Language selection

Canada's Air Force Poland Humanitarian Plaque

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial Number: 35060-002

Type: Plaque; bronze

Address: 337 Breadner Boulevard

Location: Our Lady of the Airways Chapel

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.3329991   Long: -75.6652085

Contributor: Richard Turcotte

The following is an article from: Air Force News - Poles Commemorate Canadian Air Force Help - Nov. 8, 2007 - by Jenn Gearney.

The quaint chapel at the entrance of Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Uplands, South of Ottawa, was chock full of proud Canadian Air Force members and Polish diplomats last Sunday. The occasion was a ceremony initiated by the Polish Embassy to rededicate a plaque to Canada's Air Force for providing humanitarian aid to Poland at the end of World War II. At the end of the War, Poland was in economic ruins but it was not yet ruled by the Soviets, so Canada took the opportunity to deliver humanitarian help to the country in the form of penicillin-gretaly helping the thousands of sick Poles in the country.

In October and November of 1945, the Royal Canadian Air Force's (RCAF) No. 168 Heavy Transport Squadron at Rockcliff (sic) base in Ottawa, was given the task of delivering the medicine. On its first mission, the RCAF's Flying Fortress No. 9202 flew nearly 2,500 kgs (5,500 lbs) of penicillin provided by the Canadian Red Cross to Scotland, where it waited for the green light to fly into Poland. When permission was obtained the RCAF flew the medicine into Warsaw, Poland's capital.

Regrettably, the second time No. 9202 flew the Poland-bound penicillin, the aircraft struck trees near Halle, Germany, crashing and killing all five RCAF members on board. But that didn't stop the RCAF's humanitarian mission to Poland. Flying Fortress 9205 took over the task and delivered more of the much-needed medication. Ultimately, the RCAF managed to deliver five tons of penicillin to Poland, received by the Polish Red Cross and the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Organization. These were the only humanitarian flights the RCAF would be able to make into the Soviet Bloc until after the Cold War.

Fast-forwarding ahead to 2007, this year, Air Force Major-General Joseph Hincke, Polish Ambassador to Canada Piotr Ogrodziski, and Polish Navy Captain Kazimierz Starobrat, Defence Attaché, laid the wreath below a plaque at CFB Uplands, marking what the Canadian Air Force did for the Polish back in 1945 and remembering the Canadians that lost their lives doing it.

The plaque had originally been placed at CFB Rockcliffe in 1947 but became homeless in 1994 when the base was shut down. A similar plaque is placed at the military hospital in Warsaw. "Poland appealed for support from its allies but the allies were very hesitant because it was a very risky flight into a Soviet zone of occupation. But Canadians, only the Canadians, conducted three flights," said Rafal Domisiewicz, Seond Secretary of Culture at the Polish Embassy in Ottawa.

Ambassador Ogrodziski continued in heartfelt sentiment. "After the loss of six million citizens and a terrible destruction of infrastructure, the public was in very bad shape and we needed to help to take care of the sick people," said the Ambassador. "That help was answered by the Royal Canadian Air Force with a very important life saving drug. Unfortunately getting that drug to us ended in tragedy for a Canadian crew. We will remember those airmen today who sacrificed their life for Poles that needed help. We remember and we will never forget."

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[front/devant]

Dedicated to the memory
of the five Canadian airmen
who lost their lives near Halle, Germany
on November 4th 1945
when their aeroplane crashed
while carrying lifesaving penicillin to Poland
These are their names
Sq/L Alfred Forest Webster, DFC of Vancouver, BC
F/L Donald Forest Caldwell of Asplund, Alta
F/L Edward Pattern Harling of Calgary, Alta
F/L Norbert David Roche of Dorval, Que
and
Sgt Edwin Erwin Phillips of Montreal, Que

This tablet is erected by
The United Polish Relief Fund of Canada 

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Plaque pour activités humanitaires de l’Aviation canadienne en Pologne

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35060-002

Type : Plaque en laiton

Adresse : 337, Boulevard Breadner

Lieu : Chapelle Notre-Dame voies Aériennes

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.3329991   Long: -75.6652085

Collaborateur : Richard Turcotte

Voici un article tiré de: Nouvelles de la Force aérienne - Les Polonais commémorent l’aide de la Force aérienne du Canada - Le 8 Nov. 2007 - Par Jenn Gearey.

Dimanche dernier, la charmante petite chapelle à l'entrée de la Base des Forces canadiennes (BFC) Uplands, dans le Sud d'Ottawa, était remplie à craquer de membres de la Force aérienne canadienne et de diplomates polonais tous plus fiers les uns que les autres. Cette cérémonie a été organisée par l'ambassade polonaise afin de remettre une plaque à la Force aérienne du Canada pour son aide humanitaire donnée en Pologne à la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. À la fin de la guerre, la Pologne vivait une ruine économique, mais elle n'était pas encore sous l'emprise des Soviétiques. Le Canada a donc saisi cette occasion pour livrer de l'aide humanitaire dans ce pays comme de la pénicilline (ce qui a grandement aidé les milliers de polonais malades).

En octobre et en novembre 1945, l'escadron de transporteur lourd 168 de l'Aviation royale du Canada (ARC) de la base de Rockcliff (Ottawa) a reçu l'ordre de transporter les médicaments. Lors de sa première mission, la Forteresse volante 9202 de l'ARC a transporté près de 2 500 kg (5 500 l) de pénicilline fournie par la Croix-rouge canadienne jusqu'en Écosse, où l'équipage attendait d'obtenir le feu vert pour se rendre en Pologne. Lorsqu'on a reçu l'autorisation, l'ARC a transporté les médicaments jusqu'à Warsaw, la capitale de la Pologne.

Malheureusement, la deuxième fois que le 9202 a survolé le couloir en direction de la Pologne, l'aéronef a heurté des arbres près de Halle, en Allemagne, et s'est écrasé, ce qui a causé la mort des cinq membres de l'ARC. Par contre, cela n'a pas arrêté la mission humanitaire de l'ARC en Pologne. La Forteresse volante 9205 a pris la relève et a continué de livrer les médicaments si en demande. En bout de ligne, l'ARC a réussi à livrer cinq tonnes de pénicilline en Pologne, médicaments reçus par la Croix-Rouge de Pologne et l'Administration des Nations Unis pour le secours et la reconstruction. Ce sont les seuls vols, à caractère humanitaire, de l'ARC à pouvoir atteindre le bloc soviétique avant la fin de la guerre froide.

En 2007, le Major-général de la Force aérienne Joseph Hincke, M. Piotr Ogrodziski, ambassadeur de la Pologne au Canada, et le Capitaine polonais Kazimierz Starobrat, attaché militaire, ont déposé une couronne de fleurs sous la plaque à la BFC Uplands, rendant ainsi hommage aux gestes de la Force aérienne du Canada effectués pour la Pologne en 1945 et aux Canadiens qui y ont perdu la vie.

Au départ, la plaque avait été placée à la BFC Rockcliffe en 1947, mais elle a dû être relocalisée en 1994 lors de la fermeture de la base. Une plaque semblable a été placée à l'hôpital militaire de Warsaw. « La Pologne a demandé de l'aide de ses alliés, mais ces derniers étaient très hésitants à le faire étant donné qu'il était très dangereux de voler au-dessus d'une zone occupée par les Soviétiques. Les Canadiens ont tout de même effectué trois vols », mentionne M. Rafal Domisiewicz, secrétaire de la culture de l'ambassade de Pologne à Ottawa.

L'ambassadeur Ogrodziski poursuit sur le sentiment touchant. « Après la perte de six millions de citoyens et la terrible destruction de l'infrastructure, la population était très mal en point, nous avions besoin d'aide pour soigner les malades », indique l'ambassadeur. « La Force aérienne de l'Aviation royale du Canada a répondu à l'appel en offrant des médicaments essentiels pour sauver des vies. Malheureusement, la livraison de ces médicaments jusqu'à nous s'est soldée par un accident tragique pour l'équipage canadien. Nous nous souvenons de ces aviateurs qui ont sacrifié leur vie pour les Polonais qui avaient besoin d'aide. Nous nous souvenons et nous n'oublierons jamais ».

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[front/devant]

Dedicated to the memory
of the five Canadian airmen
who lost their lives near Halle, Germany
on November 4th 1945
when their aeroplane crashed
while carrying lifesaving penicillin to Poland
These are their names
Sq/L Alfred Forest Webster, DFC of Vancouver, BC
F/L Donald Forest Caldwell of Asplund, Alta
F/L Edward Pattern Harling of Calgary, Alta
F/L Norbert David Roche of Dorval, Que
and
Sgt Edwin Erwin Phillips of Montreal, Que

This tablet is erected by
The United Polish Relief Fund of Canada 

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :