Remember Flanders - Ottawa

Hidden photo gallery

  • front
    (Click for more images)
  • notepad with the poem In Flanders Fields inscribed

Municipality/Province: Ottawa, ON

Memorial Number: 35061-096

Type: Sculpture with plaque

Address: 92 Sussex Drive

Location: Green Island

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 45.440141   Long: -75.696289

Contributor: Victoria Edwards

Photo Credit: Canadian Heritage/Patrimoine canadien

The Remember Flanders memorial in Ottawa (and Guelph) was designed by Canadian sculptor Ruth Abernethy. The hand-sculpted figure and the log on which McCrae is seated were sculpted as one piece. The two ends of the log and the base of rock and dirt were sculpted in another studio. Ruth was assisted by Cassie Koch and Lynette Schlichting who worked on the trees and base.

The crested buttons, the cap badge and uniform details are specific to John McCrae, 1915. On his uniform, his Major’s rank is visible and the Gunner badge on his cap and the grenades on his lapels represent his service with the Canadian Field Artillery. As he writes with a notepad in hand, his medical bag is nearby and at his feet are poppies. In part because of the poem's popularity, the poppy was adopted as the Flower of Remembrance for the war dead of Britain, France, the United States, Canada and other Commonwealth countries.

It was erected by the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery in collaboration with the Royal Canadian Medical Service. This beautiful statue stands beside the National Artillery Memorial and was unveiled on May 3, 2015 – the 100th anniversary of the writing of his renowned poem.

Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae was the Canadian soldier, a doctor and teacher, who wrote In Flanders Fields during the First World War. Born in Guelph, Ontario in 1872, he served with an artillery battery in the South African War and had a successful civilian medical career. When the First World War broke out in 1914, the patriotic 41-year-old enlisted again and would be appointed as a medical officer with the First Brigade of the Canadian Field Artillery.

During the Second Battle of Ypres in the spring of 1915, McCrae was tending to the wounded in a part of Belgium traditionally called Flanders. On May 2, a close friend was killed in action and this painful loss inspired McCrae to write In Flanders Fields the next day. It would be published in Britain’s Punch magazine and quickly became one of the best-known poems of the war, helping make the poppy an international symbol of remembrance. Sadly, Lieutenant-Colonel McCrae would not survive the conflict, dying of illness in January 1918.

 

Add or Update Memorial Information


Inscription found on memorial

[plaque]

Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae
Some of the heaviest fighting of the First World War took place in the trenches near Ypres, Belgium. It was during the Second Battle of Ypres that the German Army first used deadly chlorine gas against Allied troops. Despite the debilitating effects of the gas, Canadian soldiers fought relentlessly and held the line. Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae was inspired to write the poem In Flanders Fields after presiding over the burial of a friend during this battle.

Note

This information is provided by contributors and Veterans Affairs Canada makes it available as a service to the public. Veterans Affairs Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Mémoire de Flandre - Ottawa

Hidden photo gallery

  • devant
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • bloc-notes sur lequel on peut lire le poème « Au champ d’honneur »

Ville/Province : Ottawa, ON

Numéro du monument : 35061-096

Type : Sculpture avec plaque

Adresse : 92, rue Sussex

Lieu : Île verte

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 45.440141   Long: -75.696289

Collaborateur : Victoria Edwards

Photo fournie par : Canadian Heritage/Patrimoine canadien

La Mémoire de Flandre, à Ottawa (et Guelph), a été réalisée par la sculptrice canadienne Ruth Abernethy. La représentation du lcol McCrae et le rondin sur lequel il est assis ont été sculptés à la main d’une seule pièce. Les deux extrémités du rondin, ainsi que l’assise de roches et de terre, ont été sculptées dans un autre atelier. Mme Abernethy a reçu l’aide de Cassie Koch et Lynette Schlichting qui ont sculpté les arbres et l’assise.

Les boutons armoriés, l’insigne de la casquette et les autres détails sont inspirés de l’uniforme que John McCrae portait en 1915. Sur son uniforme, son grade de major est visible. L’insigne de maître canonnier apparaît sur sa casquette et les grenades ajoutées au revers de son uniforme font état de son service dans l’Artillerie royale canadienne. Il est représenté en train d’écrire, bloc-notes à la main, sa trousse médicale à ses côtés. Les coquelicots à ses pieds représentent les 23 régiments du Canada. En partie à cause de la popularité du poème, le coquelicot est devenu la fleur du Souvenir pour les soldats de la Grande‑Bretagne, de la France, des États-Unis, du Canada et des autres pays du Commonwealth qui sont tombés au champ d’honneur.

La statue a été érigée par le Régiment royal d'Artillerie canadienne en collaboration avec le Service de santé royal canadien. Ce magnifique monument se dresse aux côtés du Monument national aux artilleurs et a été dévoilé le 3 mai 2015, le 100e anniversaire du jour où le célèbre poème a été composé.

Le lieutenant-colonel John McCrae est le soldat, le médecin et professeur canadien qui a composé Au champ d’honneur pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Né à Guelph, en Ontario, en 1872, il sert dans une batterie d'artillerie pendant la guerre d’Afrique du Sud et poursuit ensuite une carrière médicale civile fructueuse. Lorsque la Première Guerre mondiale est déclarée en 1914, ce patriote de 41 ans s’enrôle à nouveau et est nommé médecin militaire dans la 1re Brigade de l’Artillerie canadienne de campagne.

Au cours de la 2e bataille d’Ypres au printemps de 1915, le Lcol McCrae soigne les blessés dans une région de la Belgique traditionnellement appelée la Flandre. Le 2 mai, un ami intime est tué au combat et cette douloureuse perte inspire le Lcol McCrae à composer Au champ d’honneur le lendemain. Le poème est publié dans la revue britannique Punch et devient rapidement un des poèmes de guerre les plus connus, contribuant à faire du coquelicot le symbole international de la commémoration. Malheureusement, le lieutenant-colonel ne survit pas au conflit et succombe à la maladie en janvier 1918.

 

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Inscription sur le mémorial

[plaque]

Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae
Some of the heaviest fighting of the First World War took place in the trenches near Ypres, Belgium. It was during the Second Battle of Ypres that the German Army first used deadly chlorine gas against Allied troops. Despite the debilitating effects of the gas, Canadian soldiers fought relentlessly and held the line. Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae was inspired to write the poem In Flanders Fields after presiding over the burial of a friend during this battle.

Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :