House Cemetery at St-Jean-Le-Ypres  in Plot 3 Row X Grave 29.
  • War Diary – War Diary
2 May 1915 CANAL BANK, YPRES
Composite battery arrived from ST JEAN during night. Intense heavy shelling by enemy all night which increased towards morning. Lt Helmer killed & Lt Hague severely wounded while observing. Casualties to date 6 killed 50 wounded. Other Canadian Batteries being moved from ST JEAN to west of CANAL. Two guns of 4th Battery put out of action by direct hits. Only 12 available guns now.
  • Circumstances of Death Registers – Lt Alexis Henmer grave registration - Menin Gate
  • Memorial Plaque – This memorial plaque was installed at Dominion Methodist Church, now Dominion United Church "In loving memory of Alexis Hannum Helmer Lieut 2nd Battery 1st Field Artillery Brigade Canadian Expeditionary Force Fell in action near Yprs May 2nd 1915 Aged 22 years "Be God's gentleman and the King's gentleman""
  • Biography – Lieut Alexis Hannum Helmer, Obit, Ottawa Collegiate Institute (now Lisgar Collegiate Institute).
  • Panels – Inscription on the Menin Gate - August 2012 … photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Memorial – Panel 10 of the Menin Gate - August 2012 … photo courtesy of Marg Liessens
  • Honor Roll – From the "McGill Honour Roll, 1914-1918".  McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, 1926.
  • Commemorative plaque – This plaque is dedicated to Lieutenant Alexis Helmer, whose death inspired the 'Flander's Fields' poem.
  • Map – Map Flanders province, Belgium
  • Inscription on Menin Gate (Ypres) Memorial – Detail from panel 10 on the Menin Gate, Ypres, Belgium, where Alexis Helmer is commemorated. Picture by the Dover War Memorial Project, England
  • Photo of PRO DEO ET PATRIA – Pro Deo Et Patria Erected by the Royal Military College Club of Canada Anno Domini 1923. Ex-cadets are named on the Memorial Arch at the Royal Military College of Canada.

841 Lieut Alexis Hannum Helmer (RMC 1912) was the son of Brig. Gen. R. A. Helmer and Elizabeth I. Helmer, of Gilmour St., Ottawa, Ontario. He served with the Canadian Field Artillery, 1st Bde. Early on Sunday morning, May 2, 1915 Lieutenant Helmer left his position to check on a Canadian Battery who had positioned themselves on the bank of the Yser Canal near St. Julien close to the France-Belgium border. He had only gone a few yards when a six inch, high explosive canon shell burst. Lieutenant Helmer was killed instantly. He is remembered on the Menin Gate (Ypres) Memorial Belgium.
  • TRUTH DUTY VALOUR – On their 50th anniversary the class of August 1915 at the Royal Military College of Canada have placed this memorial stained glass window to honour their fallen classmates.

841 Lieut Alexis Hannum Helmer (RMC 1912) was the son of Brig. Gen. R. A. Helmer and Elizabeth I. Helmer, of Gilmour St., Ottawa, Ontario. He served with the Canadian Field Artillery, 1st Bde. Early on Sunday morning, May 2, 1915 Lieutenant Helmer left his position to check on a Canadian Battery who had positioned themselves on the bank of the Yser Canal near St. Julien close to the France-Belgium border. He had only gone a few yards when a six inch, high explosive canon shell burst. Lieutenant Helmer was killed in action instantly. He is remembered on the Menin Gate (Ypres) Memorial Belgium.
  • Menin Gate Memorial – 841 Lieut Alexis Hannum Helmer (RMC 1912) was the son of Brig. Gen. R. A. Helmer and Elizabeth I. Helmer, of Gilmour St., Ottawa, Ontario. He served with the Canadian Field Artillery, 1st Bde. Early on Sunday morning, May 2, 1915 Lieutenant Helmer left his position to check on a Canadian Battery who had positioned themselves on the bank of the Yser Canal near St. Julien close to the France-Belgium border. He had only gone a few yards when a six inch, high explosive canon shell burst. Lieutenant Helmer was killed in action instantly. He is remembered on the Menin Gate (Ypres) Memorial Belgium.
  • Photo of Sympathy With Helmer – Toronto Star clipping 1915 May 5.
  • Photo of In Flanders Fields – Dr. McCrae records Lt. Helmer's last entry in his diary, Saturday  May 2nd...  "It has quieted a bit,I shall try to get a good sleep..."
  • Memorial Stairs – Memorial stair, Royal Military College, Kingston, On
  • Memorial – Memorial arch, Royal Military College, Kingston, On
  • Memorial Doll – Royal Military College, Kingston, On
  • Lisgar Collegiate Institute yearbook – Lisgar Collegiate Institute yearbook 1914, war notes.
  • Roll of honour – Lisgar Collegiate honour roll
  • Photo of Alexis Helmer – Alexis Helmer, in uniform

