Language selection

Canadian Virtual War Memorial

Christopher Edward Saunders

In memory of:

Lieutenant Christopher Edward Saunders

October 6, 2004

Ireland

Military Service


Age:

32

Force:

Navy

Unit:

HMCS Chicoutimi

Citation(s):

Sacrifice Medal (posthumous), Canadian Forces Decoration

Additional Information


Born:

April 7, 1972
Saint John, New Brunswick

Enlistment:

June 21, 1990

Son of Hugh Saunders and Debbie Sullivan (2020 National Memorial (Silver) Cross Mother). Step-son of Trish Saunders (Hugh's wife) and Stuart Sullivan (Debbie's husband). Christopher and his wife Gwen had two young sons at the time of his death. Ben and Luke were respectively two years old and seven weeks old when he passed. Son-in-law of Reg and Sherald Patterson.

Biography courtesy of the Royal Canadian Legion

Lieutenant (Navy) Christopher Edward Saunders was a Naval Officer in the Royal Canadian Navy, an enthusiastic submariner trained as a Combat Systems Engineer.

Chris was killed during a tragic fire while serving aboard HMCS Chicoutimi. The submarine was underway from Scotland to Canada when the fire broke out on October 6, 2004.

Chris was very active as a child, always busy with many close friends over the years. Described as growing up a happy, well-rounded boy, he had a penchant for being extremely detailed and organized, even at a young age. “A place for everything, and everything in its place,” says his mother Debbie.

During his school years, Chris seemed to gravitate towards the shy and quiet kids, helping them become more confident. With a passion for puzzles, books and board games, Chris loved baseball and golf and later became an avid mountain biker. He often talked about a career of service to others, and it is exactly what he eventually chose: to serve his country.

Chris graduated from Kennebecasis High School in Saint John with honours. He was part of the Army Reserves throughout those High School years when he received a full scholarship to military college. He attended Collège Militaire Royal de Saint Jean, in Quebec, in the Regular Officer Training Plan (ROTP).

After his graduation from military college, Chris was stationed in Halifax, aboard CFB Stadacona, working as a Combat Systems Engineer. He also served on other naval ships during his career. He absolutely loved the military, which became his second family, and he shared many adventures with his mates over the years.

Extremely proud and excited to become a submariner, Chris took to the role as the perfectionist he was, becoming hard on himself at times - wanting to achieve the very high standards he set for himself. He was awarded the Sacrifice Medal posthumously. In addition, his former comrades organized a yearly hockey tournament in celebration of his life. The Chris Saunders Memorial Hockey Tournament attracts military hockey teams and raises funds for a different charity each year. The community where Chris grew up also honoured him by naming the Chris Saunders Memorial Elementary School in Quispamsis, NB.

Commemorated on Page 217 of the In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance. Request a copy of this page.

Burial Information


Cemetery:

BERWICK CEMETERY (NOVA SCOTIA)
Nova Scotia, Canada

Grave Reference:

Plot D, Row 113

Digital Collection

Send us your images
  • Photo of Christopher Saunders– 19755 Lt(N) Chris Saunders (CMR 1995) died on October 6, 2004 during a submarine fire while serving on HMCS Chicoutimi at 32 years of age. He was awarded Sacrifice Medal (posthumous), Canadian Forces Decoration. Photos credits: DND/CAF
  • Photo of Christopher Saunders– Photos credits: DND/CAF
  • Photo of Christopher Saunders– Photo: Formation Imaging Services, MARLANT
  • Photo 2 of Christopher Saunders
  • Memorial Service– Captain Bruce Murray, Canadian Forces Chaplain from Halifax Nova Scotia, greets sailors from HMCS CHICOUTIMI outside the Rhu and Shandon Parish Church in Rhu, Scotland. The sailors where attending a Memorial Service to honour the life of Lieutenant (Navy) Chris Saunders, a Combat Systems Engineer on board HMCS CHICOUTIMI.  Lt (N) Saunders passed away during the course of the medical evacuation to SLIGO Hospital in North-West Ireland. He was one of three individuals evacuated from the submarine for smoke inhalation injuries.Photo: MCpl Paul MacGregor Canadian Forces Combat Camera
  • Memorial service - photo 2– Canadian Navy Sailors from Halifax Nova Scotia, enter the Rhu and Shandon Parish Church in Rhu, Scotland to attend a memorial service to honour the life of Lieutenant (Navy) Chris Saunders, a Combat Systems Engineer on board HMCS CHICOUTIMI.
Photo: MCpl Paul MacGregor Canadian Forces Combat Camera
  • Memorial Doll– Memorial Doll, Canada's Military Colleges

19755 Lt(N) Chris Saunders, who graduated from College Militaire Royal Saint Jean 1995) died on October 6, 2004 during a submarine fire while serving on HMCS Chicoutimi at 32 years of age. He was awarded Sacrifice Medal (posthumous), Canadian Forces Decoration
  • Memorial Stained Glass– Memorial Stained Glass window, Currie Hall, Royal Military College of Canada recalls alumni of Canadian Military Colleges who die while serving at sea.

19755 Lt(N) Chris Saunders, who graduated from College Militaire Royal Saint Jean 1995, died on October 6, 2004 during a submarine fire while serving on HMCS Chicoutimi at 32 years of age. He was awarded Sacrifice Medal (posthumous), Canadian Forces Decoration

Learn more about the Canadian Virtual Memorial

To learn more please visit our help page. If you have questions or comments regarding the information contained in this registry, email vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca or call us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Christopher Edward Saunders

En mémoire

Lieutenant Christopher Edward Saunders

6 octobre 2004

Irlande

Service militaire


Âge :

32

Force :

Marine

Unité :

HMCS Chicoutimi

Mention(s) élogieuse(s) :

La Médaille du Sacrifice (posthume), Décoration des Forces canadiennes

Renseignements additionnels


Né(e) :

le 7 avril 1972
Saint John, Nouveau-Brunswick

Enrôlement :

le 21 juin 1990

Fils de Hugh Saunders et Debbie Sullivan (La Mère nationale de la Croix du Souvenir (Croix d’argent) de 2020). Beau-fils de Trish Saunders (épouse de Hugh) et Stuart Sullivan (époux de Debbie). Christopher et sa femme Gwen avaient deux jeunes enfants lorsqu'il est décédé; Ben et Luke avaient alors respectivement deux ans et sept semaines. Gendre de Reg et Sherald Patterson.

Biographie gracieuseté de la Légion royale canadienne

Le Ltv Christopher Edward Saunders était un officier de la Marine royale canadienne, un sous-marinier enthousiaste ayant été formé comme ingénieur des systèmes de combat.

Chris a été tué dans un tragique incendie alors qu’il servait à bord du NCSM Chicoutimi. Le sous-marin était en route de l’Écosse vers le Canada lorsque l’incendie s’est déclaré le 6 octobre 2004.

Chris était très dynamique lorsqu’il était enfant, toujours occupé avec les nombreux amis proches qu’il se fît au fil des ans. Celui que l’on qualifiait de garçon heureux et bien équilibré avait un penchant pour les détails et l’organisation, même à un jeune âge. « Une place pour chaque chose, et chaque chose à sa place », raconte sa mère, Debbie.

Pendant ses années à l’école, Chris semblait vouloir se lier d’amitié avec les enfants timides et tranquilles, les aidant à prendre confiance en eux. Passionné de casse-têtes, de livres et de jeux de société, Chris adorait aussi le base-ball et le golf ; il est plus tard devenu un fervent adepte du vélo de montagne. Il envisageait une carrière dédiée au service des autres, et c’est exactement ce qu’il a choisi : de servir son pays.

Chris a obtenu son diplôme de l’école secondaire Kennebecasis à Saint John avec mention. Il fut réserviste de l’armée tout au long du secondaire, et il reçut une bourse d’études complète au collège militaire. Il fréquenta le Collège Militaire Royal de Saint-Jean, au Québec, dans le cadre du Programme de formation des officiers de la Force régulière (PFOR).

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de l’école militaire, Chris a été stationné à Halifax, à bord de la BFC Stadacona, où il a travaillé comme ingénieur des systèmes de combat. Il a également servi sur d’autres navires de guerre au cours de sa carrière. Il aimait passionnément l’armée, qui est devenue sa deuxième famille, et il a partagé de nombreuses aventures avec ses camarades au fil des ans.

Extrêmement fier et enthousiaste à l’idée de devenir sous-marinier, mais toujours très perfectionniste, Chris était parfois dur avec lui-même, voulant atteindre les objectifs de haut standard qu’il s’était fixés. Il a reçu la Médaille du sacrifice à titre posthume. De plus, ses anciens camarades ont organisé un tournoi de hockey annuel pour célébrer sa vie. Le tournoi de hockey commémoratif Chris Saunders rassemble des équipes de hockey militaires et permet de recueillir des fonds pour une œuvre de bienfaisance différente chaque année. La ville où Chris a grandi lui a également rendu hommage en baptisant la Chris Saunders Memorial Elementary School à Quispamsis, Nouveau-Brunswick.

Inscription commémorative sur la page 217 du Livre du Souvenir au service du Canada (1947 - 2014). Commander une copie de cette page. Télécharger une copie haute résolution.

Information sur le lieu d’inhumation


Cimetière :

CIMETIÈRE DE BERWICK (NOUVELLE-ÉCOSSE)
Nova Scotia Canada

Information sur la sépulture :

Plot D, Row 113

Collection numérique

Envoyez-nous vos images
  • Photo de Christopher Saunders
  • Photo de Christopher Saunders
  • Photo de Christopher Saunders – Photo : Services d'imagerie de la formation, MARLANT
  • 2e photo de Christopher Saunders
  • Service commémoratif – Le Capitaine Bruce Murray, aumônier des Forces canadiennes à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse), accueille les membres de l¿équipage du NCSM Chicoutimi à l¿extérieur de la Rhu and Shandon Parish Church à Rhu (Écosse). Les marins ont assisté à un service commémoratif en l¿honneur du Lieutenant de vaisseau Chris Saunders, ingénieur des systèmes de combat à bord du NCSM Chicoutimi.  Le Ltv Saunders est décédé durant le vol d¿évacuation sanitaire à destination de l¿hôpital de Sligo, dans le nord-ouest de l¿Irlande. Il est l¿un des trois marins évacués du sous?marin pour avoir inhalé de la fumée.
Photo: MCpl Paul MacGregor Canadian Forces Combat Camera
  • Service commémoratif - 2e photo – Des marins canadiens de Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) entrent dans la Rhu and Shandon Parish Church à Rhu (Écosse) en vue d¿assister à un service commémoratif en l¿honneur du Lieutenant de vaisseau Chris Saunders, ingénieur des systèmes de combat à bord du NCSM Chicoutimi.
Photo : MCpl Paul MacGregor Canadian Forces Combat Camera
  • Mémorial
  • Mémorial

En apprendre plus sur le Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page d’aide. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les renseignements contenus dans ce répertoire, envoyez-nous un courriel à vac.cvwm-mvgc.acc@canada.ca ou appelez-nous.

Date de modification :