Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

John Albert Jolley

In memory of:

Bombardier John Albert Jolley

September 7, 1918

Military Service


Service Number:

316032

Age:

22

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Field Artillery

Division:

5th Trench Mortar Bty.

Additional Information


Born:

September 7, 1895

Son of Charles J. and Mary A. Jolley, of Hamilton, Ontario.

Commemorated on Page 438 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:

DURY MILL BRITISH CEMETERY
Pas de Calais, France

Grave Reference:

I. E. 2.

Location:

Dury is a village in the Department of the Pas-de-Calais, 1 kilometre north of the straight main road from Arras to Cambrai (D939). Approximately 16 kilometres from Arras travelling towards Cambrai on the D939 is the Canadian Forces Memorial at Dury. 300 metres after the Memorial the Cemetery is signposted to the left towards Dury village. 200 metres from the D939 the cemetery is signposted to the left. It is located in open fields, and is approached along an unsurfaced track about 500 metres long.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Memorial Tablets– World War One and Two Bronze Memorial Tablets, Church of the Ascension (Anglican, 1850), Hamilton, Ontario. Inscribed:  "To the Glory of God and in proud and grateful remembrance of the following men of the Church of the Ascension who fell on Active Service in the War against Germany and her Allies.
  • World War One Memorial Tablet
  • Church of the Ascension– Church of the Ascension, Hamilton, Ontario, clockwise from top right:  World War One Memorial (1927); an image of the church circa 1910; present church interior; and Hamilton's XIIIth Regimental crest in stained glass.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

John Albert Jolley

En mémoire

Bombardier John Albert Jolley

7 septembre 1918

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

316032

Âge :

22

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Artillerie canadienne de campagne

Division :

5th Trench Mortar Bty.

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 7 septembre 1895

Fils de Charles J. et Mary A. Jolley, de Hamilton, Ontario.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 438 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :
Information sur la sépulture :

I. E. 2.

Emplacement :

Dury est un village du département du Pas-de-Calais situé à un kilomètre au nord de la route droite principale allant d'Arras à Cambrai (D939). Lorsque vous voyagez en direction de Cambrai sur la route D939, le Mémorial canadien de Dury est situé à 16 kilomètres environ d'Arras. Après le Mémorial, un panneau annonçant le cimetière se trouve à gauche, à 300 mètres, en direction de Dury. À 200 mètres de la route D939, il y a un panneau annonçant le cimetière à gauche. Le cimetière est situé dans les champs et on s'y rend en empruntant un sentier non pavé de 500 mètres.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Plaques commémoratives – Première et Deuxième Guerre mondiale plaques commémoratives en bronze, Église de l'Ascension (anglicane, 1850), Hamilton, Ontario.  Inscription : À la gloire de Dieu et, avec fierté et gratitude, en souvenir des hommes suivants de l'Église de l'Ascension qui ont perdu la vie pendant leur service actif dans la guerre contre l'Allemagne et ses alliés.
  • Plaque commémorative de la Première Guerre mondiale
  • Église de l'Ascension – Église de l'Ascension, Hamilton, Ontario, dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre, du coin en haut et à droite : mémorial de la Première Guerre mondiale (1927), une image de l'église (vers 1910), l'intérieur actuel de l'église, et emblème du 13e régiment d'Hamilton dans un vitrail.

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :