Black Canadians in uniform — a proud tradition

Often having to overcome great challenges just to enlist in the military, the sacrifices and achievements of Black Canadians over the years have shone through.

Share:

Pre-First World War

Introduction

The tradition of military service by Black Canadians goes back long before Confederation. Indeed, many Black Canadians can trace their family roots to Loyalists who emigrated North in the 1780s after the American Revolutionary War. American slaves had been offered freedom and land if they agreed to fight in the British cause and thousands seized this opportunity to build a new life in British North America.

This tradition of military service did not end there, with some Black soldiers seeing action in the War of 1812, helping defend Upper Canada against American attacks. A number of volunteers were organized into the "Company of Coloured Men," which played an important role in the Battle of Queenston Heights. Black militia members also fought in many other significant battles during the war, helping drive back the American forces. Black soldiers also played an important role in the Upper Canadian Rebellion (1837–1839). In all, approximately 1,000 Black militia men fighting in five companies helped put down the uprising, taking part in some of the most important incidents such as the Battle of Toronto.

Black volunteers also served with British forces farther away from home, including in the Royal Navy. Indeed, one such man, William Hall, would earn the Victoria Cross (the highest award for military valour) for his brave actions in India in 1857.

Able-Seaman William Neilson Edward Hall

Victoria Pioneer Rifle Corps

Black people in the West also forged their own military traditions. In the late 1850s, hundreds of Black settlers moved from California to Vancouver Island in pursuit of a better life. Approximately 50 of the new immigrants soon organized the Victoria Pioneer Rifle Corps, an all-Black volunteer force also known locally as the "African Rifles." While the corps was disbanded by 1865 after only a few years of existence, it was the first officially-authorized militia unit in the West Coast colony.

Victoria Rifles standing at attention

While relatively few Black Canadians served in the military in the years immediately following Confederation, a few were part of the Canadian Contingent that went overseas during the South African War of 1899–1902. However, the First World War that erupted a decade and a half later would see a great change in how Black Canadians served.



First World War

Eager to serve

Like so many others swept up in the excitement and patriotism that the First World War (1914-1918) initially brought on, young Black Canadians were eager to serve King and country. At the time, however, the prejudiced attitudes of many of the people in charge of military enlistment made it very difficult for these men to join the Canadian Army. Despite the barriers, some Black Canadians did manage to join up during the opening years of the war. Black Canadians wanted the chance to do their part on a larger scale, however, and pressured the government to do so.

No. 2 Construction Battalion

On July 5, 1916, the No. 2 Construction Battalion was formed in Pictou, Nova Scotia—the first large Black military unit in Canadian history. Recruitment took place across the country and more than 600 men were eventually accepted, most from Nova Scotia, with others coming from New Brunswick, Ontario, the West and even some from the United States. The Black Battalion's chaplain was Reverend William White, who had also played a leading role getting the unit formed. He was given the rank of Honourary Captain—one of the few Black commissioned officers to serve in the Canadian Army during the war.

Reverend White

Reverend William White, chaplain for the No. 2 Construction Battalion during the First World War. Honourary Captain White was one of the few Black commissioned officers in the Canadian Army during the war.

Photo: Library and Archives Canada

The segregated battalion was tasked with non-combat support roles. After initial service in Canada, the battalion boarded the SS Southland bound for Liverpool, England in March 1917. Its members were sent to eastern France later in 1917 where they served honourably with the Canadian Forestry Corps. There they helped provide the lumber required to maintain trenches on the front lines, as well as helped construct roads and railways. After the end of the First World War in November 1918, the men sailed to Halifax in early 1919 to return to civilian life and the unit was officially disbanded in 1920.

Distinguished service

In addition to the men of the Black Battalion, an estimated 2,000 Black Canadians, such as James Grant, Roy Fells, Seymour Tyler, Jeremiah Jones and Curly Christian, were determined to get to the front lines and managed to join regular units, going on to give distinguished service that earned some of them medals for bravery.

Canadian Corps

Four soldiers with the Canadian Corps pose with ammunition before loading it into tramway cars to be taken up the line during the First World War.

Photo: Canadian War Museum, George Metcalf Archival Collection

Black Canadians on the home front

Black Canadians also made important contributions on the home front. They helped achieve victory by working in factories making the weapons and supplies needed by the soldiers fighting overseas, and by taking part in patriotic activities like raising funds for the war effort.

Today, the dedicated service of the "Black Battalion" and other Black Canadians who fought in the First World War is remembered and celebrated as a cornerstone of the proud tradition of Black military service in our country.


Memorials

Memorials main page
  • Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada

    No. 2 Construction C.E.F. Memorial

    This memorial is dedicated to the members of the No. 2 Construction Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force.

  • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    National War Memorial

    The National War Memorial, also known as "The Response," is a cenotaph symbolizing the sacrifice of all Canadian Armed Forces personnel who have served Canada in the cause of peace and freedom.

  • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

    The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier honours the more than 118,000 Canadians who sacrificed their lives in the cause of peace and freedom.

  • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    Reconciliation: The Peacekeeping Monument

    Commemorates Canada's role in international peace support missions and the service members who have participated in these efforts.


Second World War

Canadians serving together

Little more than 20 years after the end of the "War to End all Wars," the Second World War (1939–1945) erupted and soon spread across Europe and around the globe. The Second World War saw considerable growth in how Black Canadians served in the military. While some Black recruits would encounter resistance when trying to enlist in the army, in contrast to the First World War no segregated battalions were created. Indeed, Several thousand Black men and women served during the bloodiest war the world has ever seen. All Canadians served together, here at home, in England, and on the battlefields of Europe. Together they shared the same harsh experiences of war while fighting in places like Italy, France, Belgium and the Netherlands.

Welsford Daniels

Welsford Daniels in 1943.

In the early years of the war, however, the Royal Canadian Navy and Royal Canadian Air Force were not as inclusive in their policies. This did not mean that trail-blazing Black Canadians did not find a way to persevere and serve. Some Black sailors served in the Navy, and Black airmen served in the Air Force as ground crew and aircrew here at home and overseas in Europe.

The contributions of Black servicemen was second to none and several earned decorations for their bravery. Some Black women joined the military as well, serving in support roles so that more men were available for the front lines.

Home front efforts during the Second World War

Back on the home front, Black Canadians again made important contributions by working in factories that produced vehicles, weapons, ammunition and other materials for the war effort, and taking part in other patriotic efforts like war bond drives. For example, Black women in Nova Scotia worked in vital jobs in the shipbuilding industry, filling the shoes of the men who would usually do that work but who were away fighting in the war.

Cecilia Butler

Cecilia Butler working in the John Inglis Company munitions plant in Toronto during the Second World War, December 1943.

The right to equality

Many Black Veterans returned home after the war with a heightened awareness of the value of freedom and their right to be treated as equals after all they had done for Canada in their country's time of need. The service of Black Canadians in the Second World War remains a point of pride and was a measure of how Black Canadians were becoming increasingly integrated into wider Canadian society.

Medals

Medals main page

Korean War and the Post-War Years

Evolving roles

Since the end of the Second World War, the tradition of Black Canadian service in the military has expanded and evolved.

In the Korean War (1950–1953), Canadians returned to the battlefield scarcely five years after the end of the Second World War, travelling halfway around the world to join the United Nations forces fighting to restore peace in Korea. Black soldiers were among the Canadian Army troops that were sent to fight so far from home.

Dismantling racist policies in the military

While some last traces of discrimination continued in Canadian military recruiting practices into the mid-1950s, Black Canadians became more established in the Royal Canadian Navy and Royal Canadian Air Force, as well. For example, Raymond Lawrence joined the Navy in 1953, rising to become the first Black Petty Officer 1st class and first Black coxswain on a Canadian ship.

Major Stephen Blizzard.

The Air Force's Major Stephen Blizzard was a flight surgeon and also got his wings in the 1960s as a jet pilot during a long and varied career in the Canadian military—a trailblazer both in the air and in medicine. He also made important contributions to aviation medicine in both the military and civil fields.

Over the decades since the Korean War, Black Canadians have gone on to serve in every branch of the military, in duties both here at home and in operations around the world during the Cold War and in international peace support efforts (right from the first large-scale United Nations peacekeeping mission to Egypt during the Suez Crisis of the 1950s).

Major Wally Peters flew with the Snowbirds, the Canadian Armed Forces' precision flying team in the early 1980s.

Photo: Veterans Affairs Canada

Sacrifice

Today, Black Canadians standing on the shoulders of the trailblazers who led the way continue to serve proudly in uniform where they share in the sacrifices and achievements being made by the Canadian Armed Forces. Our country's efforts in Afghanistan have come at a high cost, one that has been borne by Black soldiers, as well. Brave men like Ainsworth Dyer and Mark Graham are among the more than 150 Canadian Armed Forces members who have died in Afghanistan since 2002.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Les Canadiens noirs en uniforme — Une fière tradition

Ayant souvent dû surmonter de grands obstacles pour s'enrôler dans l'armée, les Canadiens noirs se sont démarqués par leurs sacrifices et leurs réalisations au fil des années.

Partager :

L'avant-Première Guerre mondiale

Introduction

La tradition du service militaire par des Canadiens noirs remonte à bien avant la Confédération. En effet, de nombreux Canadiens noirs peuvent retracer leurs racines familiales à partir des Loyalistes qui ont émigré au Nord dans les années 1780, après la Révolution américaine. On avait offert la liberté et des terres aux esclaves américains s'ils acceptaient de se battre pour la cause britannique et des milliers saisirent cette occasion pour se faire une nouvelle vie dans l'Amérique du Nord britannique.

Cette tradition du service militaire ne s'arrête pas là; des soldats noirs ont vu de l'action au cours de la guerre de 1812, en contribuant à défendre le Haut Canada contre les attaques des Américains. Un certain nombre de bénévoles ont été réunis dans la « Company of Coloured Men », qui a joué un rôle important dans la bataille de Queenston Heights. Des membres de la milice noire ont aussi combattu dans beaucoup d'autres batailles importantes au cours de la guerre, pour aider à repousser les forces américaines. Les soldats noirs ont également joué un rôle important lors de la Rébellion du Haut Canada (de 1837 à 1839). En tout, environ 1 000 hommes de la milice noire combattant dans cinq compagnies ont aidé à arrêter la révolte, en prenant part à certains des incidents les plus importants, comme la bataille de Toronto.

Des volontaires noirs ont aussi servi dans les forces britanniques à l'étranger, y compris dans la Royal Navy. En effet, un de ces hommes, William Hall, a reçu la Croix de Victoria (la plus haute distinction pour bravoure militaire) pour ses actions courageuses en Inde en 1857.

Matelot de 2e classe William Neilson Edward Hall

Victoria Pioneer Rifle Corps

Des Noirs dans l'Ouest ont aussi forgé leurs propres traditions militaires. À la fin des années 1850, des centaines de colons noirs ont déménagé de la Californie à l'île de Vancouver, à la recherche d'une vie meilleure. Environ 50 des nouveaux immigrants ont vite organisé le Victoria Pioneer Rifle Corps, une force de volontaires, tous noirs, aussi connus localement comme les « African Rifles ». Même si le corps a été dissous en 1865 après seulement quelques années d'existence, il a été la première unité de milice officiellement reconnue dans la colonie de la côte Ouest.

Le Victoria Pioneer Rifle Corps.

Bien que relativement peu de Canadiens noirs ont servi dans l'armée au cours des années qui ont immédiatement suivi la Confédération, quelques uns ont fait partie du contingent canadien qui est allé à l'étranger pendant la guerre d'Afrique du Sud, de 1899 à 1902. Toutefois, la Première Guerre mondiale qui a éclaté une décennie et demie plus tard a été l'occasion d'un grand changement dans la façon dont les Canadiens noirs ont servi.



La Première Guerre mondiale

Désireux de servir

Comme tant d'autres personnes emportées par l'enthousiasme et le patriotisme que la Première Guerre mondiale (de 1914 à 1918) a d'abord suscités, les jeunes Canadiens noirs étaient désireux de servir le roi et le pays. À l'époque, cependant, l'attitude et les préjugés de plusieurs personnes responsables de l'enrôlement militaire faisaient en sorte qu'il était très difficile pour ces hommes de joindre l'Armée canadienne. Malgré les obstacles, quelques uns des Canadiens noirs ont réussi à s'engager pendant les premières années de la guerre. Mais les Canadiens noirs voulaient avoir la chance d'apporter leur contribution, et ils firent pression sur le gouvernement pour qu'il leur permette à eux aussi de servir.

Le 2e Bataillon de construction

Le 5 juillet 1916, le 2e Bataillon de construction a été formé à Pictou, en Nouvelle Écosse – la première grande unité militaire noire de l'histoire canadienne. Le recrutement a eu lieu à travers le pays et plus de 600 hommes ont finalement été acceptés, la plupart de la Nouvelle Écosse, ainsi que d'autres en provenance du Nouveau Brunswick, de l'Ontario, de l'Ouest, et même certains des États Unis. L'aumônier du Bataillon noir était le révérend William White, qui avait également joué un rôle de premier plan dans la création de l'unité. Il a reçu le grade de capitaine honoraire – l'un des rares officiers noirs à servir l'Armée canadienne pendant la guerre.

Reverend White

Le révérend William White, aumônier du 2e Bataillon de construction pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Le capitaine honoraire White était un des seuls officiers commissionnés noirs de l'Armée canadienne pendant la guerre.

Photo : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Le bataillon ségrégué a été chargé d'un rôle de soutien sans combat. Après son service initial au Canada, le bataillon monte à bord du SS Southland à destination de Liverpool, en Angleterre, en mars 1917. Ses membres sont envoyés dans la partie est de la France plus tard en 1917, où ils ont servi honorablement avec le Corps forestier canadien.

À cet endroit, ils ont aidé à fournir le bois nécessaire à l'entretien des tranchées sur les lignes de front, ainsi que participé à la construction des routes et des chemins de fer. Après la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale en novembre 1918, les hommes ont navigué jusqu'à Halifax au début de 1919 pour revenir à la vie civile et l'unité a été officiellement dissoute en 1920.

Service distingué

Outre les membres du bataillon noir, environ 2 000 Canadiens noirs, comme James Grant, Roy Fells, Seymour Tyler, Jeremiah Jones et Curly Christian, étaient déterminés à servir sur les lignes de front et ont réussi à joindre les unités régulières. Ils se sont distingués en donnant un service qui a valu à certains d'entre eux des médailles de bravoure.

Canadian Corps

Quatre soldats du Corps d'armée canadien se font photographier avec des munitions qu'ils transporteront dans des rames de tramway pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Photo : Musée canadien de la guerre, Collection d'archives George Metcalf CWM 19930012—397

Les Canadiens noirs sur le front intérieur

Les Canadiens noirs ont également apporté des contributions importantes sur le front intérieur. Ils ont aidé à remporter la victoire en travaillant dans des usines qui fabriquaient les armes et les fournitures nécessaires aux soldats qui se battaient à l'étranger, et en prenant part à des activités patriotiques comme des collectes de fonds pour l'effort de guerre.

De nos jours, le service spécial du « Bataillon noir » et d'autres Canadiens noirs qui ont combattu pendant la Première Guerre mondiale est commémoré comme une pierre angulaire de la fière tradition du service militaire des Noirs dans notre pays.


Monuments commémoratifs

Page principale du monuments commémoratifs
  • Pictou, Nouvelle-Écosse, Canada

    Monument de No. 2 Construction C.E.F.

    ce monument commémoratif est dédié aux membres du 2e Bataillon de construction du Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

  • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada

    Le Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, aussi appelé « La Réponse », est un cénotaphe qui symbolise le sacrifice de tous les membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui ont servi, servent et serviront le Canada en temps de guerre pour sauvegarder la paix et la liberté.

  • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    Tombe du Soldat inconnu

    La Tombe du Soldat inconnu est un hommage aux quelque 118 000 Canadiens qui ont sacrifié leur vie pour la cause de la paix et de la liberté.

  • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

    Réconciliation : Le monument au maintien de la paix

    Ce monument spécial, érigé sur le boulevard de la Confédération à Ottawa, rend hommage tant aux morts qu'aux vivants. Il commémore le rôle du Canada sur la scène internationale en matière de maintien de la paix, de même que le rôle des soldats qui ont servi ou qui servent actuellement dans des opérations de maintien de la paix.


La Seconde Guerre mondiale

Les Canadiens servant ensemble

Un peu plus de 20 ans après la fin de la « guerre qui devait mettre fin à toutes les guerres », la Seconde Guerre mondiale (de 1939 à 1945) a éclaté et s'est rapidement étendue dans toute l'Europe et le monde entier. La Seconde Guerre mondiale a connu une croissance considérable dans la façon dont les Canadiens noirs ont servi dans l'armée. Bien que certaines recrues noires se heurtaient à de la résistance lorsqu'elles essayaient de s'enrôler dans l'armée, aucun bataillon ségrégué ne fut créé, contrairement à ce qui s'était fait au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. En effet, plusieurs milliers d'hommes et de femmes noirs ont servi pendant la guerre la plus sanglante que le monde ait jamais connue. Tous les Canadiens ont servi ensemble, ici au pays, en Angleterre et sur les champs de bataille de l'Europe. Ensemble, ils ont partagé les mêmes expériences difficiles de la guerre en combattant dans des endroits comme l'Italie, la France, la Belgique et les Pays Bas.

Welsford Daniels

Welsford Daniels en 1943.

Au cours des premières années de la guerre, cependant, la Marine royale du Canada et l'Aviation royale du Canada n'étaient pas aussi inclusives dans leurs politiques. Cela ne signifie pas que certains pionniers Canadiens noirs n'ont pas trouvé un moyen de persévérer et de servir. Certains marins noirs ont servi dans la Marine, et des aviateurs noirs ont servi soit avec l'équipe au sol ou avec l'équipage de la Force aérienne, au pays et en Europe.

La contribution des militaires noirs était sans pareil et plusieurs ont été récompensés pour leur bravoure. Certaines femmes noires ont aussi joint l'armée, servant dans des rôles de soutien, afin qu'un nombre accru d'hommes soient libres de servir sur les lignes de front.

Les efforts du front intérieur pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale

De retour au front intérieur, les Canadiens noirs ont contribué à nouveau de façon importante en travaillant dans des usines qui produisaient des véhicules, des armes, des munitions et d'autre matériel pour l'effort de guerre, et en prenant part à d'autres efforts patriotiques tels que les campagnes d'obligations d'emprunt de guerre. Par exemple, les femmes noires en Nouvelle Écosse travaillaient à des emplois essentiels de l'industrie de la construction navale, remplaçant des hommes qui effectuaient généralement ce travail, mais étaient partis combattre à la guerre.

Cecilia Butler

Cecilia Butler au travail à l'usine de munition de la John Inglis Company de Toronto durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Décembre 1943.

Le droit à l'égalité

De nombreux anciens combattants noirs sont rentrés au pays après la guerre avec une prise de conscience de la valeur de la liberté et de leur droit d'être traités comme des égaux, après tout ce qu'ils avaient fait pour le Canada pendant une période où le pays en avait bien besoin. Le service des Canadiens noirs au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale demeure une source de fierté et a constitué une mesure de la façon dont les Canadiens noirs étaient de plus en plus intégrés à l'ensemble de la société canadienne.

Médailles

Page principale du médailles

La guerre de Corée et l'après-guerre

Évolution des rôles

Depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la tradition des Canadiens noirs au service de l'Armée s'est poursuivie et a évolué.

Pendant la guerre de Corée (de 1950 à 1953), les Canadiens sont retournés sur le champ de bataille à peine cinq ans après la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, voyageant à l'autre bout du monde pour joindre les forces de combat des Nations Unies en vue de rétablir la paix en Corée. Les soldats noirs ont fait partie des troupes de l'Armée canadienne envoyées pour se battre si loin de leur pays.

Démanteler les politiques racistes dans l'armée

Bien que certaines traces de discrimination persistaient dans les pratiques canadiennes en matière de recrutement militaire au milieu des années 1950, les Canadiens noirs sont devenus plus établis dans la Marine royale du Canada et l'Aviation royale du Canada. Par exemple, Raymond Lawrence a joint la Marine en 1953 et est devenu le premier maître de 1re classe noir et le premier capitaine d'armes noir sur un navire canadien.

Le major Stephen Blizzard.

Le major Stephen Blizzard de la Force aérienne était un médecin de l'air et il a également obtenu son brevet de pilote d'avion à réaction au cours des années 1960. Pionnier en aviation et en médecine, il a connu une carrière longue et diversifiée dans l'Armée canadienne. Sa contribution en matière de médecine aéronautique a été importante dans les domaines militaire et civil.

Au cours des décennies qui ont suivi la guerre de Corée, les Canadiens noirs ont continué à servir dans toutes les branches de l'Armée, au pays et dans des opérations à travers le monde pendant la guerre froide et dans des efforts internationaux de maintien de la paix (dès la première grande mission de paix des Nations Unies en Égypte au cours de la crise de Suez des années 1950).

Le major Wally Peters a volé avec les Snowbirds, l'équipe de vol de précision des Forces armées canadiennes, au début des années 1980.

Photo : Anciens Combattants Canada

Sacrifice

De nos jours, les Canadiens noirs poursuivent l'effort des pionniers qui ont ouvert la voie; ils portent l'uniforme avec fierté et prennent part aux sacrifices et aux réalisations des Forces armées canadiennes. Les efforts de notre pays en Afghanistan ont un coût élevé, un prix que les soldats noirs ont également payé. Des hommes courageux comme Ainsworth Dyer et Mark Graham comptent parmi les 150 membres des Forces armées canadiennes et plus qui ont perdu la vie en Afghanistan depuis 2002.

Date de modification :