Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

David Henry Alexander Stewart

In memory of:

Lance Corporal David Henry Alexander Stewart

July 25, 1944

France

Military Service


Service Number:

B/75377

Age:

27

Force:

Army

Unit:

Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, R.C.I.C.

Citation(s):

1939-45 Star, France and Germany Star, Defence Medal, War Medal 1939-45, Canadian Volunteer Service Medal and Clasp.

Additional Information


Born:

December 3, 1916
Toronto, Ontario

Enlistment:

March 16, 1942
Toronto, Ontario

Son of Lance Sergeant David Dudley Stewart, Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps, died of wounds on 13 October 1942 and Mary Lillian Stewart of Toronto, Ontario. Brother of Lillian, Mabel, Gertrude, Helen and Gunner George Edwin Stewart, Royal Canadian Artillery, killed in action, 21 July 1944.

Commemorated on Page 452 of the Second World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:
Grave Reference:

XV. G. 14.

Location:

This cemetery lies on the west side of the main road from Caen to Falaise (route N158) and just north of the village of Cintheaux. Bretteville-sur-Laize is a village and commune in the department of the Calvados, some 16 kilometres south of Caen. The village of Bretteville lies 3 kilometres south-west of the Cemetery. Buried here are those who died during the later stages of the battle of Normandy, the capture of Caen and the thrust southwards (led initially by the 4th Canadian and 1st Polish Armoured Divisions), to close the Falaise Gap, and thus seal off the German divisions fighting desperately to escape being trapped west of the Seine. Almost every unit of Canadian 2nd Corps is represented in the Cemetery. There are about 3,000 allied forces casualties of the Second World War commemorated in this site.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Grave Marker– Lance Sergeant David Dudley Stewart, Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps, the father of Lance Corporal David Henry Alexander Stewart, Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, died of wounds on 18 October 1942.  This is his grave marker at Brookwood Military Cemetery, Surrey, United Kingdom.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

David Henry Alexander Stewart

En mémoire

Caporal suppléant David Henry Alexander Stewart

25 juillet 1944

France

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

B/75377

Âge :

27

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, R.C.I.C.

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

Étoile de 1939-45, Étoile de France et Allmagne, Médaille de la défence, Médaille de la guerre 1939-45, Médaille canadienne du volontaire et agrafe.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 3 décembre 1916
Toronto, Ontario

Enrôlement :

le 16 mars 1942
Toronto, Ontario

Fils du Sergent suppléant David Dudley Stewart, Corps de santé royal canadian, mort de blessures le 13 octobre 1942, et Mary Lillian Stewart de Toronto, Ontario. Frère de Lillian, Mabel, Gertrude, Helen, et l'Artilleur George Irwin Stewart, l'Artillerie royale canadienne, tué au combat le 21 juillet 1944.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 452 du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

XV. G. 14.

Emplacement :

Le cimetière se trouve du côté ouest de la route principale entre Caen et Falaise (N158) au nord du village de Cintheaux. Bretteville-sur-Laize, village et commune du Calvados, est à environ 16 km au sud de Caen. Le village de Bretteville est à 3 km au sud-ouest du cimetière. Les personnes inhumées ici sont mortes au cours des derniers assauts en Normandie, de la capture de Caen et de l'offensive vers le sud (menée d'abord par la 4e Division blindée canadienne et la 1re Division blindée polonaise) en vue de fermer la trouée de Falaise et d'encercler ainsi les divisions allemandes qui menaient une lutte désespérée pour éviter d'être coincées à l'ouest de la Seine. La plupart des unités du 2e Corps d'armée canadien sont représentées dans le cimetière. Environ 3000 victimes de la guerre de 1939-1945 sont commémorées ici.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Pierre tombale

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :