Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Lance Sergeant (Ret’d) David Adlington

Lance Sergeant (Ret’d) David Adlington was born on 18 September 1919 in Newport, Wales. After enlisting with the Royal Canadian Regiment on 3 October 1939 at the Wolseley Barraks in London, Ontario, he completed his basic training with C Company of the Royal Canadian Regiment. It wasn’t long after enlisting that Adlington boarded a ship in Halifax destined for Scotland, where he arrived on New Year’s Day 1940.

Share this article on:
Lance Sergeant (Ret’d) David Adlington

Six months later, Adlington’s Regiment was deployed to Dunkirk to help with the defense and evacuation of British and other Allied forces. The Royal Canadian Regiment arrived in Brest, France, and the plan was to proceed to Dunkirk by train. There was one issue – the French army had surrendered before they had the chance to arrive. After a mere four days in France, Adlington and the Royal Canadian Regiment arrived in Portsmouth, England.

“It’s hard to believe, because we were just a bunch of kids.”

It was three years later that Adlington experienced a moment he will never forget. The Royal Canadian Regiment had boarded the SS City of Venice to head towards Sicily, Italy. Shortly thereafter, on 4 July 1943, the ship was torpedoed and sunk in the Mediterranean Sea. “This was my first introduction to combat during the war. It’s hard to believe, because we were just a bunch of kids.” Adlington was extremely fortunate to escape with his life.

Adlington was picked up by a Royal Navy frigate and transported to Algiers, Algeria. “I thought I had died and gone to heaven. There was so much food on the ship, and at that point I was a very skinny lad.” Many days after the landing in Algiers, Adlington rejoined the Royal Canadian Regiment in Sicily. He soon realized that many of his comrades had lost their life during the horrific incident in the Mediterranean Sea.

The main focus of the Royal Canadian Regiment while in Sicily was the critical Battle of Ortona. The Battle raged on from 20 to 28 December, 1943, and the rubble-filled streets of Ortona saw fierce hand-to-hand fighting. Thanks to the efforts of the Canadian and Allied soldiers, Ortona was liberated from some of the German army’s best combat troops. But victory came at a cost – more than 500 Canadians died, and more than 2,600 were injured. Adlington was one of the many Canadians injured during the Battle of Ortona.

Following the Battle of Ortona, Adlington transferred to the Royal Canadian Service Corps. Growing up, Adlington’s father owned a bakery. Adlington often helped his father with the family business, and he put this experience to good use while with the Canadian Army Service Corps, as he became a cook while with the Regiment.

“Returning home was a great feeling, as it must have been a nightmare for my mother.”

In December 1944, almost five years after boarding a ship to Scotland, Adlington received a one-month leave and came back to Canada. “Returning home was a great feeling, as it must have been a nightmare for my mother.” He never returned overseas, and was discharged in July 1945. For his service, he was awarded the 1939-1945 Star, the Italy Star, the Defence Medal, the War Medal 1939-1945, and the Canadian Volunteer Service Medal with Overseas Bar.

Following his return to Canada, Adlington married Mary Shervill and they had a son and daughter together. Following in his father’s footsteps, Adlington opened a bakery called the Bell Noll in London, Ontario. The business eventually grew to over 11 locations, and Adlington sold the bakery in 1959. After Mary passed away, Adlington married Shirley Stevenson, with whom he had two sons.

“I can’t bring them back, but it’s nice to be at such a beautiful and respectful place.”

Adlington remained in the city of London until 1972, when he then moved to a farm to raise Standardbred horses. After moving to a rural area, Adlington discovered a new passion that he maintains to this day – golf. His passion for the popular hobby is evident, as he recently celebrated his 100th birthday on the links.

In honour of the 75th anniversary of the Italian Campaign, David Adlington is one of our Faces of Freedom. He recently travelled to Italy with the Government of Canada delegation to participate in ceremonies commemorating this special anniversary. “Well it’s sad, as I have so many friends buried here… but time has kind of eroded the sadness. I can’t bring them back, but it’s nice to be at such a beautiful and respectful place.”

You can also hear his story firsthand by listening to his episode of our Faces of Freedom podcast.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Sergent suppléant (à la retraite) David Adlington

Le sergent suppléant (à la retraite) David Adlington est né le 18 septembre 1919 à Newport, au Pays de Galles. Il s’est enrôlé dans le Royal Canadian Regiment le 3 octobre 1939 à la caserne Wolseley de London, en Ontario, puis a terminé son instruction de base avec la compagnie C du Royal Canadian Regiment. Peu de temps après son enrôlement, Adlington est monté à bord d’un navire à Halifax à destination de l’Écosse, où il est arrivé le jour de l’An 1940.

Partager cet article sur:
Sergent suppléant (à la retraite) David Adlington

Six mois plus tard, le régiment duquel faisait partie Adlington a été déployé à Dunkerque pour aider à la défense et à l’évacuation des forces britanniques et autres forces alliées. Le Royal Canadian Regiment est arrivé à Brest, en France, et devait se rendre à Dunkerque en train. Mais il y avait un problème : l’armée française a capitulé avant que le régiment n’ait la chance d’arriver. Après seulement quatre jours en France, Adlington et le Royal Canadian Regiment sont arrivés à Portsmouth, en Angleterre.

« C’est difficile à croire, parce qu’on n’était qu’une bande d’enfants. »

C’est trois ans plus tard qu’Adlington vivra un moment qu’il n’oubliera jamais. Le Royal Canadian Regiment est monté à bord du navire SS City of Venise pour se diriger vers la Sicile, en Italie. Peu après, le 4 juillet 1943, le navire a été torpillé et a coulé en Méditerranée. « C’était ma première introduction au combat pendant la guerre. C’est difficile à croire, parce qu’on n’était qu’une bande d’enfants. » Adlington a eu beaucoup de chance de s’enfuir vivant.

Il a été ramassé par une frégate de la Royal Navy puis transporté à Alger, en Algérie. « Je croyais que j’étais mort et que j’étais allé au paradis. Il y avait tellement de nourriture sur le bateau, et à ce moment-là, j’étais un garçon très maigre. » Plusieurs jours après le débarquement à Alger, Adlington a rejoint le Royal Canadian Regiment en Sicile. Il s’est vite rendu compte que beaucoup de ses camarades avaient perdu la vie lors de l’horrible incident dans la mer Méditerranée.

Pendant son séjour en Sicile, le Royal Canadian Regiment s’est concentré principalement sur la bataille d’Ortona. La bataille a fait rage du 20 au 28 décembre 1943 et les rues d’Ortona, remplies de décombres, ont été le théâtre de combats acharnés au corps à corps. Grâce aux efforts des soldats canadiens et alliés, Ortona a été libérée de certains des meilleurs combattants de l’armée allemande. Mais la victoire a coûté la vie à plus de 500 Canadiens, et plus de 2 600 autres ont été blessés. Adlington est l’un des nombreux Canadiens qui ont été blessés pendant la bataille d’Ortona.

Après la bataille d’Ortona, Adlington a été muté au Corps royal de l’intendance de l’Armée canadienne. Durant son enfance, son père possédait une boulangerie. Adlington a souvent aidé son père dans l’entreprise familiale. Il a donc mis cette expérience à profit lorsqu’il s’est joint au Corps royal de l’intendance de l’Armée canadienne, en devenant cuisinier au sein du régiment.

« Le retour à la maison a été un sentiment incroyable, car cela a dû être un cauchemar pour ma mère. »

En décembre 1944, près de cinq ans après être monté à bord d’un navire à destination de l’Écosse, Adlington a obtenu un congé d’un mois et est revenu au Canada. « Le retour à la maison a été un sentiment incroyable, car cela a dû être un cauchemar pour ma mère. » Il n’est jamais retourné outre-mer et a été libéré en juillet 1945. Pour son service, Adlington a reçu l’Étoile de 1939-1945, l’Étoile d’Italie, la Médaille de la défense, la Médaille de la guerre 1939-1945 et la Médaille du service volontaire canadien avec barrette pour service à l’étranger.

Après son retour au Canada, Adlington a épousé Mary Shervill, avec qui il a eu un fils et une fille. Suivant les traces de son père, Adlington a ouvert une boulangerie appelée Bell Noll à London, en Ontario. L’entreprise a pris de l’expansion pour compter plus de 11 succursales, et Adlington a vendu la boulangerie en 1959. Après la mort de Mary, Adlington a épousé Shirley Stevenson, avec qui il a deux fils.

« Je ne peux pas les ramener, mais c’est agréable d’être dans un endroit si magnifique et empreint de respect. »

Adlington est resté dans la ville de Londres jusqu’en 1972, date à laquelle il a déménagé dans une ferme pour élever des chevaux Standardbred. Une fois installé dans une région rurale, Adlington a découvert une nouvelle passion qu’il entretient encore aujourd’hui : le golf. Sa passion pour ce passe-temps populaire est évidente, puisqu’il a récemment célébré son 100e anniversaire sur des terrains de golf.

En l’honneur du 75e anniversaire de la campagne d’Italie, David Adlington est l’un de nos Visages de la liberté. Il s’est récemment rendu en Italie avec la délégation du gouvernement du Canada pour participer aux cérémonies qui soulignent cet anniversaire spécial. « Eh bien, c’est triste, comme j’ai tant d’amis enterrés ici… mais la douleur s’est en quelque sorte érodée au fil des années. Je ne peux pas les ramener, mais c’est agréable d’être dans un endroit si magnifique et empreint de respect. »

Vous pouvez aussi le laisser vous raconter son histoire en écoutant son épisode de notre balado Visages de la liberté (en anglais seulement).


Date de modification :