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Alexis Hannum Helmer

En mémoire

Lieutenant Alexis Hannum Helmer

2 mai 1915

Service militaire


Âge :

22

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Artillerie canadienne de campagne

Division :

1st Bde.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de Brig. Gen. R. A. Helmer et Elizabeth I. Helmer, de la rue Gilmour, Ottawa, Ontario.

Les circonstancs entourant son décès ont été établies à la lumière de lettres envoyées au père du Lt Owen Carsley Frederic Hague, M. Frederic Hague, par des officiers qui se trouvaient dans cette région, à l'époque. Aux petites heures du samedi matin, 2 mai 1915, les lieutenants Hague et Helmer quittèrent leur poste pour aller voir les hommes d'une batterie canadienne qui se trouvaient au bord du canal Yser, près de Saint-Julien, à proximité de la frontière franco-belge. Ils n'avaient fait que quelques mètres lorsqu'un obus de six pouces explosa. Le lieutenant Helmer fut tué sur le coup.

Commémoré sur la Plaque du lieutenant Alexis Hannum Helmer.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 18 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

Panel 10

Emplacement :

Le Mémorial de la Porte de Menin (Ypres) est situé dans la partie est de la ville de Ypres (maintenant Ieper) dans la province de la Flandre-Occidentale, sur la route de Menin et de Courtrai. Il porte les noms de 55 000 hommes disparus sans laisser de traces lors de la défense du saillant d'Ypres durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Dessiné par Sir Reginald Blomfield et érigé par la Commission des sépultures de guerre de l'Empire (maintenant du Commonwealth), ce Mémorial comprend une salle du Souvenir " longue de 36,6 mètres et large de 20,1 mètres. Au centre se trouve un large escalier conduisant aux remparts qui surplombent les douves et les loggias sur colonnes qui entourent le monument. Sur les murs intérieurs de la salle, du côté de l'escalier, ainsi que sur les murs des loggias, les noms des morts sont inscrits par régiments et par corps sur des panneaux en pierre de Portland. Au-dessus de l'arche centrale on peut lire en anglais une inscription dont voici la traduction:
AUX ARMÉES DE L'EMPIRE BRITANNIQUE QUI COMBATTIRENT ICI DE 1914 À 1918 ET À LEURS MORTS DONT LA TOMBE EST INCONNUE. Et, au-dessus de l'escalier qui conduit à la salle principale, on peut lire en anglais une inscription dont voici la traduction :
À LA PLUS GRANDE GLOIRE DE DIEU ICI SONT INSCRITS LES NOMS DES SOLDATS QUI SONT TOMBÉS DANS LE SAILLANT D'YPRES, MAIS QUE LES HASARDS DE LA GUERRE ONT EMPÊCHÉS D'AVOIR UNE IDENTITÉ ET UNE SÉPULTURE HONORABLE COMME LEURS CAMARADES DANS LA MORT. Chaque jour à 20 h, une cérémonie toute simple rappelle encore aujourd'hui le souvenir des morts. Alors que la circulation est arrêtée à la barrière, deux clairons (quatre dans les grandes occasions) sonnent l'appel aux morts. Les deux trompettes d'argent utilisées durant la cérémonie ont été données au Comité de l'appel aux morts par un officier de l'Artillerie royale canadienne, qui servait dans la 10e batterie de St. Catharines (Ontario), à Ypres, en avril 1915."

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Mémorial
  • Document
  • Document
  • Document
  • Journal
  • Registres de circonstances du décès
  • Plaque
  • Biographie
  • Mémorial de Menin
  • Mémorial de Menin
  • Roulement d'honneur
  • Plaque commémorative – Cette plaque est dédiée au lieutenant Alexis Helmer, dont le décès a inspiré le poème « Au champ d¿honneur ».
  • Carte – Carte Flanders province, Belgique
  • Inscription sur le Mémorial de la Porte de Menin (Ypres) – Détail du paneau 10 sur la Porte de Menin, Ypres, Belgique, où la mémoire d'Alexis Helmer est commémorée.. Photo fournie par Dover War Memorial Project, Angleterre
  • Photo de ALEXIS HANNUM HELMER – Pro Deo Et Patria Erigé par le Club du Collège militaire royal du Canada Anno Domini 1923. Ex-cadets sont nommés sur l'Arche commémorative du Collège militaire royal du Canada.

 841 Le lieutenant Alexis Helmer Hannum (CMR 1912) était le fils du général de brigade. Gen RA Helmer et Elizabeth I. Helmer, de la rue Gilmour, Ottawa, Ontario. Il a servi dans l'Artillerie de campagne canadienne, 1er Bde. Tôt le matin du dimanche 2 mai 1915 le lieutenant Helmer a quitté son poste pour vérifier sur une batterie canadienne qui s'étaient positionnés sur la rive du canal de l'Yser, près de Saint Julien à proximité de la frontière France-Belgique. Il avait seulement fait quelques pas quand une de six pouces, haute explosive canon obus a éclaté. Lieutenant Helmer a été tué sur le coup. On se souvient de la Porte de Menin en Belgique (Ypres) Mémorial.
  • Photo de ALEXIS HANNUM HELMER – Sur leur 50e anniversaire de la classe de Août 1915 à au Collège militaire royal du Canada ont placé cette fenêtre en verre teinté mémorial pour honorer leurs camarades de classe disparus.

 841 Le lieutenant Alexis Helmer Hannum (CMR 1912) était le fils du général de brigade. Gen RA Helmer et Elizabeth I. Helmer, de la rue Gilmour, Ottawa, Ontario. Il a servi dans l'Artillerie de campagne canadienne, 1er Bde. Tôt le matin du dimanche 2 mai 1915 le lieutenant Helmer a quitté son poste pour vérifier sur une batterie canadienne qui s'étaient positionnés sur la rive du canal de l'Yser, près de Saint Julien à proximité de la frontière France-Belgique. Il avait seulement fait quelques pas quand une de six pouces, haute explosive canon obus a éclaté. Lieutenant Helmer a été tué dans l'action instantanément. On se souvient de la Porte de Menin en Belgique (Ypres) Mémorial.
  • Mémorial – 841 Le lieutenant Alexis Helmer Hannum (CMR 1912) était le fils du général de brigade. Gen RA Helmer et Elizabeth I. Helmer, de la rue Gilmour, Ottawa, Ontario. Il a servi dans l'Artillerie de campagne canadienne, 1er Bde. Tôt le matin du dimanche 2 mai 1915 le lieutenant Helmer a quitté son poste pour vérifier sur une batterie canadienne qui s'étaient positionnés sur la rive du canal de l'Yser, près de Saint Julien à proximité de la frontière France-Belgique. Il avait seulement fait quelques pas quand une de six pouces, haute explosive canon obus a éclaté. Lieutenant Helmer a été tué dans l'action instantanément. On se souvient de la Porte de Menin en Belgique (Ypres) Mémorial.
  • Photo de ALEXIS HANNUM HELMER – Toronto Star écrêtage 1915 le 5 mai.
  • Photo de ALEXIS HANNUM HELMER – Dernière entrée Dr dossiers McCrae lieutenant Helmer dans son journal, le samedi 2 mai ... "Il a calmé un peu, je vais essayer d'obtenir une bonne nuit de sommeil ..."
  • Mémorial – Collège militaire royal du Canada, Kingston, Ontario
  • Mémorial – Collège militaire royal du Canada, Kingston, On
  • Mémorial – Collège militaire royal du Canada, Kingston, On
  • Tableau d'honneur – Lisgar Collegiate Institute 1914
  • Tableau d'honneur – Lisgar Collegiate
  • Photo de Alexis Helmer – Alexis Helmer, in uniform

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :