Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

John Albert Lachapelle

In memory of:

Sergeant John Albert Lachapelle

August 21, 1944

Military Service


Service Number:

C/38729

Force:

Army

Unit:

Royal Canadian Artillery

Division:

5 Anti Tank Regt.

Additional Information


Son of James and Edna LaChapelle of Gananoque, Ontario.

Commemorated on Page 356 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

XVIII. B. 5.

Location:

This cemetery lies on the west side of the main road from Caen to Falaise (route N158) and just north of the village of Cintheaux. Bretteville-sur-Laize is a village and commune in the department of the Calvados, some 16 kilometres south of Caen. The village of Bretteville lies 3 kilometres south-west of the Cemetery. Buried here are those who died during the later stages of the battle of Normandy, the capture of Caen and the thrust southwards (led initially by the 4th Canadian and 1st Polish Armoured Divisions), to close the Falaise Gap, and thus seal off the German divisions fighting desperately to escape being trapped west of the Seine. Almost every unit of Canadian 2nd Corps is represented in the Cemetery. There are about 3,000 allied forces casualties of the Second World War commemorated in this site.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of John Albert Lachapelle– Submitted for the project Operation Picture Me
  • Group photo– Submitted for the project Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondence– Submitted for the project Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondence– Submitted for the project Operation Picture Me
  • Notification of death– Submitted for the project Operation Picture Me
  • Gananoque Remembers– Gananoque, Ontario is a small town situated on the St. Lawrence River in the heart of 1,000 Islands.  It is one of hundreds of communities throughout Canada with war memorials which commemorate more than 110,000 men and women who lost their lives during both world wars. Over a  thousand citizens from Gananoque and surounding areas served in the navy, army, or air force: 83 lost their lives in parts of Canada, and in the battlefields of Europe.  Among the dead of Gananoque include a 15 year old solider, a father of ten, four sets of brothers and a Victoria Cross winner. 

Today the town cenotaph lists the names of those who died and  few citizens are aware of their family backgrounds or their circumstances of their deaths. Geraldine Chase of Gannaoque and Bill Beswetherick of Kingston believed it was necessary to collect this information and perpetuate their sacrifices. 					

Gananoque Remembers book is a tribute to those who gave their lives for our freedom.
  • Memorial Page– Jack La Chapelle is honoured on page 147 of the Gananoque Remembers booklet, published on January 31, 2005.
  • Grave Marker
  • Grave Marker– Photo of grave marker taken 2005.
  • Entrance
  • Plaque

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

John Albert Lachapelle

En mémoire

Sergent John Albert Lachapelle

21 août 1944

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

C/38729

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Artillerie royale canadienne

Division :

5 Anti Tank Regt.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de James et Edna LaChappell de Gananoque, Ontario.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 356 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

XVIII. B. 5.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière se trouve du côté ouest de la route principale entre Caen et Falaise (N158) au nord du village de Cintheaux. Bretteville-sur-Laize, village et commune du Calvados, est à environ 16 km au sud de Caen. Le village de Bretteville est à 3 km au sud-ouest du cimetière. Les personnes inhumées ici sont mortes au cours des derniers assauts en Normandie, de la capture de Caen et de l'offensive vers le sud (menée d'abord par la 4e Division blindée canadienne et la 1re Division blindée polonaise) en vue de fermer la trouée de Falaise et d'encercler ainsi les divisions allemandes qui menaient une lutte désespérée pour éviter d'être coincées à l'ouest de la Seine. La plupart des unités du 2e Corps d'armée canadien sont représentées dans le cimetière. Environ 3000 victimes de la guerre de 1939-1945 sont commémorées ici.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de John Albert Lachapelle – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Photo de groupe – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondance – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Correspondance – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Avis de décès – Soumis dans le cadre du projet : Operation Picture Me
  • Le Gananoque se souvient – La communauté de Gananoque est située sur la rive du fleuve Saint-Laurent au coeur des Milles-Îles en Ontario. Elle se classe parmi les centaines de communautés canadiennes qui ont construit des mémoriaux de guerre afin de rendre hommage aux plus de 100 000 hommes et femmes ayant perdu la vie durant les deux guerres mondiales. Plus de mille originaires de Gananoque et des environs ont servi dans la marine, dans l'armée ou dans la force aérienne; 83 d'entre eux ont perdu la vie au Canada ou sur les champs de bataille en Europe, y compris un soldat âgé de 15 ans, un père de dix enfants, quatre groupes de frères et un récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria.

Aujourd'hui, bien que le cénotaphe communautaire liste les noms de ceux et celles qui ont perdu la vie, il n'y a que peu de citoyens qui connaissent les histoire de leurs familles et les circonstances de leurs décès. Geraldine Chase, qui réside à Gananoque, et Bill Beswetherick, qui réside à Kingston, estimaient qu'il était nécessaire de recueillir cette information et de perpétuer le souvenir des sacrifices consentis par les résidents de la communauté durant les guerres.

Le livre intitulé Gananoque Remembers rend hommage à ceux et celles qui ont donné leur vie pour proté ger notre liberté.
  • Page Commémoratif – Cet hommage rendu à Jack La Chapelle figure sur la page 147 du livret «Gananoque Remembers », publié le 31 janvier 2005.
  • Pierre Tombale
  • Pierre Tombale
  • Entrée
  • Plaque

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :