Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Robert Bennet Moffat

In memory of:

Lance Corporal Robert Bennet Moffat

March 1, 1917

Military Service


Service Number:

467542

Age:

36

Force:

Army

Unit:

Canadian Engineers

Division:

11th Field Coy.

Additional Information


Son of Robert and Margaret Sadler Moffatt, of Dalhousie, New Brunswick.

Commemorated on Page 295 of the First World War Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:

ECOIVRES MILITARY CEMETERY
Pas de Calais, France

Grave Reference:

IV. E. 4.

Location:

Mont St Eloi is a village in the Department of the Pas-de-Calais, 8 kilometres north-west of Arras. The village stands on high ground overlooking the battlefields of Vimy and Souchez and the main Bethune-Arras road, and the ruined towers that rise from it were used as an observation post during the French attacks at Neuville-St Vaast and Givenchy in May 1915. Ecoivres is a hamlet lying at the foot of the hill, to the south-west and about 1.5 kilometres from Mont St Eloi on the Arras-St Pol line. The ECOIVRES MILITARY CEMETERY is on the D49 road.

Information courtesy of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of Robert Bennet Moffat– From The War Book of Upper Canada College, edited by Archibald Hope Young, Toronto, 1923.  This book is a Roll of Honour including former students who served during the First World War.
  • Memorial Tablet– Robert Bennet Moffat is remembered on this brass Memorial Tablet. It was unveiled on May 1st, 1921 in memory of Upper Canada College students who died on active service during  the First World War.  Upper Canada College is located in Toronto, Ontario.
  • Newspaper Clipping– In honoured memory.

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Robert Bennet Moffat

En mémoire

Caporal suppléant Robert Bennet Moffat

1 mars 1917

Service militaire


Numéro matricule :

467542

Âge :

36

Force :

Armée

Unité :

Génie du Canada

Division :

11th Field Coy.

Renseignements additionnels


Fils de Robert et Margaret Sadler Moffatt, de Dalhousie, Nouveau-Brunswick.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 295 du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Commander une copie de cette page.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE MILITAIRE D'ÉCOIVRES
Pas de Calais France

Information sur la sépulture :

IV. E. 4.

Emplacement :

Mont-Saint-Éloi est un village du département du Pas-de-Calais situé à 8 kilomètres au nord-ouest d'Arras. Le village surplombe les champs de bataille de Vimy et de Souchez ainsi que la route principale qui mène de Béthune à Arras. Les tours en ruine qu'on peut apercevoir servaient de postes d'observation pendant les attaques françaises qui se sont déroulées à Neuville-Saint-Vaast et à Givenchy en mai 1915. Écoivres est un hameau au pied de la colline, à 1,5 kilomètre au sud-ouest de Mont-Saint-Éloi, sur la ligne Arras-Saint-Pol. Le cimetière se trouve sur la route D49.

Les renseignements suivants sont gracieusement fournis par la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth. (site disponible en anglais seulement)

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Robert Bennet Moffat – Extrait de « The War Book of Upper Canada College », édité par Archibald Hope Young, Toronto, 1923. Ce livre rend hommage aux anciens étudiants qui ont servi durant la Première Guerre mondiale.
  • Plaque commémorative – On se souvient du Robert Bennet Moffat grâce à cette plaque commémorative de laiton. Elle a été dévoilée le 1 mai 1921 à la mémoire des étudiants de l'Upper Canada College qui sont morts durant leur service actif lors de la Première Guerre mondiale. L'Upper Canada College se situe à Toronto en Ontario.
  • coupre de presse

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :