Veterans Cemetery, God's Acre

Municipality/Province: Esquimalt, BC

Memorial Number: 59005-065

Type: Cemetery

Address: 1190 Colville Road

Location: Between the 12th and 17th holes of the Gorge Vale Golf Club

GPS Coordinates: Lat: 48.4380355   Long: -123.4133280

Photo Credit: Veterans Affairs Canada/Anciens Combattants Canada

Introduction

Veterans Cemetery in Esquimalt, British Columbia, has been an honoured final resting place for those who served at sea since 1868. Over the years, the cemetery was opened to anyone who served in Canada's military. Today, more than 2,500 military personnel and their family members are buried at God's Acre—as this beautiful place is commonly known.

The visitors who come to this National Historic Site to stroll the shaded lawns and read the time-worn inscriptions on the grave markers gain a special perspective on our country's naval heritage, military history and the importance of remembrance. Understanding what Canadians have achieved and sacrificed in the cause of peace and freedom, both here at home and around the world, is important. This knowledge allows us all to better understand our country's past and how we can build a brighter future together.

A Brief History

The history of Veterans Cemetery in Esquimalt goes back to July 8, 1868, when Rear-Admiral George Fowler Hastings purchased an acre of land from Puget Sound Agricultural Company, a subsidiary of the Hudson's Bay Company. He wanted to create a Royal Navy cemetery for "deceased officers and men." The total cost to buy and prepare the former turnip field, on what was once the Constance Cove farm, was $250. The cemetery soon became known as God's Acre.

Before the establishment of Veterans Cemetery, Royal Navy officers had been buried at the Quadra Street Cemetery (now known as Pioneer Square). Sailors were buried on Brothers Island, at the mouth of Esquimalt Harbour. This arrangement had to change when the threat of a war with Russia loomed in the 1860s and the British decided to construct a gun battery on Brothers Island. While no graves had to be moved at the time, it became doubtful that the island could continue to be used as a cemetery.

The new cemetery for the Royal Navy was divided into three sections: one for Episcopalians, one for Roman Catholics and one for Dissenters (certain Protestant denominations). A small chapel was also constructed and left unconsecrated so it could be used by all sects. The burial ground was consecrated on July 14, 1868, by the Right Reverend George Hills, the first Anglican bishop of British Columbia.

Further tension with Russia in 1889 meant that the gun batteries on Brothers Island were strengthened to better defend against the threat of the Imperial Russian Navy. To allow room for this expansion, the graves of the Royal Navy sailors buried there were moved to the new cemetery.

The Royal Artillery arrived in 1901 to aid in the defence of the Esquimalt naval base. At that time, the British War Office purchased the eastern section of the cemetery for burial of artillery officers and soldiers. Time passed and the Royal Canadian Navy and Canadian Army took over from their British counterparts, but the two sections of the cemetery continued as separate units.

In 1947, the Department of Veterans Affairs took over the 1.1 hectare (2.7 acre) cemetery and the two sections were joined to become the Veterans Cemetery. Nestled between the 12th and 17th holes of the Gorge Vale Golf Club, this unique location remains affectionately known as God's Acre.

The Chapel

The small and charming chapel at Veterans Cemetery is nestled beneath old evergreen trees. While the building was renovated in 1945, its historic character was preserved. The construction of the chapel is unique as it made use of many different kinds of wood from around the British Commonwealth, including camphor, teak, ironwood and mahogany.

Along the walls are plaques commemorating Royal Navy ships and their crew members, many of whom are buried in the oldest areas of the tree-shaded cemetery. Old ship's lanterns, once fuelled by whale oil, hang as reminders of the days of "wooden ships and iron men." The white ensign of the Royal Canadian Navy can be seen above the altar. It is a reminder of the many Canadian ships that served under that flag—as well as the many men from those ships who died.

The tranquil chapel is still used today, with special permission, for marriages, christenings, memorial services and other special events.

The Cross of Sacrifice

The large Cross of Sacrifice is a monument found in all war cemeteries in the British Commonwealth. The granite cross is sculpted in the shape of shell casings. On the front, a large bronze sword is mounted, pointing downward, to form another cross. The biblical symbolism of "turning swords into plowshares" is one that many visitors recognize.

The monument design dates to 1917. During the First World War, the Imperial War Graves Commission was founded to ensure that bodies of military personnel from the British Empire who died during war were found, identified when possible and buried with full military honours. Well-known architects were asked to submit possible designs for memorials to be erected in thousands of French and Belgian cemeteries. Sir Reginald Blomfield's winning design of the Cross of Sacrifice was chosen in part "... to emphasize the military character of the cemetery."

The Cross of Sacrifice in Veterans Cemetery was unveiled on October 27, 1961, by Maj.-Gen. George R. Pearkes. Pearkes, a Victoria Cross recipient, was a former Minister of National Defence and lieutenant-governor of British Columbia.

Add or Update Memorial Information


Date modified:

Cimetière des anciens combattants, God's Acre

Hidden photo gallery

  • Cimetière
    (Cliquez pour images supplémentaires)
  • La chapelle
  • La Croix du Sacrifice
  • La chapelle du Cimetière pour anciens combattants et une des premières pierres tombales

Ville/Province : Esquimalt, BC

Numéro du monument : 59005-065

Type : Cimetière

Adresse : 1190 Colville Road

Lieu : Between the 12th and 17th holes of the Gorge Vale Golf Club

Coordonnées GPS : Lat: 48.4380355   Long: -123.4133280

Introduction

Le Cimetière des anciens combattants d'Esquimalt, en Colombie-Britannique, est un lieu consacré au dernier repos des marins depuis 1868. Au fil des ans, sont venus les rejoindre des combattants qui ont servi dans l'ensemble des Forces armées du Canada. Aujourd'hui, plus de 2 500 militaires et membres de leurs familles reposent à God's Acre, nom qui désigne ce lieu charmant et pittoresque.

Les personnes qui visitent ce lieu historique national peuvent déambuler sur les pelouses ombragées et lire les inscriptions sur les pierres tombales usées par le temps tout en profitant d'un point de vue particulier sur le patrimoine naval et l'histoire militaire de notre pays et sur l'importance du Souvenir. Il est important de connaître les réalisations et les sacrifices consentis par les Canadiens au nom de la paix et de la liberté, tant ici qu'à l'étranger. Ces connaissances nous permettent de mieux comprendre le passé de notre pays et ce que nous pouvons faire ensemble pour construire un avenir meilleur.

Bref historique

L'histoire du Cimetière des anciens combattants d'Esquimalt remonte au 8 juillet 1868, lorsque le contre-amiral George Fowler Hastings fit l'acquisition d'un acre de terre de la Puget Sound Agricultural Company (filiale de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson). Il voulait en faire un cimetière de la Marine royale pour « les officiers et les matelots décédés ». L'achat et l'aménagement de cet ancien champ de navets de la ferme de Constance Cove lui coûtèrent 250 dollars. Le cimetière devint bientôt connu sous le nom de God's Acre.

Avant l'instauration du Cimetière des anciens combattants, les officiers de la Marine royale étaient inhumés dans le cimetière de la rue Quadra (aujourd'hui Pioneer Square). Les matelots étaient inhumés à l'île Brothers, à l'entrée du port d'Esquimalt. Toutefois, les rumeurs d'hostilités avec la Russie dans les années 1860 ont poussé les Britanniques à décider de construire une batterie de tir dans l'île Brothers. Même si à l'époque aucune tombe ne fut déplacée, on en vint à remettre en question la vocation de lieu de sépulture de l'île Brothers.

Le nouveau cimetière de la Marine royale fut divisé en trois sections : une pour les épiscopaliens, une pour les catholiques et une pour les dissidents (certaines confessions protestantes). On y construisit une chapelle sans toutefois la consacrer pour qu'elle puisse servir à toutes les confessions religieuses. Le lieu de sépulture fut consacré le 14 juillet 1868 par le très révérend George Hills, premier évêque anglican de la Colombie-Britannique.

De nouvelles tensions avec la Russie en 1889 eurent pour résultat une consolidation des batteries de l'île Brothers afin de renforcer les défenses contre la menace d'une attaque de la marine impériale russe. Afin de permettre cet agrandissement, il fallut déplacer les tombes des matelots de la Marine royale inhumés dans ce cimetière vers le nouveau cimetière.

En 1901, l'Artillerie royale vint prêter main forte à la base navale d'Esquimalt. À la même époque, le British War Office acheta la partie est du cimetière pour y enterrer les officiers et les soldats de l'Artillerie royale. Graduellement, la Marine royale canadienne et l'Armée canadienne en sont venues à assumer la relève de leurs homologues britanniques, mais les deux parties du cimetière continuèrent d'être séparées.

En 1947, le ministère des Anciens Combattants se vit confier la charge du cimetière de 1.1 hectare (2,7 acres). Aujourd'hui, enclavé entre les 12e et 17e trous du club de golf Gorge Vale, on appelle encore affectueusement ce cimetière God's Acre.

La chapelle

La charmante petite chapelle du Cimetière des anciens combattants est blottie derrière de vénérables conifères. Bien que des rénovations aient été effectuées en 1945, on a su conserver la nature historique du bâtiment. La construction de cette chapelle est particulière en ce sens qu'on a utilisé diverses essences d'arbres provenant de tout le Commonwealth, notamment le camphrier, le teck, le bois de fer et l'acajou.

Des plaques posées sur les murs de la chapelle commémorent des navires de la Marine royale et les membres de leurs équipages qui reposent dans les plus anciennes parties du cimetière ombragé. De vieilles lanternes de navire, dans lesquelles on brûlait autrefois de l'huile de baleine, sont suspendues et rappellent l'époque des « vaisseaux de bois et des hommes de
fer ». Au-dessus de l'autel veille le pavillon blanc de la Marine royale canadienne sous lequel tant de navires canadiens ont combattu et tant de membres de leurs équipages ont donné leur vie.

De nos jours, en demandant une permission spéciale, il est possible de tenir des mariages ou des baptêmes ainsi que des services commémoratifs dans la paisible chapelle.

La Croix du Sacrifice

La grande Croix du Sacrifice est un monument qu'on trouve dans tous les cimetières de guerre du Commonwealth britannique. Le granite de la croix est sculpté en forme de douilles, et sur la face est monté un grand glaive de bronze, la pointe tournée vers le bas, formant ainsi une autre croix. Les visiteurs y reconnaissent le symbole biblique de la réconciliation.

La conception de la Croix du Sacrifice remonte à 1917. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, la Imperial War Graves Commission fut constituée pour veiller à ce que les corps des militaires de l'Empire britannique morts à la guerre soient retrouvés, identifiés, dans la mesure du possible, et inhumés avec tous les honneurs militaires. On demanda à des architectes de renom de proposer des modèles de monuments commémoratifs devant être érigés dans les milliers de cimetières français et belges. La Croix du Sacrifice proposée par Sir Reginald Blomfield fut choisie parce qu'elle mettait l'accent sur le caractère militaire du cimetière.

Le 27 octobre 1961, le major-général George R. Pearkes dévoila la Croix du Sacrifice du Cimetière des anciens combattants. Ce récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria a aussi occupé le poste de ministre de la Défense nationale ainsi que celui de lieutenant-gouverneur de la Colombie-Britannique.

Ajouter ou mettre à jour l’information


Note

Ces renseignements sont fournis par des collaborateurs. Anciens Combattants Canada fournit ces renseignements à titre de service au public. Anciens Combattants Canada ne peut garantir l’exactitude, la fiabilité ou l’actualité du contenu.

Date de modification :